We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinosaur Train--Disappointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mt. Hood Railroad

Mt. Hood Railroad
Ranked #12 of 69 things to do in Hood River
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tourist railroad offering 4-hour scenic tours through the Hood River Valley to the base of Mt. Hood on a historic Excursion Train, Dinner Train or Brunch Train.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
The Dalles, Oregon
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dinosaur Train--Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

We (I have a 4 year old, and 1.5 year old) were very excited for the Dinosaur Train, but were rather disappointed on arrival. The women at the ticket counter seemed out of sorts, and were very short with customers. When we got on the train, I was a little surprised that there were NO decorations other than plastic leaves. The only thing that happens on the train is a few songs about the show while employees walk down the aisle clapping--very anti climatic. The play area that you arrive at after the train ride has some fun activities (fossil dig, bounce house,), but the other half of the areas were lackluster (printed off coloring pages with a few crayons). Overall, it's just not a very 'inclusive' experience as far as tying in the theme. The atmosphere is very lackluster, especially for the price. (Adults and kids do get a free souvenir cup--Dinosaur Train themed for kids, and Mt Hood Railroad for adults which is a nice treat.) We will not be doing this again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TARG2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    97
    57
    38
    69
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

Great ride through the orchards and up the mountain. Kids enjoyed the "robbers" and we enjoyed the narrations.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank crushing5th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, IN
Level Contributor
107 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Family excursion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

I actually took this train ride in 2012. My parents live where we can look down from their home and see the train station. It is a very slow, gentle ride up the hills where there is a stunning view of Mt. Hood. You can sit on the upper level of a two level train car. This provides some amazing views. You can purchase a box lunch to eat on the train or when the train stops in Odell. This is a great family excursion. We have actually done this twice and I would do it again. It is relaxing and a beautiful trip. The train stops at a produce market and again in Odell. Then returns back down the mountain into Hood River. A must do when visiting the area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton
1 review
“We love to ride, ride, ride the dinosaur train!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

We brought our 4 1/2 year old and he was the perfect age. The 30 minute train ride was just the right length and we loved the sing-along. Each activity at the adventure park was fun but brief, great for his attention span. He was excited to bring home his nature trackers card and the "fossils" he dug up. I would definitely recommend for any child who is a fan of the dinosaur train.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Petrie_Dish_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Public Relations Manager at Mt. Hood Railroad, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Hello!
Thanks for taking a moment to tell us about your fantastic experience on the Dinosaur Train! Everyone at the Mount Hood Railroad worked very hard to bring this event to families in Oregon and we're so glad to hear all the positive feedback.
We hope to welcome you aboard again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great escape from hot, windy Hood River weather”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

We chose to ride the train to escape the heat, see the landscape from this perspective, and besides - it's a great way to support some Oregon history. We watched Mt Hood grow from a tiny, distant peak to a awe inspiring sight that filled the dome car's back windows. We learned much about the local orchards and I'm sure saw where all our pears and cherries come from. The tiny town where the train stops, well - I would recommend buying a snack at the grocery store across the street and have a little picnic in the park during your wait. I would describe the museum as someone's rock collection. The ride back we relaxed. Bring some cards to play (limited cell service). It's a low key way to spend the day. I'd also recommend purchasing tickets directly from their website or at the station. Thankfully we arrived early as we had to go through the process of converting our tickets purchased for the ride on a different website.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ddp-on-the-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mt. Hood Railroad also viewed

 

Been to Mt. Hood Railroad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing