We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aptly Named” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Horsetail Falls- Columbia River Gorge

Horsetail Falls- Columbia River Gorge
Book In Advance
$60.00*
and up
Morning Half-Day Multnomah Falls and Columbia River Gorge Waterfalls Tour from...
Ranked #4 of 66 things to do in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
147 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Aptly Named”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Beautiful falls just down the road from Multnomah Falls yet few traveled on to see what else was along that road. Yet another spectacular waterfall with a nice view from the road but much better up close and personal.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank GrammaTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    66
    13
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“horse tailfalls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

the horsetail falls was very beautiful and was well worth going to see the hikes were great even for people who caint do much hiking. I recomend going to this falls

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheTexasTraveler321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level Contributor
187 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Spectacular!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

It is a shame so many people slow down and look without getting out of their cars and walking across the street to savor the feel of the spray, and marvel at the height and power of these magnificent falls. They are accessible even for the disabled, and are worth a fifteen minutes of your time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yogaphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“What a waterfall!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This waterfall is directly off of the gorge highway. We noticed that a lot of people just slowed down to see it, but I would definitely recommend getting out of your vehicle to really experience it. First of all, it is so loud. This waterfall is beautiful and tall -- so amazing. You can feel the water splash a good distance away. There is a hike that starts here that leads to the upper horsetail falls, but we didn't have the time to do this hike. I wish that we would have made time.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melissa_and_RobertP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
182 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Beautiful falls that can be seen from parking lot just off hi way 30. Just a short walk for great pictures.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gloria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horsetail Falls- Columbia River Gorge also viewed

 

Been to Horsetail Falls- Columbia River Gorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing