We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Attentive hosts, comfortable space, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hood River BnB

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hood River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hood River BnB
Save
You added Hood River BnB to your Saves list
Ranked #4 of 15 Hood River B&B and Inns
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Attentive hosts, comfortable space, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We chose the Hood River BnB online because of its location within walking distance of nearly every restaurant, brewpub, and attraction in Hood River, but what will bring us back here are the friendly hosts, great breakfasts, and attractive accommodations.

In designing and operating their B and B, Jane and Jim thought carefully about what guests would want and need. The beds and linens are of high quality, the breakfasts are superb, and their knowledge of what's worth seeing and doing in the Columbia Gorge area is comprehensive. The dining area and each guest room have a pleasant view of the Columbia River and the mountains on the other shore in Washington State.

The house is spacious and comfortable, and much of the main floor is open to guests (but not the kitchen because of health department regulations). Periodicals, local guidebooks, and novels abound, and a TV/DVD, computer, and fridge are also available for guests' use. The wi-fi is lightning fast (Jim is a computer professional) and there is adequate off-street parking, and storage space for water and snow sports gear.

The Hood River BnB exemplifies how this type of accommodation can be superior to hotels. We're glad we booked four nights here -- enough time to really settle in and really enjoy this comfortable home base and this interesting town and area. A one-night stay would have been frustratingly short. We're taking away some nice memories, and look forward to returning before long.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McGillCollege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    14
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
32
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
John Day, Oregon
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Jane greeted us on the front step, and directed us to park in the lower lot. We were in the mountain room, upstairs, immaculately clean and fresh with a great view of the river. They are re-doing all the carpets, so the living room was shoes-off (as the whole facility will be soon, but they plan to provide no-slip socks along with the terry robes for guests). We went out for a walk before dinner downtown. Hood River is gorgeous! It seemed like the whole town was in bloom. Jim and Jane are the perfect hosts: warm and welcoming, but knowing when to slip into the background and let us just have quiet time to ourselves. Breakfast was served in a bright, room with large windows looking out over the Columbia River to the mountains of Washington on the other side. Jim fixed us whole-wheat crepes with Oregon fruit preserves, fresh fruit, syrup, and very good coffee (or tea or orange juice, as we preferred). It was nice to be able to choose a time to eat that suited our schedule, as we were headed to an event over 70 miles away and wanted to leave around 8am. The other guests were going to be eating later, but it did not bother our hosts to serve breakfast twice, and in fact they joined us at the table which made for pleasant conversation. We'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniB15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrensburg, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I very heavily researched our activities, restaurants and lodging options for our recent Oregon trip. For our first night in Hood River, I chose the Hood River BnB for it's location and the positive reviews I found online. We were traveling well out of season (mid-March) and were not familiar with the area at all. Jane responded to several emails with plenty of information and advice, which I appreciated. We stayed one night, our first of 3 in Oregon, and were the only guests that night. Jane and Jim graciously open their own home to guests and are very friendly and engaging. We were in the mountain room on the second floor. The view was lovely, but clouds kept us from seeing Mt. Adams.

The home itself is nice, but not overly elegant, which is fine with us. There are plenty of comfortable open areas on the main floor and the dining room has great views of the area. Our room was of pretty good size with a small-ish bathroom across the hall. Everything was clean and ready for our arrival. The bed was extremely comfortable.

Jane was sure to ask us about food preferences and allergies and gave us a choice for breakfast. We had wonderful Irish steel cut oats, fresh fruit, toast and some truly incredible fruit preserve choices, all from Oregon growers. Freshly brewed coffee and tea and great conversation prevailed. Jim and Jane joined us for breakfast and shared their stories and experiences with us. They are truly gracious hosts.

Overall, we are very happy with our stay and with Hood River overall. If you are looking for a BnB that's close to downtown and you appreciate a bed and breakfast experience centered around good food, great conversation and an affordable price, I highly recommend visiting Jane and Jim.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be of comparable quality and have views of the Hood River scenery. From experien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jprydemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Jane and Jim treat you like family and their home is yours. The B&B is perfectly located near Hood River restaurants, brewpubs, and of course, the river. Need suggestions for eating, hiking, shopping? Jane and Jim are extremely knowledgable about the area and generous with their time.

Room Tip: The Mountain View room has the most amazing view of the river and mountains. It is spacious and very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gailzip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

You will receive a friendly welcome from Jim and Jane upon your arrival. The B&B is within walking distance of town (less than 3 blocks). The town has many shops and several really nice restaurants, so we enjoyed walking to town for dinner each evening. Jane & Jim can suggest many places to eat and many activities near and far. We stayed here to enjoy Mt. Hood and all the waterfalls between this location and the mountain. What fun!

The breakfasts were delicious and different each morning. The Sky Room is the biggest B&B room we've ever stayed in. It has been totally redone, and the bathroom was luxurious and gorgeous. We thoroughly enjoyed the jacuzzi.

The B&B has a TV room and a library which we really liked!

Room Tip: Choose the sky room; it's almost 600 square feet. Thus tons of room with a huge closet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan35057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We enjoyed a good night's sleep here after flying into PDX earlier in the day and driving the hood river gorge. The owners were very nice and a bundle of information about the area. We enjoyed walking from this B and B to the local farmers market on Sat. A M. We loved this little town in the mountains. (It was one of our favorite towns of our trip to Oregon. ) After leaving here we headed down toward Parkdale. There were many orchards and wineries with fresh fruit along the way. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CozSusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troutdale, Oregon
Level Contributor
130 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We came to Hood River on First Friday (in June) for Marchesi's Paisano Club Winemakers Dinner. Choosing the Hood River B&B was our first best choice. Jane and Jim are the nicest hosts and great cooks to boot. You can tell they care about the people who stay with them as if they were family. Their home is within walking distance of town.

We stayed in the Mountain room and the views of both mountains and river are incredible. We had our own bath just outside the room. You can hear the street traffic a little but not enough to interrupt our nap or bedtime. Enough books and magazines are around that if you even don't watch TV you will not be bored. I don't think anyone used it the whole time we were there.

Breakfast in the front room of the house with the big glass windows overlooking the Columbia was a family affair and the food incredible. Jim made omelets to order for each guest and they were great!

Thank you Jim and Jane for sharing your home with us. We can't wait to come back. As we left, hubs mentioned that he wished we'd been to Hood River before choosing our home near Portland.

Room Tip: Use exit 62 off of I-84 if you are coming from the west and go left to get to this great B&B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsO_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hood River
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hood River Inn
1.5 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 9 in Hood River
3.5 of 5 stars 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel
Columbia Gorge Hotel
#3 of 9 in Hood River
4.0 of 5 stars 454 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Columbia Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Oak Street Hotel
Oak Street Hotel
#8 of 15 in Hood River
4.0 of 5 stars 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hood River BnB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hood River BnB

Property: Hood River BnB
Address: 918 Oak St, Hood River, OR 97031-1818
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hood River
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 1909 home has plenty of room for you, your gear, your resting needs. You will be able to find a quiet area for reading and relaxing within the home and yet are within walking distance of town. Besides the large bedrooms, our home has a media room with TV, DVD, VCR; a PC/Internet station with stored links for relevant wind & weather, etc; a river-facing deck with views of the Columbia River. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing