We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B Ever”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hood River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge
Ranked #3 of 13 Hood River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best B&B Ever”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed 2 nights in the Orchard room on our recent vacation. The farm overall is amazing! It's a short drive from the town of hood river and very relaxing & beautiful. They have bees, chickens and sheep. There are gorgeous views if Mt. Hood. John and Deanna are extremely helpful without being intrusive. Upon arriving John gave us some great recommendations for dinner in Hood River (a short drive away). He also gave some great recommendations of things to do around the area. Deanna's breakfasts were delicious. We had Salmon & Spanish torta the first morning and French toast casserole the next. I don't eat beef or pork and Deanna was very accommodating to special diet requests including leaving the nuts off of my French toast. This is by far the nicest B&B I have ever stayed in. We can't wait for a return visit!

Room Tip: We loved the orchard room, it is a little secluded from the main common area, but if traveling with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennmcd08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SakuraFarm, Owner at Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
We enjoyed hosting you at Sakura Ridge and do hope you can make a return visit. There is so much to see and do in the Columbia River Gorge that perhaps a 3 night farm stay is in order.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    5
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
86
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kent, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband & I stayed for 2 nights in the Mt. Adams room. The view of Mt. Hood is amazing. Yes, it's outside Hood River city limit and part of the road is gravel but that's what is nice about getting away from the city. The farm is beautiful with sheep, pear orchards, bee hives, chicken coop, flower beds, and fruit & veggie gardens. We also met their very friendly barn cat. The lodge is beautiful & very clean. The common area is large for all guests to use. It includes a kitchenette where guests can make their own tea, coffee, soda, and microwave popcorn for free. The only bad thing about the common area is that it is a little noisy at night when you want to go to sleep early (10:30pm) in the Mt. Adams room. This room is right above the common area with the glass windows so the noise travels through which I had a hard time falling asleep until all the other guests went back to their own rooms. Yes, I can hear people's conversation downstairs and hear their laughs and playing Chinese checkers. I know the other guests didn't realize how their voices echoes & travels up to our room. If we go back to this B&B we would stay away from this room. I wished I remembered my ear buds to drown out people's noise. Only suggestion I have is maybe have guests be more quiet after 10pm. The bed was very comfortable once I fell asleep. The breakfast was tasty but a little "fancy" than we hoped. The fresh berries & cherries were nice. But my husband was wanting more of a hearty American breakfasts with farm fresh eggs & sausage. He was hungry in couple hours. (We skipped the yogurt & homemade granola since we don't eat that kind of food.) We really enjoyed spending time with Farmer John. Sunday morning after breakfast we suit up and join Farmer John to work the bees ($25/per person extra). He made the experience very interesting & enjoyable. We also bought 1/2 of lamb home to eat. We know it will be delicious! We would've give this B&B a 5 stars rating if it would't for the sound issue at night in the Mt. Adams room.

Room Tip: I would suggest stay in another room besides for the Mt. Adams room if you want to go to sleep early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SakuraFarm, Owner at Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thanks for sharing your experience at Sakura Ridge. We want every guest to have the best stay and as of today we are including the "quiet time" from 10 p.m. to the check - in letter and will make sure each night that all is calm. We are always happy to make eggs and breakfast sausage or bacon plus any other special breakfast requests. Let us know when you reserve and we will be sure to ask. Glad you enjoyed working the bees with Farmer John!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

When we first viewed Mt. Hood at the gate I knew we would love this place. You do have to open and shut the gate but small price to pay for visiting "The Farm".
The lodge is surrounded by pear orchards. You will see bee hives, they sell their own honey, chickens, fresh eggs for breakfast, and lambs, lamb sausage anyone?. Raised garden and flower beds are beautiful.
Furnished in upscale "lodge/branch" furniture the entire place is a work of art. The view of snow covered Mt. Hood from the back porch is breath taking and picture worthy.
Breakfasts are plentiful and unique. Fresh fruit at every meal along with, French toast one morning, Mexican another and asparagus quiche with lamb sausage and wonderful greens another. Delicious !
Our only negative was the sky light in the Mt. Adams room ... We were not wanting the 4:30 am wake up call! Also, lack of preparation for my hubby's request of a plain breakfast.
I would definitely recommend if you enjoy staying away from it all. We sure did!

Room Tip: Rooms other than Mt Adams will provide a better sleeping!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SakuraFarm, Owner at Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thanks so much for sharing all that you enjoyed about your stay at Sakura Ridge. Warm regards, Deanna and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Adirondacks
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed two nights on our first visit to the Columbia River Gorge. The location was great for exploring wineries and the extraordinary scenery of the area. We found the owners to be that perfect combination of graciousness and unobtrusiveness. Looking out from our room we could see the gardens, orchards and sheep with the mountains, including Mt Hood framing the scene. The common room was expansive, comfortable and well appointed in a country lodge motif. Breakfast was delicious and healthy and my wife's gluten free diet was accommodated deliciously. The city of Hood River was nearby and we enjoyed exploring it as well as the wineries throughout the valley. I would definitely recommend the lodge and would love to visit again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adirondacker-South
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SakuraFarm, Owner at Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Adirondacker-South,

Thanks for the review and we do hope you got to enjoy our adirondack chairs in the gardens and on the deck here at Sakura Ridge. Gluten free is never a problem at our breakfast table. With so much food fresh from the farm it's fun to cook for all our guest no matter what their preferences and needs are.

Warmly,
Deanna and John Joyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Agree with the previous reviews - this is a unique place and we had a very enjoyable weekend which we were sorry we couldn't extend. We were lucky with the weather and enjoyed the farm and its surroundings, the comfort / privacy of our room and the unbelievable views of Mt. Hood at various times of day (including just after sundown when it appears as a ghost).
Make sure you dress well even in summer - it's about 5 degrees cooler here than in the town.
There are about 7 wineries nearby and if you arrive late the first evening, there is a bottle in the room.
We hope to make it back to Sakura Ridge soon!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of Mt. Hood
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fairguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SakuraFarm, Owner at Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear fairguy,

Glad you enjoyed your stay at Sakura Ridge.

If you know ahead of time you will be arriving late, in addition to wine in the room we can provide a picnic dinner or an antipasti platter for a late night snack.

There is also tea, cocoa, sodas and popcorn available 24/7.
Hope to see you back here on the farm.

Best,

Deanna and John Joyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We visited Hood River for one day to spend time with our son. He just starting working in Hood River and was was advised by the locals that Sakura Ridge Farm was a must. We have traveled to many places in the world and have been fortunate to have stayed in many wonderful lodges and hotels. Just entering the gate to the farm and lodge is worth the stay. The view of Mt. Hood is nothing less than a religious experience! Most importantly, spending a night in John and Deanne's home was simply memorable. Our room was lovely and the living room area and outside deck were comfortable and inviting. Breakfast was just right and the other guests were wonderful. Nothing else needs to be said!!

Joel and Allison

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joel k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SakuraFarm, Owner at Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thanks so much for supporting our Farm! We love to share the experience with all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Our first visit was in 2003 and, like a fine wine, Sakura Ridge has improved with age. Now we visit 1-2 times per year and always look forward to our return. The tranquility of the property, natural beauty of Mt. Hood, and hospitality of the hosts are absolutely unrivaled in our experience.

The morning breakfasts are delectable with the freshest produce--some grown right on the property. Deana & John seem like personal friends after all these years and are especially respectful of guest privacy. This is a working orchard, yet all are welcome to lounge on the decks or roam around and enjoy the sheep, chickens and barn cats. Don't miss the Spring blossoms in the valley! A two+ night stay is absolutely essential to truly savor this wonderful property.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaycee2881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SakuraFarm, Owner at Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
We agree. 2 or 3 nights makes for a perfect stay. Sometimes there is nothing better than arm chair farming from the decks. 3,000 pear trees, chickens in the coop, bees in the hives and incredible grass fed lamb. Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hood River hotels
4.2 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
4.2 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#5 of 8 in Hood River
699 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
5.5 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
324 reviews
4.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge

Property: Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge
Address: 5601 York Hill Dr, Hood River, OR 97031-8662
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Hood River
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Artisan organic farm and Bed and Breakfast located in the foothills of Mt. Hood. World class views, breakfast fresh from the farm. 5 Guest rooms, all with private baths. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sakura Ridge - The Farm Hotel Hood River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing