We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice accomodations” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Plus Hood River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Illinois
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“very nice accomodations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We recently stayed 2 nights here.

We stayed in the east building, which looks fairly new (six months or less). Everything in the room was very nice....large shower, double sinks, oversize towels, and robes. We also enjoyed the pool and hot tub, but did not use the fitness room.

We ate several meals at the restaurant. At dinner, there was a wait even though there were a number of empty tables. The service at breakfast was much better, and the food was fine too.

The service at check-in was just "OK", and the front desk was not overly helpful in directions, restaurant suggestions, etac.

The location was fine; there is a nice walking path behind the hotel that goes along the river, which will take you all the way to downtown if you like.

Hood River is a nice, small downtown--little shops and local restaurants. We especially enjoyed watching the kite boarders on the river.

W

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luvtoread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Luvtoread, Thanks for your recent review of your stay with us and very happy to read that mostly you enjoyed your time in Hood River. We take all of our guest's comments to heart so you can be certain we will discuss your comments related to our front desk staff with them. Thanks again, we hope to see you on your next visit to the "Gorge"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,540
    632
    139
    42
    19
See reviews for
606
1,093
103
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (621)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
186 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We reserved a room here on the basis of the location right on the Columbia River. We were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to the new concierge wing. We were told that meant children and pets were not allowed on those floors. No one mentioned the incredibly upgraded room amenities! The bathroom was huge -- two sinks, a glass shower, extra large bath towels, and decorator touches of turquoise walls and stone tiles. The closet had bathrobes, slippers and an umbrella in case of rain. We felt like we'd checked into a four star hotel. Our room faced the parking lot and since that wing is closer to the freeway and train tracks than the rest of the hotel, there was a bit of a rumble from traffic and an occasional train but it was not loud enough to be disturbing and there were even ear plugs for sensitive sleepers in the bathroom.
We ate dinner in the restaurant but unfortunately it was too hot to eat out on the deck. However, even inside tables have a good view of the river. Breakfast is served in the same place so we were able to eat outside the next morning. Breakfast was included in the room charge but it covered only a portion of the restaurant breakfast menu. The granola and yogurt option I had was filling and delicious. Maps of the Historic Highway 30 are available for the asking at the front desk and were very helpful for exlploring the area the next morning.

Room Tip: If you are a very light sleeper, ask for rooms farthest from the highway and train tracks. Those fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janiewall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear JanieWall, Thank you for your recent stay and recent review. We appreciate your positive comments on our upgraded rooms and our fine restaurant and thank you for mentioning our spacious, modern bathrooms and all of the extra amenities that we offer. I am glad you were able to experience our new rooms. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

This was a surprisiingly pleasant "staycation" near home for a few days. The room was clean and spacious and had a great view of the river and a nice balcony. The decor was tasteful and definitely a step above the usua mass assembly line motel decor. It's great to have an onsite restaurant that is actually good. The free breakfast was excellent and a nice plus, as was the free parking. Every meal we had was very good: skillfully done, nice portions, sophisticated cuisine without unnecessary pretentiousness. It was a very hot weekend, and the pool was wonderful. Was also a lot of fun to walk (about 15-20") into town for the First Friday.celebration. Would definitely do it again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Either wing (east or west) unfortunately has some noise from the traffic, so you can't really es...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loelani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Loelani, Wow! Your review made me so proud of our fine establishment and staff! Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. You have really described the hotel and staff well.

Hope to see you soon for another "Staycation."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We were surprised at the high quality of this hotel. We had a room in the original part of the building. My only complaint would be that is is not handicap friendly. We figured out that by going in the orginal entry we could take the elevator to the second floor and then a ramp to the check-in desk.

The room was very nice and the free breakfast is a choice of several items and served to your table.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patonfairmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Patonfairmont, Thanks for your kind review, we love it when guests are pleasantly surprised by the quality of our hotel. We're looking at options to make our lobby more accessible and hope to a have a more conveniently located lift in place before your next visit to Hood River. Please know that it is on our radar. Thanks you for taking time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollywood florid
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

I had the best time in Hood river oregon. This is a great Best Western Plus. Very clean. Hotel staff was very helpful and courteous. Lots of places to go hiking,see waterfalls. The weather was great, nice and cool.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Linda K, Thanks for the stellar review, it feels great to called "Awesome"! It sounds like you had a great time enjoying the beauty of our area and especially on one of the warmest weekends of the year. It's like you brought the Florida weather with you! We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this Best Western.
The staff were very helpful and our room quite adequate. We had a lovely view of the river as requested. Our room was clean and tidy. The obly less than very good touch was our dinner in the restaurant.

Room Tip: If you have quite a lot of luggage request a room close to the entrance. There is a half flight of s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SorrelliAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear SorrelliAuckland, Thank you for your review. I am happy you enjoyed a clean and tidy room and pleased that the view met your expectations. We receive many great comments about our Riverside restaurant so if you could share more with me about your less than stellar dinner experience, I would be most appreciative. My email is chinman@hoodriverinn.com. Thanks again for taking the time to post a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleepy Eye
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We spent just one night here on our trip to the Pacific Northwest and it turned out to be one of our favorite hotels. Our room overlooked the fabulous Columba River and we enjoyed spectacular views of both sunset and sunrise.

We had a two-bed room on the ground floor which was clean, but perhaps a little worn - likely from the number of people who stay here (I believe the hotel was full the evening we stayed). Other than that, we really didn't have any complaints. The hotel itself is colorful and pretty, and there is a lovely walking path along the river. The lounge was larger than we expected, which was nice because it was very busy.

There were several great choices for breakfast (included in the price of our room), made with fresh, local ingredients. We had bacon, sausage, eggs, fried potatoes, and toast made with a really good multi-grain bread. There were many additional options on the menu if you wanted to order - for an additional cost. And the coffee was excellent! If the weather allows, don't pass up the opportunity to eat on the deck outside where you can enjoy the sparkling river and rolling hills.

Overall, we had a nice stay. The staff was pleasant and the hotel clean. If not for the somewhat "tired" look of our room and the fact that we ended up on the ground floor (in spite of confirming with staff just prior to arrival that we would not be on the ground floor), I would have given it a higher rating. However, we are planning to return to the area next summer and will stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the river - well worth a few extra dollars. And although I didn't notice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sled_Runner64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Sled_Runner64, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel property and for the great comments about our staff, Riverside restaurant and Cebu Lounge. The Hood River Inn has 194 rooms and we regularly upgrade them one wing and one floor at a time so that each room is done at least every seven years. The room you stayed in will have some renovations this next winter season. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your visit next summer. Please call me so that I might personally handle your reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hood River
2.7 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Hood River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
2.6 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
19.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hood River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hood River Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
Address: 1108 E Marina Way, Hood River, OR 97031-2378
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Hood River Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hood River's ONLY waterfront lodging and dining, on the breathtaking Columbia River with convenient access to all activities. Featuring rooms for every budget; from riverview rooms and suites to standard no-view rooms. Rooms feature mini-fridges, microwaves, hairdryers, irons & board, coffee makers, and high-speed wifi. Enjoy a delicious meal at the Riverside restaurant or Cebu Lounge. Take a dip in the new riverside pool and spa, or relax in the sauna. We pride ourselves on delivering excellence in customer service and high quality cleaning standards. Our friendly, helpful staff is ready to ensure a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Hood River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hood River Hotel Hood River
Best Western Hood River
Hood River Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing