We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hood River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge
Ranked #3 of 13 Hood River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Thank you again, fellow TripAdvisor reviewers, for your help in finding me a lovely place to stay. The quiet beauty of the place--a 72 acre working farm that grows cherries, apples, and pears--and the welcoming and rustically elegant lodge and rooms were exceptional in every way.

Online reservations through the Sakura Ridge website were simple and communications easy. Driving instructions to the farm from Interstate 84/30 are thorough and we had no trouble finding the place.

Our room, The River Room, had a small sandstone patio upon which to sit, gaze at Mt. Hood and the expansive view over the exquisite hills and mountains, watch a bald eagle fly overhead, pat the sweet kitty, and take in the absolute perfection of nature in this part of the world. The plantings and kitchen gardens are lovely, too. The charming room and bath were well outfitted, quiet, and the bed immensely comfortable. Breakfast, prepared and served by the owner Deanna was delicious with fresh farm eggs and just picked berries.

Attention to subtle design detail is everywhere here. And everything is meticulously clean, fresh, and tidy. The entire experience at Sakura Ridge Farm and Lodge is not to be missed if you are traveling along the Columbia River Gorge or planning to travel to the Mt. Hood area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    5
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
87
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at Sakura Ridge. The view from our room and balcony was of Mt Hood and it was beyond amazing. The room was beautiful, the bathroom the perfect size. Wish we had stayed longer. Breakfast was nothing less than masterful. The fruits and vegetables were from the garden right outside the window and eggs from the chickens on the farm. The ingredients were so fresh I almost slapped them. Will definitely stay here again next time we are in Hood River.

Room Tip: We stayed int he Orchard Room which was on the end of the lodge with windows on two sides. The bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoCalEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

If you are looking for a wonderful, relaxing and romantic spot for that special weekend or vacation, Sakura Ridge Farm and Lodge is the place to be! High on a ridge overlooking Mt. Hood Oregon, with beautiful spacious rooms and incredible views of Mt. Hood! Friendly gracious hosts who provide a delicious homemade breakfast with fresh organic fruit and vegetables from their own farm. We cannot wait to return on our next trip to the northwest!

Room Tip: the Mt. Hood Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bioguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

The view from this place is outstanding, jaw-dropping really. We had the River room, it was small but had a nice spacious bathroom with a clawfoot tub and the bathroom also has the same view of the mountain.There was a very comfortable sitting area just outside.

Its a working farm and there is a little doggie and a couple of barn cats around. The owners are very nice and helpful. Excellent breakfasts. Its a little far from downtown Hood River, so you will need a car. But worth it. Just really stunning views.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

This place is so much more than the website shows. It is beautiful, simple elegance and so peaceful. The view from our room was of the valley, the farm, and Mt. Hood. The farm and garden are beautifully maintained, and just a work of art. The room felt like art heaven. Very comfortable, spacious, clean, beautifully decorated. All the details to allow for absolute comfort. Good night lights for both of us - amazing how important that is. A heated toilet seat no less. The bathtub even has a view of the orchard and Mt Hood. The even have two very cozy, sophisticated throws for wrapping up and looking at the stars from our balcony.
Breakfast was sublime. Gourmet fare, generous in scope, great tasting. The eggs are home grown. They even jar their own jam and honey.
The hosts are humble, helpful, friendly and not overbearing. It was great to see the owner driving his tractor out in the fields attending to the sheep and crops.
It was a 5 minute drive from the main town of Hood River which made for the peacefulness, but allowed accessibility to the restaurants and nature. And there are great hiking possibilities all around.
I can't wait to go back. Heck, I'd like to live there. Thanks so much for such a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zippypurplekitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

If you're looking for a launching point for great nearby hiking, but enjoy being a bit outside of town surrounded by nature, Sakura Ridge is definitely for you! Everything about the property instantly made you relax - from the wooded ridge setting to the sheep and geese in the back farm area, we couldn't belief the awesomeness of this hidden gem. I'd go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: The Orchard room was by far the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcsiobhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Our short stay at Sakura Ridge Lodge was one of the highlights of our Pacific NW trip. The beautiful location, the cool clear air, the quiet at night... heaven!

We visited in late April -- well before peak blossom time, but no matter. The setting was idyllic, as was the lodge itself. The view of Mt. Hood was breathtaking and a wonderful treat to wake up to each morning.

I'm not always a fan of B&B-style lodgings, as they can feel somewhat formal and fussy. We loved that Sakura Ridge is a working orchard. The care that obviously went into the lodge is evident down to the smallest details - it is rugged, comfortable, and BEAUTIFULLY decorated. Our hosts were warm and helpful, making us feel welcome but never hovered-over. Deanna's breakfasts, which appear to have come straight from the pages of "Bon Apetit," center around local seasonal ingredients. Her homemade preserves are highly recommended!

The Hood RIver area was a favorite of our WA-to-OR trip as well . The lodge is a scenic 10-minute-or-so drive to town, and a short distance to day hikes in the Columbia RIver Gorge. Dinner at the local 6th Street Bistro was a hit as well.

So yes, I am gushing, but there was a lot to gush about. As others here have said, my only regret is that I couldn't stay longer!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSPF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hood River hotels
4.2 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
4.2 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#5 of 8 in Hood River
745 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
332 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
4.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge

Property: Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge
Address: 5601 York Hill Dr, Hood River, OR 97031-8662
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Hood River
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Artisan organic farm and Bed and Breakfast located in the foothills of Mt. Hood. World class views, breakfast fresh from the farm. 5 Guest rooms, all with private baths. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sakura Ridge - The Farm Hotel Hood River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing