We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Unrivaled” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hood River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge
Ranked #3 of 13 Hood River B&B and Inns
Twin Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Absolutely Unrivaled”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Our first visit was in 2003 and, like a fine wine, Sakura Ridge has improved with age. Now we visit 1-2 times per year and always look forward to our return. The tranquility of the property, natural beauty of Mt. Hood, and hospitality of the hosts are absolutely unrivaled in our experience.

The morning breakfasts are delectable with the freshest produce--some grown right on the property. Deana & John seem like personal friends after all these years and are especially respectful of guest privacy. This is a working orchard, yet all are welcome to lounge on the decks or roam around and enjoy the sheep, chickens and barn cats. Don't miss the Spring blossoms in the valley! A two+ night stay is absolutely essential to truly savor this wonderful property.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaycee2881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SakuraFarm, Owner at Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
We agree. 2 or 3 nights makes for a perfect stay. Sometimes there is nothing better than arm chair farming from the decks. 3,000 pear trees, chickens in the coop, bees in the hives and incredible grass fed lamb. Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    5
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
85
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

The working farm experience is very cool, and John let us bottle feed 3 lambs! Great food. Amazing scenery. Very well designed interiors that exceed the expectation of a log home farmhouse. Even though it rained the whole time and clouds obscured the view of Mt. Hood, I'd recommend it in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerSmithJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stay in one of the rooms facing the mountain for the most amazing views. Lots of common area to share with comfy furniture, a full kitchen and a wood-burning fireplace. Wander through the pear orchard or the veggie garden, be entertained by the chickens and the sheep or just sit on the porch in the rocking chairs and stare at the mountain views. The house is surrounded by beautiful flowers too. We've stayed here 3 times already and are going back in February. It's close to Hood River which has great restaurants and cute shops and awesome views of the Columbia River Gorge. And did I mention the breakfasts are fantastic?!?!

Room Tip: Ask for the mountain view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed in an upstairs room with private balcony. Nice view of Mt. Hood. Our breakfast was fresh and healthy with a great view of the mountains. Our room was clean and perfect. The owners were very friendly and helpful. Would go back without hesitation. I recommend this place to anyone if you want to relax, and enjoy a little seclusion and great food and service and rustic atmosphere...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Braden_Israel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
138 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Sakura Ridge is located 10-15 minutes outside of Hood River. A gravel road leads uphill to the lodge. When entering/exiting you must get out of your car & unlock the gate so the sheep don't escape & the coyote don't get an easy lunch. The lodge faces Mt. Hood and woods. The surrounding farm is a photo shoot for House & Garden magazine...picture perfect! You can enjoy the breathtaking views while sitting on the patio rockers. The lodge has 2 large rooms downstairs. If you are a couple, opt for these larger rooms as we did for 3 nights. These rooms have a patio & the bathrooms have heated toilet seats. The claw tub is ok for showers. There's a small game nook downstairs and on the entry level you have access to a kitchen with microwave plus lots of sitting areas. Deanna makes a delicious breakfast of quiche, bacon, french toast, homemade granola & fresh fruits. The eggs are from her own chickens. She's also a friendly & welcoming host. The lodge is immaculate. The parking is convenient. It is so quiet here. GPS works intermittently
Beautiful wool Pendelton blankets cover the beds.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZephyrFreeway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The website’s photos of the farm and surrounding area do not even do justice to the beautiful and picturesque setting of this B&B. Fruits, vegetables, and farm animals surround the house. The air is clean and the sky is full of stars on a clear night.

The innkeepers are friendly and helpful, breakfasts are delicious, and everything is clean.

But we wouldn’t stay here again or recommend it to friends.

First there is a lack of privacy. We stayed in the “Valley Room” which is one of the three rooms on the lowest level (this part of the house is built into a hill, so it is like a walk-out basement). The Valley Room is separated from the bathroom of an adjoining room by a utility closet. The walls are thin. We could hear *every*single*sound* from that bathroom. Yes, every one. Ugh. Our neighbors also remarked the next day that they could hear us, but at least they weren’t listening to bathroom noises.

The Valley Room does not have a patio, and its only window is the small, high one you see in the website photo. The other two rooms on the lower level have walk-out patios. However, directly above those patios is the main porch for the Inn. Anyone sitting on the patios must contend with the sounds above them from the porch, and vice versa. It’s not that folks were particularly noisy, it’s just that you are always aware that there is someone else a few feet away. We were disappointed not to be able to experience the quiet and peacefulness of a rural farm.

Directly above the Valley Room is the main living room of the Inn. Again, there is little or no sound insulation, and we had to wait until everyone left the common area upstairs and went to bed before our room became quiet. The kitchen is located above the other two lower-level guest rooms.

Although our bathroom was clean, we were surprised to see earwigs and spiders in it each morning, probably because of the ‘basement’ nature of the room.

Valley View is the only room in the Inn that can accommodate a third person (I was told when I made the reservation). It is a very small room, the smallest in the property, yet the price is the same as other rooms. For a third person, in our case our teen daughter, there is an additional $30 charge per night. For what we received, the price seemed too high.

It’s likely that the one guest room in another building is quieter and more private. (There is another guest room in the house, but it is adjacent to the living room.) Or room-to-room noise may not bother you, or the Inn may not be full. But, despite the good food and nice innkeepers, we were very disappointed with our stay. Yes, you can escape your small room and spend your free time in the common areas, but at some point you do have to go to your room, and there is really no way to fix the problems of the layout and location of the guest rooms.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Arcadia_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SakuraFarm, Owner at Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed the farm fresh breakfasts and John and Deanna. So sorry the room let you down. We make every effort for every guest to make sure their stay is a good one. After reading your review we did check out the situation and found that after a service repair done in the utility closet prior to your stay the workman did not re-install the rigid insulation in the walls. We are currently working on this and wished we had known sooner.

For future guests, give us a couple of weeks to complete the project but in the meantime the other 4 rooms are nice and cozy through the holidays. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
164 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in mid September, the weather was perfect, warm and sunny. The Lodge is very beautiful, the grounds are well kept and we had the most interesting healthy delicious breakfasts ever ! We drove the Fruit Loop one day and did some winery tasting on another. Also went to Maryhill Museum and saw the Stonehenge replica War Memorial. We ate at Celilo Restaurant all three nights because it was so good.

Room Tip: I would splurge on a room on the upper floor next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurallee2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hood River hotels
4.2 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Hood River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
4.2 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
6.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
5.5 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
4.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge

Property: Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge
Address: 5601 York Hill Dr, Hood River, OR 97031-8662
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Hood River
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Artisan organic farm and Bed and Breakfast located in the foothills of Mt. Hood. World class views, breakfast fresh from the farm. 5 Guest rooms, all with private baths. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sakura Ridge - The Farm Hotel Hood River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing