We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

pFriem Family Brewers
Ranked #7 of 140 Restaurants in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Belgian, German, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Lift a glass to the Pfriem family of artisinal beers--- rife with complexity and elegance, influenced by the great brewers of Belgium, but unmistakably true to their homegrown roots in the Great Pacific Northwest. PFriem is located along the Hood River Waterfront with a European-inspired menu, and seating that is open to the brewery.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We accidentally came across this place after visiting the Hood River Visitor's Center and getting their recommendation.

It's pretty new, but the beer was first rate. I'm also a big fan of Full Sail, and I'm not sure I could pick one as being better than the other. The folks at Pfriem have hit a home run.

The food was tremendous. With some brew pubs the food seems secondary. Not here. So, feel free to take your non-beer drinking friends. The food alone is worth the visit. But be sure to get the beer.

My wife doesn't even like beer and she thought the Pfriem beer and food were great.

Don't miss it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ptglaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    86
    26
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
328 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Fine for Lunch”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was recommended by the ladies at the Tourist Information stop after I told them what we were looking for--they have menus of most restaurants. It is in a newer building across from the riverfront park. There are small tables and larger communal ones. The dining area shares the same floor as the beer vats. You can watch the wind/kite surfers from the front window and/or the beer making activity. There was plenty of food selection on the menu. A nice white wine was $8 a glass. His 16 oz Blond IPA was $4.50. We had the steak and frites and the salmon croquettes (3). It was plenty of food and we took some leftovers. A lot of locals were eating there. Plenty of free parking.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
1 review
“Out of food”
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

4:00 PM on a Sunday afternoon, and looking for a late lunch. My wife and I and two other couples went to pFriem Family Brewing based on the recommendation of the brewer at Backwoods Brewing ("Which brewery in Hood River has the best food?"). Very busy, and we had to wait for a table. Waitress took our drink orders while we waited. To their credit the beer was excellent (they specialize in Belgium-style ales). The waitress then informed us that several items on the menu were not available, including all of their sandwiches (out of bread?). There is NO EXCUSE for a business in the restaurant industry to run out of something that's on their menu; ABSOLUTELY NO EXCUSE! Ended up spending our money at one of the other fine breweries in Hood River.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WideWorldVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great lunch in a very cool place”
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Great food and very good Belgian style beers...we had a lunch and the onion soup was superb . Very cool place...wish it was my:(.......:):)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emil1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Classy Food and Great Belgian Beers”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This place gets overlooked as it's not in the downtown area, but it's super close and worth a visit. The food is great and of course the beer is excellent - especially if you like Belgian beer.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nwrafting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed pFriem Family Brewers also viewed

 

Been to pFriem Family Brewers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing