We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$234
$210
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$219
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Westcliff Lodge(Hood River)(Great Value!)
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverview Lodge(Hood River)
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hood River Hostel(Hood River)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lyle Hotel(Lyle)(Great Value!)
$110
$106
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oak Street Hotel(Hood River)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bigfoot Lodge B&B(Hood River)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveler rating
109
6
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
109
6
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsorchard roomworking farmmount hoodother guestsheated toilet seatbeautiful view of mtthe rivereach morningkitchen areaprivate pationice amenitiessized roomsoaking tubbreakfast was deliciousthoroughly enjoyed our staybreakfast tablelarge shower
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 118 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Agree with the previous reviews - this is a unique place and we had a very enjoyable weekend which we were sorry we couldn't extend. We were lucky with the weather and enjoyed the farm and its surroundings, the comfort / privacy of our room and the unbelievable views of Mt. Hood at various times of day (including just after sundown when it appears as a ghost).
Make sure you dress well even in summer - it's about 5 degrees cooler here than in the town.
There are about 7 wineries nearby and if you arrive late the first evening, there is a bottle in the room.
We hope to make it back to Sakura Ridge soon!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of Mt. Hood
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fairguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SakuraFarm, Owner at Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear fairguy,

Glad you enjoyed your stay at Sakura Ridge.

If you know ahead of time you will be arriving late, in addition to wine in the room we can provide a picnic dinner or an antipasti platter for a late night snack.

There is also tea, cocoa, sodas and popcorn available 24/7.
Hope to see you back here on the farm.

Best,

Deanna and John Joyer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We visited Hood River for one day to spend time with our son. He just starting working in Hood River and was was advised by the locals that Sakura Ridge Farm was a must. We have traveled to many places in the world and have been fortunate to have stayed in many wonderful lodges and hotels. Just entering the gate to the farm and lodge is worth the stay. The view of Mt. Hood is nothing less than a religious experience! Most importantly, spending a night in John and Deanne's home was simply memorable. Our room was lovely and the living room area and outside deck were comfortable and inviting. Breakfast was just right and the other guests were wonderful. Nothing else needs to be said!!

Joel and Allison

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joel k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SakuraFarm, Owner at Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thanks so much for supporting our Farm! We love to share the experience with all our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Our first visit was in 2003 and, like a fine wine, Sakura Ridge has improved with age. Now we visit 1-2 times per year and always look forward to our return. The tranquility of the property, natural beauty of Mt. Hood, and hospitality of the hosts are absolutely unrivaled in our experience.

The morning breakfasts are delectable with the freshest produce--some grown right on the property. Deana & John seem like personal friends after all these years and are especially respectful of guest privacy. This is a working orchard, yet all are welcome to lounge on the decks or roam around and enjoy the sheep, chickens and barn cats. Don't miss the Spring blossoms in the valley! A two+ night stay is absolutely essential to truly savor this wonderful property.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaycee2881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SakuraFarm, Owner at Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

We agree. 2 or 3 nights makes for a perfect stay. Sometimes there is nothing better than arm chair farming from the decks. 3,000 pear trees, chickens in the coop, bees in the hives and incredible grass fed lamb. Thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The working farm experience is very cool, and John let us bottle feed 3 lambs! Great food. Amazing scenery. Very well designed interiors that exceed the expectation of a log home farmhouse. Even though it rained the whole time and clouds obscured the view of Mt. Hood, I'd recommend it in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogerSmithJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stay in one of the rooms facing the mountain for the most amazing views. Lots of common area to share with comfy furniture, a full kitchen and a wood-burning fireplace. Wander through the pear orchard or the veggie garden, be entertained by the chickens and the sheep or just sit on the porch in the rocking chairs and stare at the mountain views. The house is surrounded by beautiful flowers too. We've stayed here 3 times already and are going back in February. It's close to Hood River which has great restaurants and cute shops and awesome views of the Columbia River Gorge. And did I mention the breakfasts are fantastic?!?!

Room Tip: Ask for the mountain view rooms
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews