We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty!”
Review of Mt. Hood Railroad

Mt. Hood Railroad
Ranked #14 of 73 things to do in Hood River
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tourist railroad offering 4-hour scenic tours through the Hood River Valley to the base of Mt. Hood on a historic Excursion Train, Dinner Train or Brunch Train.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Reviewed June 17, 2013

It was very fun and has a pretty view the whole way round! Long enough for the money, but not long enough to fall asleep!

Thank Naturegal1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meagan B, Manager at Mt. Hood Railroad, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a positive review about our train. We take pride in what our customers think about our railroad and we appreciate your comments. Hope to see you again in the future aboard the Mt. Hood Railroad.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (413)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 255 of 413 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

The excursion train (10 am - 2 pm) has beautiful scenery, and it is fun to watch from the front and the back of the train. That said, the 17 miles / 2 hour train ride is slow, which was ok on the way there, sleep-inducing on the way back. Biking would be just as pretty, and probably faster. There's a narrated history / insight over the speakers on the way there. Interesting, although the guy sounded quite bored.

Notes:
- Don't buy the lunch. It's much cheaper and better at the Parkdale stop
- Upper Dome was expensive, over-airconditioned and crowded. Bring blankets
- Coach was empty, and seemed like a more authentic, calmer experience.
- Bring cards / toys

1  Thank McLoki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meagan B, Manager at Mt. Hood Railroad, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for riding with us aboard the Mt. Hood Railroad. The train ride is designed to go at a leisurely pace but biking back would be fun too. We are always looking for ways to improve and appreciate your comments. Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Took the murder mystery train for a corporate retreat. Tables we preset with fresh flowers, cheese and fresh fruit. After train started, wine was poured and water served.

I thought it was great that they had a bar car with a great selection with local wine. I found the show to be hokey and not very entertaining. Not what I expected for a murder mystery. It was quite warm on the train with only ceiling fans and the train was full.

I would definitely do something like this again without the intent of watching the show.

1  Thank JeremyMatney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meagan B, Manager at Mt. Hood Railroad, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for posting your review about your experience on the Mt. Hood Railroad. Although you enjoyed the train ride and the food, the corporate event you attended was not our typical Murder Mystery and I'm sorry that you did not enjoy the show. We will do our best to improve it and hope to see you in the future on one of our regular scheduled trips. Thank you so much for joining us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The reviews of this attraction are all over the place. It's great for kids. It's also great for parents and grandparents, IF you do expect that it is going to be more than it is: a train ride. If you are expecting Magic Mountain or Six Flags, stay home. I've been on this train twice, The White Pass and Yukon RR in Alaska, The Napa Valley Train and Trolley Cars in San Francisco. For an adult, it's all about the same and you will get out of it what you put into it. I've enjoyed all of them, including the Mt. Hood Railway. Last trip we took the grand children on The Polar Express along with cameras. We have memories that we will always cherish. If you let it be the simple joy that a train ride is and don't expect to be 'amazed', you'll find it fun and memorable.

4  Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meagan B, Manager at Mt. Hood Railroad, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Hi there - thank you for joining us in the past and we hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We enjoyed the ride and the scenery. We could see Mt. Hood and Mt. Adams and got pictures of both. Better to wait until you reach Parkdale to get pictures of Mt. Hood. It was difficult to get pictures at times as upper portion of window in Upper Dome Car is tinted and this definitely shows in the pictures. We rode on a Friday and the Upper Dome Car was not at all crowded and I do not think the rest of the car was either. We had an entire table to ourselves as did a lot of others so we each had an entire side of the table. I can see if you had to sit two to a side there might be a "crowded" feeling and more difficult to move and turn to watch what you are passing. There was very good narraration for the entire trip and included history of the area as well as descriptions of what we were passing. I would love to go again in the fall to see the season changes. This was our first visit to Oregon and we wanted to see as much as possible. I would recommend the train ride as a way to see part of the scenery.

2  Thank Joyce N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meagan B, Manager at Mt. Hood Railroad, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for joining us and posting your review on trip advisor. We also appreciate the wonderful photo's you have posted as well. Whenever your in the area again, stop by for another great train ride! Take care!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mt. Hood Railroad also viewed

 

Been to Mt. Hood Railroad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing