We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View of the river, good food and service”
Review of Riverside

Riverside
Reserve with OpenTable
Riverside is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 141 Restaurants in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Button Bridge Rd
Description: Hood River's only waterfront restaurant is known for some of the best food in the Gorge, plus amazing Columbia River views from just about every table. Enjoy it all indoors in Riverside's recently remodeled dining room or on the expansive dining deck. Menus change seasonally, with fresh, locally-sourced, all-natural ingredients. An extensive award-winning wine list, a dozen brews on tap, and full bar offer the perfect complements for a relaxing meal. Riverside's menu is also served in Cebu lounge. Weekday happy hours at Cebu feature a special menu based on many of Riverside's specialties.
texas
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“View of the river, good food and service”
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We wanted to eat at a restaurant on the Columbia River as we were on the road towards Portland and saw the reviews for this restaurant. It lived up to its good reviews. We had a seat inside where were could see the river; outside seating was also available. We had sandwiches - one was crab and shrimp on a baguette and the other was a salmon "burger". The piece of salmon was large and tasty. Our server was pleasant and efficient. We'd be happy to eat here again.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank krtex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    449
    212
    57
    28
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kentfield, CA
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Big portions of decent food in a pretty setting on the river with a poky kitchen.”
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Service was fine ~ it's the kitchen that moves at the speed of cold molasses. If you come hungry, you'll leave full, but what a wait, especially with kids.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WeGoMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good breakfast and very nice waitress”
Reviewed June 16, 2011

WE spent two nites two weeks apart here on a two week trip to Oregon. We took advantage of the "free" breakfast---ordering off a limited menu, but I ordered the French toast which also came with scrambled eggs and choice of applewood bacon or sausage and coffee. It was good and waitress was very nice and attentive. we had her for both occasions. We had intended to eat dinner there on our second stay and last nite in Oregon but had had a fancy meal the nite before and I did not see a lot of "casual" options on their menu---have a 12 yr old and a 22 yr old---and most of the items seemed to have an "Italian" flavor to them...which I like but others did not want that nite. So we ordered Domino's that nite. The restaurant overlooks the river and in warmer weather has a deck outside, which was not open while we were there. they also have an adjacent bar with live music on selected nites and it appeared to be quite popular with locals.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank bills83au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque NM
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best seafood fra diavolo ever!”
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Fantastic sauce, plenty of zip - unfortunately the chef wouldn't share his recipe. My wife had a salmon entree, also quite good. A slow evening mid-week; service prompt and efficient, the carafe wine quite good and reasonable as was the entire dinner. While the menu has quite a few Italian entrees, seafood and American/continental are well represented as well. There is a great view of the river and gorge, and outside seating is available. Would return, and recommend.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank tripsandmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Location surpasses quality”
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Diner review: who would imagine that on a relatively non-busy evening my husband and I would have to wait an hour after being seated to get our entree (the special for the night), then it arrived significantly undercooked. It took 45 minutes for the standard Caesar salad to arrive. The server made excuses for the delay but it was inexcusable. When it finally arrived cooked properly, it was good. No matter how good the food tasted, the dining delay affected my disposition and I was not happy. No accommodation was offered either for the delay or for the raw food. No restaurant can afford to rest on its location, quality of service and product must also exist.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ajingram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing