We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High expectations and still pleasantly surprised”

Celilo Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Celilo Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 140 Restaurants in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: At Celilo, we are committed to a healthy and sustainable future. Our menus feature Pacific Northwest cuisine made with fresh and local ingredients.We hope that you will join us in our dining room’s warm atmosphere, created by local artists and craftsmen.
New York
Level Contributor
99 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“High expectations and still pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch at Celilo today and I have to say it was the best meal I've had in quite some time, certainly in this area. I had the portobello sandwich and my husband had the turkey with bacon and Tillamook cheddar cheese. Both were excellent. The side salad that came with his was crisp with a nice vinaigrette. I had fries on the side and while they could have been crisper they had great flavor. The service was very friendly; everyone was extremely nice and courteous. I would definitely return.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mairead O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve S, Public Relations Manager at Celilo Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words. We are always trying to encourage more people to come to Celilo for lunch, and your review will help! Much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    100
    40
    18
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hood River, Oregon
Level Contributor
144 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Wine Dinner Pairing”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Fortunate enough to be one of a few attendees at a recent Marchese Wine and Celilo Dinner pairing. The five course diviner was exquisite! Of signficance was the Uovo - pulley egg ravioli porcini mushroom affair. From the service to to the detail Chef Ben Stenn put into the meal. If you grace Hood River as a visitor or happen to live here make a point to share this culinary delight.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CharlieVVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve S, Public Relations Manager at Celilo Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you so much for coming to the Marchesi dinner and for taking the time to write your review. Celilo hosts several special events like this wine dinner throughout the year and we certainly do appreciate our guests' input - Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
310 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
“Nice place for lunch.”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stopped for lunch in Hood River, neat town. The restaurant is in the old downtown area. Was a beautiful day so we sit at a side walk table. Hubby had soup and salad, the black bean soup was "wonderful". I had grilled prawns and salad, prawns were done very nicely, salad was a mix of fresh greens. Price was reasonable. friendly staff. Very clean busy restaurant!


Would definitely ate here again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank usroadrats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve S, Public Relations Manager at Celilo Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We are always hoping to encourage more people to come to Celilo for lunch and we certainly appreciate your visit and your input! Thanks again and we're so glad you enjoyed your meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
144 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Best meal during our entire trip!!!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Everything was wonderful--the staff, the atmosphere, the service, the food, the drinks, etc. Truly, a special place.
My husband had the paella and I had the salmon dish. Both were so flavorful.
For dessert, he had the lava cake and I had the peach tart. Again--delicious! Both came with house-made vanilla ice-cream that was also delicious. We wanted more.
The attention to detail in the preparation of the food was great. The service was superb. We wish we had this restaurant in our neighborhood! Highly recommend!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CAFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve S, Public Relations Manager at Celilo Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Yay! Thank you! We hope you enjoyed your entire vacation in Oregon and we are so grateful for your review of your visit to Celilo. Thanks for taking the time to write the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best happy hour in Hood River”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Although brief (from only 5-6pm), the happy hour at Celilo is truly excellent. The cocktails were delicious and well-crafted. The small plates were probably some of the best we've had in Hood River with the clams being our favorite. The staff was lovely and friendly. We sat at a small table near the open wall, enjoying the late summer sunshine. My only complaint is that I wished they opened sooner than 5pm so I could enjoy it even more!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve S, Public Relations Manager at Celilo Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you Kate! Yes, we close from 3-5 to prep for dinner. We wish we could open sooner as well but we do need that time to shift over from the lunch to the dinner menus. Thanks so much for your visit and for taking the time to write your review. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Celilo Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Celilo Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing