We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need 3rd Floor Rooms for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle, WA
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Need 3rd Floor Rooms for families”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is our third visit to the hotel in the last year. This time our room was in the East Wing which has been recently updated. Our room was on the first floor with a river view. I really wanted a 3rd floor room, but I was told there aren't any on that floor for three people. I really didn't want a 1st floor room with access from the patio especially with a little kid. The second lock on the door was broken. Our room was big with a fridge and microwave. There were two queen beds. The shade over one window was broken. I also found out at the pool that people on the third floor get robes and slippers. That would have been really nice to have since our daughter wanted to go to the pool everyday despite the 50 degree temps. The pool area is very nice. That's our favorite spot in the hotel. The water is super warm. The free breakfast is okay. There aren't many choices. The servers all differ in what they charge you for. Some charged for a juice. Others didn't. It would have been nice to have a few more options.

My recommendation is to get a third floor room in the east wing. You have a nicer room with a great view, robes, and a giant TV. The appliances up there are nicer. Our fridge didn't have shelves.

Room Tip: My recommendation is to get a third floor room in the east wing. Get a room closest to the restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank backpackerjmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Backpackerjmk, Thank you for sharing your experience with our Trip Advisor friends. I am so glad we were chosen again for your family getaway to Hood River. It sounds like you had a great time in the pool and spa. You'll be pleased to know that we are making some changes to our west wing rooms this January. I hope you and the family will join us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,725
    678
    146
    44
    23
See reviews for
678
1,205
111
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (660)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is an excellent hotel to stay in if you're traveling with a dog. The downstairs rooms are right on the river, and have a sliding glass door that opens onto a wide, grassy area and a long paved path that's perfect for walking your pooch. The riverside path offers an awesome view of the Hood River bridge at night, and of the river at sunrise. However, be aware that you're charged an additional $12 for the pet room, and you don't get anything for that except the convenience.

The room itself was spacious, with two queens, table, two chairs, desk, dresser and flat screen TV, microwave, mini fridge, coffee pot. But the room showed the effects of ongoing poor housekeeping and maintenance (what is it with hotels these days and the minimal effort put out by their housekeeping staff - I see it everywhere!). Dust in all the corners, stains on the carpet, hairs on the bathroom floor, cigarette butts outside the glass doors (despite the being a non-smoking facility), wrinkled carpet, cracked grout, drywall repairs with no paint on them in the bathroom.

We had one issue with a lot of noise coming from the room above us - a lot pounding on the floor, like a big group of kids running around. We called the front desk, and they responded to the complaint immediately. The noise died down, and the woman at the desk even called back about an hour later to make sure everything was okay. Excellent customer service!

The hotel offers abundant free parking, and there's a restaurant and lounge attached. The room price includes a full breakfast, and you can choose from a limited number of hot entree items off their menu. Great river view from the restaurant, and the breakfast was good.

In the parking lot there's a McDonald's, a Starbucks, and a gas station. The hotel has convenient highway access, but it's very quiet. It's also very convenient to downtown Hood River, and the wonderful Fruit Loop, where all the farms are.

All in all a very pleasant stay, and I can recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bendwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Bendwriter, Thank you for your recommendation despite the detailed shortcomings. Our goal is to create quality guest experiences and it sounds like we missed that mark in your eyes and for that I am truly sorry. We appreciate your detailed review and I have taken it back to my team so that we may learn from it. We typically receive high marks on our housekeeping department but your observations certainly don't reflect that, it is a wakeup call for us! We look forward to your next visit and the opportunity to create that quality guest experience for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed several different times over the summer of 2012 because we kept going back. We also extended one of our stays because we enjoyed it so much. Total of 9 nights in three different rooms from July through September. This is a full service hotel with a very good restaurant and bar/lounge on site. The views of the Columbia river are amazing - be sure to get a river-view room. The staff is constantly cleaning and doing maintenance on the grounds and buildings so the place is spotless. One small downside is that they are almost always full during the summer so you need to book ahead.

We travel with a small dog and in our experience there is not a better hotel for staying with your pet. Rooms have direct access through sliding doors to the outside grassy area. I'd suggest asking for a room in the "East" wing because the patio's are more private than in the "west" wing. Either way they are excellent rooms and have been recently renovated. We had issues with the WIFI being spotty in some of the rooms, (but was always great in the common areas). The included free breakfast was very good with plenty of choices, but you could also order off the regular menu. We had dinner there a couple of times and they were excellent as well.

It's a bit of a hike to Downtown hood river (maybe a mile walk), but a very short and easy drive. Plenty to do in the area and a couple of decent restaurants in town. We most definitley will be returning next summer!

Room Tip: East wing patio rooms have more private patios. West wing patios are mostly shared between two room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alamode900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Alamode36, Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. It's so satisfying to hear that you returned time and time again this summer to enjoy all that our hotel has to offer. We pride ourselves on being pet friendly so it is especially nice to know that our pet policy is so appreciated. I am glad you loved our restaurant and lounge, and our amazing and hard working team. We cannot wait to see you again next summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenexa, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Great little balcony to enjoy the river and the sunrise. Well worth the price, great on-site restaurant and quick drive to all the local restaurants in Hood River. Easy walk to see the wind surfers and kite boarders. We loved making this our landing point for our time in the Columbia River gorge! Walk to Starbucks for your morning coffee. Loved the pool and hot tub right on the river bank!

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony and a view of the sunrise over the river! So quiet and a great place to dr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LenexaTraveler0423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear LenexaTraveler0423, Wow, thank you for writing such a great review. I am pleased to hear how much you enjoyed our hotel and the complimentary sunrise view from your balcony. It sounds like you had a great trip in the Columbia River Gorge and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Hood River.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Great place to stay while visiting the Columba River Gorge wine country. Their restaurant was outstanding. Wonderful fish entries. The breakfast which is include
The rooms were very clean and well maintained.The staff is very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Bob1229, Thank you for your recommendation. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable rooms, friendly staff, and convenient location for your wine tasting tour. We're very proud of our Riverside restaurant and great Chef so thanks for the wonderful comment about our fish entrees! We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roosevelt, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

My sisters and I stayed here for two nights in October. I stayed here years ago and I was pleasantly surprised to see how nice it is now. The view of the river is unsurpassed, it's conveniently located close to downtown, the Marina and the Hood River Historical Museum. Our room was clean and comfortable and the hotel staff were happy to answer any questions we had about the area. Our breakfast was complimentary, with many combinations to choose from, and we had a discount on our first dinner, which we took advantage of and the food was excellent! Our room was on the first floor and we heard a little noise from the bridge when our arcadia door was open, but when it was closed we didn't hear any noise at all. All in all a very nice place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear LJStella64, Welcome back and thank you so much for your great review. I am glad you enjoyed our comfortable rooms, friendly staff and great Riverside restaurant. I hope you will join us again the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loughborough
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We had a lovely room on the 3rd floor with a view of the hood river. We more or less spent all night looking out of the window it was great. The room had all the usual comforts of a Great Western. The breakfast wa a bit of a disappointment, no buffet just whatever you had ticked on your complimentary breakfast slip.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for a river view room, it's better than the view of the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dandjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Dandjo, Thank you for your five star review of our hotel. I only wish our breakfast would have rated as well in your eyes. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with our Trip Advisor friends and we do hope to see you should you visit our area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hood River
2.6 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
2.7 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#5 of 8 in Hood River
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
193 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
332 reviews
19.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hood River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hood River Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
Address: 1108 East Marina Way, Hood River, OR 97031-2378
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Hood River Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hood River's ONLY waterfront lodging and dining, on the breathtaking Columbia River with convenient access to all activities. Featuring rooms for every budget; from riverview rooms and suites to standard no-view rooms. Rooms feature mini-fridges, microwaves, hairdryers, irons & board, coffee makers, and high-speed wifi. Enjoy a delicious meal at the Riverside restaurant or Cebu Lounge. Take a dip in our gorgeous riverside pool and spa, or relax in the sauna. We pride ourselves on delivering excellence in customer service and high quality cleaning standards. Our friendly, helpful staff is ready to ensure a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hood River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hood River Hotel Hood River
Best Western Hood River
Hood River Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing