We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice view of the gorge in a relaxing room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“nice view of the gorge in a relaxing room”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Pulling up to the hotel at first we did not realize we were there. From the front looks like an office building. After a few trips through the parking lot, we thought we'd try the door with the "registration" sign out front hoping this was the hotel. A couple of helpful front desk agents helped to figure out that when my mother in law had reserved the room two months ago online, with her credit card but somehow got my name with the reservation, that we had actually needed a authorization release for her card to be used for the room. We did not know that. Since my mother in law lives in Alaska this was supposed to be part of Christmas gift staying over night and having a ride on The Polar Express on the nearby Mt. Hood Railroad. The agents offered to email my mother in law with the forms needed so we could check in.

We got the check in stuff figured out, and got the keys to our room. A nice quiet room with a terrific view of the gorge river. Since it was a children's event nearby (polar express), the hotel seemed to be filled with families. You could hear the happy kids in the main hallway. When the tv was on and we were talking that seemed to block out any noise from outside. Enjoyed sitting on our desk looking around. The beds were quite comfy & firm, and we all fell asleep rather quickly. Part of our check in was a voucher for breakfast at the Riverside Restaurant. (has it's own entrance from the hotel). A little wait time for breakfast (sunday morning) and lots of families to eat. The hostess gave our boys some etch-a-sketches to play with while waiting for our food, which we thought was really a great idea. Would have liked a buffet to get kids eating quicker than waiting for meals to be cooked. But a good hearty breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missyjoremy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Missyjoremy, Thank you for your recommendation and for posting the great photos of the view from your room. You should see that view in the summer with all of the activity on the river! I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed the Polar Express and that you found our hotel so comfortable and our staff so accommodating. We look forward to your next trip to Hood River.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,649
    655
    142
    42
    21
See reviews for
638
1,160
109
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pickerington, Ohio, USA
2 reviews
Reviewed December 23, 2012

My family and I were staying along the Hood River in Oregon for my birthday and while moving back to Ohio. The drive was really pretty coming to the hotel and upon arrival I knew that we were going to have a good stay. We ordered room service and the portions were generous and very well though out. That evening and the next morning we used the pool outside and the hot tub, WHAT A VIEW! The complimentary breakfast in the morning was amazing and offered a great view of the Hood River. My family and I loved it and didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank STEVEN J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Steven J, Thank you for sharing your experience with us and with our Trip Advisor friends. We're thrilled to hear that we were able to make your birthday even more special. Thank you for your feedback about our Riverside restaurant, we'll be sure to pass your compliments on to our chef. Ohio is a long way away so we know we may not see you anytime soon, but we wish you happy travels until we do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed Dec. 15, 2012 in one of the standard rooms. This was the nicest Best Western I have ever stayed at (and I've stayed at several over the years!). The service was exceptional from check-in to check-out. The room was on the third floor and had a vaulted ceiling with two large windows. The bathroom had its own sink and there was an additional vanity sink and mirror. Both had granite(!) countertops with all the amenities PLUS cool stuff (free deodorant, lotions, soaps, etc.) and GLASS glasses (not the plastic ones). It came with a fridge and microwave, ironing board & iron, extra pillows and blankets, etc., etc.The beds were very comfortable with clean, bright-white linens and comforters. The room was clean and smelled fresh. There was an outdoor pool which was heated and very clean, and we swam at night as it snowed great big beautiful flakes!! There were also two hot tubs - one indoors and one outdoors as well. How cool is that??!! And finally, this place has the most amazing restaurant! Gourmet foods, excellent atmosphere and exceptional service. And wait til you eat their complimentary breakfast! No buffet-style food here. You sit at a table and are waited on. You can choose from many pre-selected menu items that also cater to the vegetarian lifestyle. I was so impressed with my meals there that I wish I lived in the area so that I could return when I feel like eating out. (Really... they were that good!!) Overall, this place is FANTASTIC!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndiB423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear AndiB423, Thank you for sharing your experience with us and our Trip Advisor friends. We're very glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay, it seems that you were able to fully take advantage of our great location and literally, all of our many amenities. It is wonderful to hear about the exceptional service you experienced from our amazing staff, I will pass your comments on to them. Please keep in touch with us on Facebook for the hotel, Riverside restaurant and Cebu lounge so you'll know all about what is happening here and so we can offer you our best rates for your return. Take care until then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I had a nice stay at this hotel. We had an extra large suite with two rooms. The view of the river was gorgeous. The train was loud but the ear plugs included in the room came in handy. The Cebu Lounge has some good musical acts booked. We enjoyed our evening watching a favorite Seattle band. The included breakfast was very good. It was a nice getaway from Seattle with a gorgeous drive along the river.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wheatgrower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Wheatgrower, Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed your getaway from Seattle and it's great to know that the suite worked out so well for you. Cebu, our music venue features the best of Northwest bands so if you check us out on Facebook you'll see when your next favorite will be playing here. We hope to welcome you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
243 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I first stayed at this hotel in the 70's and will be going back in the future.
The older rooms are tired and showing their age, however the new pool and exercise room is top notch. The freeway noise is noticeable, however they had earplugs in the room I stayed in.
The light bulbs are CFL, but they could do with an upgrade to LED. Nice to see that they use Oregon made furniture. The staff is fantastic, and the bar is a great place to hang out.

The Tuesday night special in the restaurant is a great value.

Room Tip: Top floor on east wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vao_Fefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Vao_Fefe, Thanks for staying with us again after all these years and thanks for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the pool and the east wing makeover and am happy to report that we will be doing quite a bit to upgrade the west wing of our hotel this winter. Your comments about our great staff are much appreciated, I will pass them on. We look forward to your next visit to Hood River, please look me up I would enjoy meeting you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hood River
2.6 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
2.7 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Hood River
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
189 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
324 reviews
19.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hood River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hood River Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
Address: 1108 East Marina Way, Hood River, OR 97031-2378
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Hood River Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hood River's ONLY waterfront lodging and dining, on the breathtaking Columbia River with convenient access to all activities. Featuring rooms for every budget; from riverview rooms and suites to standard no-view rooms. Rooms feature mini-fridges, microwaves, hairdryers, irons & board, coffee makers, and high-speed wifi. Enjoy a delicious meal at the Riverside restaurant or Cebu Lounge. Take a dip in our gorgeous riverside pool and spa, or relax in the sauna. We pride ourselves on delivering excellence in customer service and high quality cleaning standards. Our friendly, helpful staff is ready to ensure a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hood River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hood River Hotel Hood River
Best Western Hood River
Hood River Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing