We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing but a bit disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mt. Hood Railroad

Mt. Hood Railroad
Ranked #12 of 69 things to do in Hood River
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tourist railroad offering 4-hour scenic tours through the Hood River Valley to the base of Mt. Hood on a historic Excursion Train, Dinner Train or Brunch Train.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Missouri Valley, Iowa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Relaxing but a bit disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Took the excursion train (10 am - 2 pm) in the dome car. We thought it was going around or at least to Mt. Hood, but later realized it only went to a very small town not near Mt Hood--where we had a 1 hour wait to evidently explore the town. Scenery was beautiful and it was nice having the experience of riding on a train. It was interesting to see the orchards, which we wouldn't have bothered to see had we not been on the train. The trip there was fine, but coming back the exact same way we had gone was a bit mundane and most people in our car took the opportunity to fall asleep. A bit expensive to get a 1 1/2 hour nap!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelgalF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meagan B, Manager at Mt. Hood Railroad, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for joining us on one of our Parkdale Excursion Train rides. Unfortunately there isn't a train that travels to Mt. Hood but our train gets you to about 10 miles from the base with breathtaking views! I'm glad you enjoyed the scenery and hope that you will join us on one of our other trips we offer such as the Murder Mystery Dinner Train. We have entertainment the entire trip back. I can promise you that no one will be sleeping on this return trip. Take care, Meagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    97
    57
    38
    69
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Carson, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pretty!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

It was very fun and has a pretty view the whole way round! Long enough for the money, but not long enough to fall asleep!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Naturegal1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meagan B, Manager at Mt. Hood Railroad, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a positive review about our train. We take pride in what our customers think about our railroad and we appreciate your comments. Hope to see you again in the future aboard the Mt. Hood Railroad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Overpriced snail pace train trip”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

The excursion train (10 am - 2 pm) has beautiful scenery, and it is fun to watch from the front and the back of the train. That said, the 17 miles / 2 hour train ride is slow, which was ok on the way there, sleep-inducing on the way back. Biking would be just as pretty, and probably faster. There's a narrated history / insight over the speakers on the way there. Interesting, although the guy sounded quite bored.

Notes:
- Don't buy the lunch. It's much cheaper and better at the Parkdale stop
- Upper Dome was expensive, over-airconditioned and crowded. Bring blankets
- Coach was empty, and seemed like a more authentic, calmer experience.
- Bring cards / toys

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank McLoki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meagan B, Manager at Mt. Hood Railroad, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for riding with us aboard the Mt. Hood Railroad. The train ride is designed to go at a leisurely pace but biking back would be fun too. We are always looking for ways to improve and appreciate your comments. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Took the murder mystery train for a corporate retreat. Tables we preset with fresh flowers, cheese and fresh fruit. After train started, wine was poured and water served.

I thought it was great that they had a bar car with a great selection with local wine. I found the show to be hokey and not very entertaining. Not what I expected for a murder mystery. It was quite warm on the train with only ceiling fans and the train was full.

I would definitely do something like this again without the intent of watching the show.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JeremyMatney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meagan B, Manager at Mt. Hood Railroad, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for posting your review about your experience on the Mt. Hood Railroad. Although you enjoyed the train ride and the food, the corporate event you attended was not our typical Murder Mystery and I'm sorry that you did not enjoy the show. We will do our best to improve it and hope to see you in the future on one of our regular scheduled trips. Thank you so much for joining us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, Oregon
Level Contributor
186 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“It's about going for a train ride, ok?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

The reviews of this attraction are all over the place. It's great for kids. It's also great for parents and grandparents, IF you do expect that it is going to be more than it is: a train ride. If you are expecting Magic Mountain or Six Flags, stay home. I've been on this train twice, The White Pass and Yukon RR in Alaska, The Napa Valley Train and Trolley Cars in San Francisco. For an adult, it's all about the same and you will get out of it what you put into it. I've enjoyed all of them, including the Mt. Hood Railway. Last trip we took the grand children on The Polar Express along with cameras. We have memories that we will always cherish. If you let it be the simple joy that a train ride is and don't expect to be 'amazed', you'll find it fun and memorable.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meagan B, Manager at Mt. Hood Railroad, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Hi there - thank you for joining us in the past and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mt. Hood Railroad also viewed

 

Been to Mt. Hood Railroad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing