We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel with a gorgeous view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with a gorgeous view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

I had a nice stay at this hotel. We had an extra large suite with two rooms. The view of the river was gorgeous. The train was loud but the ear plugs included in the room came in handy. The Cebu Lounge has some good musical acts booked. We enjoyed our evening watching a favorite Seattle band. The included breakfast was very good. It was a nice getaway from Seattle with a gorgeous drive along the river.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wheatgrower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Wheatgrower, Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed your getaway from Seattle and it's great to know that the suite worked out so well for you. Cebu, our music venue features the best of Northwest bands so if you check us out on Facebook you'll see when your next favorite will be playing here. We hope to welcome you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,561
    641
    139
    42
    20
See reviews for
614
1,105
106
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (629)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
244 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

I first stayed at this hotel in the 70's and will be going back in the future.
The older rooms are tired and showing their age, however the new pool and exercise room is top notch. The freeway noise is noticeable, however they had earplugs in the room I stayed in.
The light bulbs are CFL, but they could do with an upgrade to LED. Nice to see that they use Oregon made furniture. The staff is fantastic, and the bar is a great place to hang out.

The Tuesday night special in the restaurant is a great value.

Room Tip: Top floor on east wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vao_Fefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Vao_Fefe, Thanks for staying with us again after all these years and thanks for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the pool and the east wing makeover and am happy to report that we will be doing quite a bit to upgrade the west wing of our hotel this winter. Your comments about our great staff are much appreciated, I will pass them on. We look forward to your next visit to Hood River, please look me up I would enjoy meeting you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldendale, Washington
Level Contributor
125 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Overall we had a fantastic night staying at this Best Western for the first time. The room was clean, beds comfortable with plenty of pillows. The jet tub worked great and the breakfast in the hotel was fantastic (great service too!). The only downer was that the fire place was out of order since we looked forward to having a romantic night in front of the fire. We have already recommended this BW to our friends as a great place to get away from home for a night or weekend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank GUY T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Guy T, Thank you for your wonderful feedback and for choosing our hotel to celebrate your anniversary! It is very satisfying to hear that we have earned your recommendation to family and friends. My apologies for the fireplace, I too am frustrated by the time it is taking to find a fix for the problem. You're not far away so we look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Please call me so that I can personally handle your next reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed two nights here. I didn't think about looking at reviews when we booked. That was a big fail on my part. We booked a queen river view room that was in the west wing. We quickly learned this wing is old, falling apart and has paper thin walls. After our first night with no sleep, then.......I looked at reviews. We found a common theme, stay in the east wing! We talked with the front desk and they were more than happy to help us. They promptly moved us to a king, river view, on the executive floor. It was amazing! Two completely different experiences. We would not have returned if we only experienced the west wing. We can't wait to return now....to the east wing.

Great staff, restaurant, heated pool in the winter, modern rooms (east) and view of the Columbia. There is a Starbucks and Shell Quick Stop in the same parking lot. We walked to downtown several times. The walk is about ten minutes on a nice paved trail. Double Mountain Brewery a must stop! Order the Jersey Pie.

Room Tip: Take your swim suit. The pool is warm and amazing view. Even in the winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaureenMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear MaureenMatt, Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed our east wing rooms, friendly team and the hotel amenities. I apologize that the west wing was disappointing. You'll be happy to know that we will be upgrading those rooms this winter. There are some limitations dictated by the physical structure of that building but we're sure that our guests will enjoy the new look. We look forward to you joining us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prosser, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

When I booked our hotel, I requested a top floor away from elevator. After our train ride we checked into our hotel. Check in was quick and not only was the room easy to find, but I got a 3rd floor room away from elevator as I had requested! The room was quiet, which is very important to me. We got a continental breakfast ticket for our family. I assumed it was just the cold cereal and banana, but I was surprised that it was a made to order breakfast! The dining room was very nice, with views of the river. One downside was the pool was located outside. My kids were swimming in a heated pool, while it raining on them. Other than that this is one of the best hotel's I've stayed at, and we hope to come back here once snow hits!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enjcs88418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Enjcs88418, Thank you for such a wonderful review. We're so happy to be described as one of the best hotels you've visited! Snow is coming soon so we'll look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Four of us stayed here for four days on a late fall girls' trip to Hood River. The hotel was easy to find and well-located. It is right next to the Hood River bridge, but the noise level was not an issue. We were in a 3rd floor room on the corner nearest the bridge and slept fine. Check-in was friendly and seamless; no problems. We booked a room called "Suite-1 King, 1 Queen." The room had big windows and a lovely water view, so it felt quite large. The queen bed was in a separate bedroom that also had a nice window. There was a balcony and a dining table. The room was clean, and the beds were very comfortable. Overall, our experience could have been really good. Sadly, however, some pretty basic things were missing. For instance, don't underestimate the value of having somewhere to sit down and put your feet up at the end of a long, active day. As a suite intended for 4 people, this was a real miss. There were no couches or comfy chairs, ottomans or coffee tables. There was a huge space in the middle of the room in front of the TV that looked like a couch clearly belonged there. But, the only place to sit and relax, besides the rigid dining chairs (which hurt a post-hiking body), were 2 small chairs with high sides, seemingly adrift in the middle of the room. I politely checked with the front desk twice during our stay about the situation and was assured it would be straightened out. Nothing was ever done and nobody ever followed up. Our room had a fireplace, but it didn't work and had a sign on it prohibiting its use. The front desk said that they are removing all of the fireplaces from all of the rooms. We were a little disappointed, given that we were there to hike and whitewater raft, so a cozy place to sit down, put up the feet, and chat together before a warm fire would have been great to come back to in the evenings. But, it was not to be. We also thought we might come back to the room and watch a few movies in the evenings. Not only would there not have been any way to sit down together, there is no DVD player in the room (which would be such an easy way to add value...what are they now, like $30?). The kitchenette was really, really tiny, but was fine because we just mainly needed the fridge. There were no utensils. We had to borrow a spoon from the restaurant. Don't get excited about the whirlpool tub, it's not really a feature that adds value. It's located next to the kitchenette in the main area of the room. Unless all room guests are good with "over-sharing," anyone staying in the other bedroom is literally trapped until bathtime is over. We didn't use it. There is a restaurant on-site and the food is very good. But, it's surprisingly pricey (see the menu on the hotel website). The room comes with breakfast, but it's only select items from the menu. Expect to go off-menu if you're into basics like hard-boiled eggs and fruit. It's not a breakfast buffet. All things considered, we vist the Gorge three or four times a year and we probably won't stay here again. The Columbia Cliff Villas just up the road are at a different price point and may be a little spendy, but the difference is well worth it in my view.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texlawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Agreenlawyer, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am happy to hear you had a good night's sleep and that you found our beds to be so comfortable but my sincere apologies that you did not enjoy the other features of your suite. This is obviously not the experience we wish our guests to have. It sounds like we didn't do a very good job finding you a room that would best fit your needs. The suite you were in with just the one bathroom, two club chairs and four dining chairs was designed more for a couple traveling with small children rather than for 2 couples or 4 adults. Our Riverside Suites, http://www.hoodriverinn.com/suites.htm I think are more of what you were looking for and they are at a very competitive price point. There are either two or three bedroom options and each King bedroom has it's own bathroom, there are couches and comfortable chairs as well as a large dining table. The Riverside Suites also have full kitchens with all necessary cooking utensils and table service for 6 people. I hope you’ll give us a second chance so that we can place you in a room that is better to your liking. If you would call me directly, I would be more than happy to personally handle your reservation. We would very much like to have you return to the Hood River Inn when you next visit Hood River.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hood River
2.6 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
2.7 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Hood River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
19.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hood River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hood River Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
Address: 1108 E Marina Way, Hood River, OR 97031-2378
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Hood River Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hood River's ONLY waterfront lodging and dining, on the breathtaking Columbia River with convenient access to all activities. Featuring rooms for every budget; from riverview rooms and suites to standard no-view rooms. Rooms feature mini-fridges, microwaves, hairdryers, irons & board, coffee makers, and high-speed wifi. Enjoy a delicious meal at the Riverside restaurant or Cebu Lounge. Take a dip in our gorgeous riverside pool and spa, or relax in the sauna. We pride ourselves on delivering excellence in customer service and high quality cleaning standards. Our friendly, helpful staff is ready to ensure a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hood River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hood River Hotel Hood River
Best Western Hood River
Hood River Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing