We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pretentious and over priced”
Review of Brian's Pourhouse

Brian's Pourhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Brian's Pourhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 140 Restaurants in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Hood River, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very pretentious and over priced”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Popular with the younger adult population for the bar scene. Food is over over billed and VERY expensive, Only when we have guests in town who demand a bar scene do we go.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    78
    19
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Elk meatloaf caught my eye.”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

This place was recommended by the Naked Winery people and it did not disappoint. I had the elk meatloaf with a beer and my wife had the smoked salmon fettuccine. We had excellent service and she was attentive and answered some of our questions on local wineries. It is in a renovated house and has some real charm for dinner. Overall a great experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sgthompson56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“excellent food and first rate service.....”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Was visiting family over Christmas and went to dinner one night before Christmas.....we didn't have a reservation and they said they'd work us in if we didn't mind waiting.....sat at the bar, had a drink, and they worked us in....dinner was delicious, wonderful choices for all courses, and excellent service.....would go back again in a heartbeat....and probably will the next time we are in the area......

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Romantic dinner - aloof, cold service”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

My wife and I had a romantic dinner in the small, window enclosed side room just to the right of the hostess stand. My Old Fashion and my wife's Gimlet were well chilled and very good. And both our entrees were delicious as well. But the star of our dinner was the Autumn salad with the grilled delicata squash, field greens, blue cheese, and roasted hazel nuts. This simple salad was the best single dish we had on our getaway weekend - absolutely amazing flavors! Brian's side room is warm and cozy - and I would have rated it Excellent if our hostess/server would have been friendlier and a lot less aloof. She was very efficient but cold and distant. She didn't spoil our dinner but she sure put a damper on it. It was cold outside when we left but the fresh air put us back in good spirits.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bhpkns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quepos, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overpriced fair fare”
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Fun atmosphere and great service, but is way over-priced for substandard fare. $9 for meagerly Caesar's salad. Entre's small and bland and very expensive. Spring rolls pretty good. Just drink the beer - go someplace else to eat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Oregonfishhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brian's Pourhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing