We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice & Interesting Day Trip - Recommend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mt. Hood Railroad

Mt. Hood Railroad
Ranked #12 of 69 things to do in Hood River
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tourist railroad offering 4-hour scenic tours through the Hood River Valley to the base of Mt. Hood on a historic Excursion Train, Dinner Train or Brunch Train.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Estero, Florida
Level Contributor
262 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Very Nice & Interesting Day Trip - Recommend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Very nice inexpensive day trip - highly recommend. If you visit the Mount Hood, OR area you will want to check this attraction out, based on our experience. Wonderful old train has a daily trip around the Gorge and Mt Hood area (depending on the day some special theme trip offerings too - Christmas, etc) ... very interesting and informative trip - scores of vineyards, a pleasant stop in a historical town, etc. Suggestion: Book the day before if you can and pre-pd for a parking pass ... also, recommend you pay the small difference to reserve an Upper Dome Car seat - great viewing during the trip (you can eat prior to the trip, on the train or while in the stop). We close to eat at a wonderful restuarant during our stop (Apple Valley BBQ ... reasonably priced great BBQ that was served quickly) - great old fashion ice cream shop next door for dessert.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JMelq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meagan B, Manager at Mt. Hood Railroad, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your experience aboard the Mt. Hood Railroad. I'm glad you enjoyed the ride, narration, scenery and the town of Parkdale!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    97
    57
    38
    69
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hood River, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Mt Hood Railroad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Took my sister and her kids on the railroad up to Parkdale on the Mt Hood railroad. Had a great time and really enjoyed the scenery and short visit to Parkdale. They also offer a dinner train but we didnt have time for that. I imagine it is great also!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ksilva4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meagan B, Manager at Mt. Hood Railroad, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your trip aboard the Parkdale Excursion Train. I'm glad you and your family enjoyed the trip. If you like that train ride then you will love the Murder Mystery Dinner Train. I hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A Fun Route to Mt Hood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

As an alternative mode of transportation, the Mt Hood railroad affords a scenic trip through the Mt Hood fruit loop to Parkdale with a magnificent view of Mt Hood. The historical narrative was enlightening as the train meandered by the glacial river, orchards laden with pears, apples and cherries into the sub alpine forest. During the hour layover, we wandered through the eclectic Parkdale museum then walked to the lovely Parkdale Inn where we booked a room for a return. This was a great trip, leisurely trip. Next time, we'll try sitting in the dome car.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meagan B, Manager at Mt. Hood Railroad, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for joining us and commenting about your experience aboard the Parkdale Excursion Train.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madras, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun and scenic train ride”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

It was a fun and scenic train ride through orchards with a view of Mount Hood. A stop for lunch at Parkdale offered some good food choices. On the return to the station we were "held-up" by train robbers. "Money" was supplied at the beginning for us to feed the loot bag. We were also entertained by card shark magician. Good fun. Prices I thought were a bit high, $180 for four in the upper dome car. AND a $5 charge to park your car.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jimmyw495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meagan B, Manager at Mt. Hood Railroad, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed the Western Train Robbery and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Take It Or Leave It”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

This trip was fun for 2 out of 4 hours. The train ride there was interesting, with lots of historical detail shared by the speaker. The time in Parkdale was boring. You really only need 15 minutes to take pictures in front of Mount Hood. An hour was way too much (especially since we ate our lunch on the train). Most people slept on the ride back, as we went the same route and there was nothing to see.

We sat in the upper level with the dome top. I"m not sure that we would've liked it at all, had we been sitting on the bottom level.

I used a Groupon, but I would have been very disappointed if I had paid full price.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank girlfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meagan B, Manager at Mt. Hood Railroad, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for joining us aboard the Mt. Hood Railroads Excursion Train to Parkdale. Next time you ride with us you may consider taking a Western Train Robbery or a Murder Mystery Dinner Train as those trips have entertainment on the way back. We appreciate your feedback. Take care, Meagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mt. Hood Railroad also viewed

 

Been to Mt. Hood Railroad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing