We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not visit when owners are out of town”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Panorama Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hood River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Panorama Lodge
Ranked #13 of 13 Hood River B&B and Inns
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Do not visit when owners are out of town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2010

We read positive reviews about the Panorama Lodge so we decided to try it out for our first wedding anniversary. When we arrived, we found that the owners were on a month-long trip and had asked someone to run the place for them (they didn't bother to tell us this beforehand).

The visiting innkeeper was nice enough, but definitely should learn more about running a hospitality business. Our bed was never made once and the bedroom and bathroom were not cleaned the entire time we were there. Because they emphasized privacy and having a weekend to ourselves, we figured they were just trying to give us our space, but we would have appreciated a little more cleanliness. The weird thing was that there was only one other party there while we stayed, and the visiting innkeeper decided to put them, and their new baby, in the room across the hall from us--why would they not separate us more? Perhaps it was because they had friends come later that day and wanted the entire downstairs to themselves...

We planned to snowboard a couple days at Mt. Hood, so we were getting up early. The visiting innkeeper didn't get up until almost 8:30 a.m., when we had wanted to be well on our way and were expecting to have breakfast ready when we went downstairs more than an hour before he got up. Unfortunately, the breafkast was far below our expectations and experiences at other B&Bs (my husband had a really bad omelet), and we ended up making our own breakfast the other two days (I just ate cold cereal). The breakfast we've experienced at other B&Bs have been amazing feasts! I didn't expect to be eating cold cereal, and for my husband to be making his own eggs.

Because most of the reviews rave about the owners, if you're going to try the Panorama Lodge, we would recommend going when the owners are not out of town.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SnowboardGirlCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    3
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
9
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2010

We stayed in the downstairs aka "the basement with paper plates of rules tacked to every wall". Our bedroom and the neighboring room smelled of old onions. I have a good nose and thought it was me but my friends confirmed it. Considering that neither room actually had windows which means that they are not technically bedrooms, they can't be aired out. They said the kitchen was a full kitchen, not true. Our pillow cases and quilt had stains (bodily fluid?)on them but we tried to drink enough wine to ignore them. Considering the room smelled of onions, I'm guessing the linens weren't clean or it's where they keep old hoagies, we never figured it out. There was a group upstairs and we could hear every movement of theirs when then walked around and their baby cried. No one had a good night of sleep. Fortunately, we had a nice group of people, good food, outdoor activities and games to keep our mind off of the place. Overall, it was a complete dump that should be used for storage, not for humans to inhabit.
The upstairs did look nice from what I saw and the locations is great. My point here is: if they say they will rent you the downstairs, don't do it.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SebastianandLars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2009

Lee and Linda are among the best couples running a bed and breakfast that I have experienced so far. They greet you when you show up and seem to take an interest in you and do their best to make you feel like you were visiting friends or family. Both of them went out of their way to have breakfast earlier than normal so that we could make our flight. Accomodations were clean and comfortable with outstanding views. The large deck and living space would have made it comfortable to spend more time there except for the fact that there is so much to do in the area. As others have said, breakfast itself is exceptional with huckleberry pancakes, fruit, bacon, sausage, eggs, and due to our leaving early we did not get the full meal. A memorable experience...

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winston_Orvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
germantown, tn.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2009

Lee and Linda are wonderful hosts! Feel like we're visiting our family out of town. BEAUTIFUL views, comfortable, and like nothing you'll find downtown, or just about anywhere. One of a kind,.... and no, I'm not they're publicist or cousin... ron and susan from Germantown, TN.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frobisher999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila area
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2009

We weren't sure what to expect at Panorama Lodge but we were pleasantly surprised. Upon arrival, there was a welcome note, and we made ourselves at home in our room, but when we did see the owners, our room was bumped up from the garden room to one with a view of Mount Hood. The view of Mount Hood from the bedrooms, or from the back porch, is simply the best view of Mount Hood from any angle, with the beautiful garden valleys below. There's nothing like seeing the pinkish hues as the sun rises on Mount Hood from your bed. Surrounding the Lodge, there are beautiful gardens and trees so it is very peaceful, you can only hear the chirping of birds. If you are a birdwatcher, this is a place for you! Even if you aren't, I am sure you will delight in seeing all of the colorful friends around the place. Breakfast was huge and tasty- very satisfying and definitely worth it, made by the owners and very fresh and organic. The price was definitely right.

If you are looking for easy access to Hood River, it is only about a 5-10 minute drive but through some windy roads that can be difficult to find, and I would be nervous driving them in the dark.

If you are interested in staying in some posh, fancy type place, this probably wouldn't be the place for you. It reminds me of b and b's in Europe, (with the seperate bath espcecially) very comfy like you are a guest in someone's home but with more privacy. But I thought it was very comfortable and peaceful and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jesstutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teaneck, NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2007

My group of 17 stayed here comfortably last week. We took over the whole lodge, at a very reasonable price. Here is the email that I just sent to the owners:

"I wanted to thank you for having us - we truly had a terrific time, and it was a pleasure being part of the beautiful lodge that beams of your love with every touch you put in. The great view alone was awesome, but having the beautiful flowers in your yard, wonderous hummingbirds at your feeders, and classic decorations inside was icing on the cake. It was a memorable experience for us all."

That basically says it all. It was a great place in a great location, at a great price. Highly recommended, especially for groups in the 10-20 person range.

  • Liked — Awesome view, bird feeders, space, nice hosts.
  • Disliked — A little dark inside.
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank amk212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2007

We come here every year with a group of our friends for the windsurfing and amazing breakfasts Lee and Linda cook. The lodge is warm, fun, funky, and has an awesome view of Mt Hood. Lee and Linda [the owners] are fun and flexible [we all brought our babies this year]. We'll certainly come back for years to come!

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank JenFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hood River hotels
0.0 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Hood River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.0 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
0.0 mi away
Westcliff Lodge
Westcliff Lodge
#5 of 8 in Hood River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panorama Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Lodge

Property: Panorama Lodge
Address: Hood River, OR 97031
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Hood River
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Panorama Hotel Hood River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing