We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brunch Train”
Review of Mt. Hood Railroad

Mt. Hood Railroad
Ranked #14 of 72 things to do in Hood River
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tourist railroad offering 4-hour scenic tours through the Hood River Valley to the base of Mt. Hood on a historic Excursion Train, Dinner Train or Brunch Train.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Excellent food and atmosphere, views and ride. Staff was friendly and we took dad for father's day- fun memories.

Thank Cassie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meagan B, Manager at Mt. Hood Railroad, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on the Brunch Train. We are glad that you enjoyed your trip and hope that you will make this your Father's Day tradition.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
There are newer reviews for Mt. Hood Railroad
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

249 - 253 of 405 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

We took the 10 AM morning excursion train ride to Parkdale. We had reserved our tickets a few days early and were glad to be able to upgrade to Dome Car seating upon our arrival. We did not arrive at the recommended 30 minute earlier than departure time and regretted it. Please follow their advice!! If you park in the station parking lot there is a fee of $5 and you have to go to your car to place your ticket on your dash! There is a reason they recommend this 30 minute early arrival! We upgraded to dome for $15 per person. We sat across from a nice couple from Oregon and enjoyed our entire trip. The train has lovely views of the Hood River and orchards galore! The weather was wonderful and the dome car paid off handsomely with majestic views of Mt. Hood! The stop at Parkdale was nice. We had ice cream at Alabama Jim's during the 45 minute stop there. The couple we sat with had Pulled-Pork BBQ sandwiches at the Apple Valley BBQ. They said it was delicious! We got lots of nice pictures though you need to find tricks to get pictures through the dome to avoid reflections in your pics. I found taking them dead on with the dome avoided the glare. The trip took about 4.5 hours with the stop. Narration provided some interesting facts about the area. We thought it was a wonderful way to spend the day...riding the rails in Oregon!!

2  Thank mobiusag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meagan B, Manager at Mt. Hood Railroad, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

I'm so pleased to hear you have enjoyed your trip aboard the Parkdale Excursion Train and was able to upgrade to the Upper Dome. Thank you for joining us and posting a nice review. Hope to see you again in the future. Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

A slow paced ride in the upper dome car made for fantastic views of Mt. Hood and surrounding blossom orchards!
Great BBQ at Apple Valley BBQ in Parkdale too.

Thank weareOregonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meagan B, Manager at Mt. Hood Railroad, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for joining us on the MT. Hood Railroad and posting your review. By the title you have selected I'm assuming you came during blossom season? The Hood River valley is beautiful that time of year and I'm so glad you got to experience it via our train. Come back and join us during the wonderful, ever changing, Fall colors. Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is a fairly short railroad trip through the apple and pear orchards. Do not expect great scenery or a trip through the primal forrest. People at the station in Hood River are friendly and helpful. At regular price you may feel like it is somewhat overpriced for what you get, but with coupon discounts it is reasonable. The cars are not like european trains or Antrak in that they have no storage racks for backpacks or picnic supplies. Everyone has assigned seats, so if you are a couple (as other reviewers have said) how nice your trip is might relate directly to the other two people with whom you share a table and sit very close to. For us having a young child across from us that screamed a lot, ate food off of the floor, and spit in her mothers face without consequence was less than a highlight of the trip.

1  Thank moveinon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meagan B, Manager at Mt. Hood Railroad, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your experience aboard the Parkdale Excursion Train. It sounds like in your case it would have been better to not be seated across from others and I do apologize that it wasn't pleasant. We do offer trips such as the Murder Mystery Dinner Train that do not allow children, which may be more suitable for you. We hope you will join us in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

got for a gift thank god as I would not recommend unless you like being face to face with strangers and way to close,some fruit trees,a couple old cars,not much to see,,beer & roastbeef were great at the brew pub in the Parkview stop,most were falling asleep bored on trip back,again not much to see really,,would not go again

2  Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meagan B, Manager at Mt. Hood Railroad, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for riding with us aboard the Mt. Hood Railroad. I'm sorry you did not enjoy your trip. As in most train operations you can be seated across from people you don't know and I can understand how that can be awkward but typically people comment about how they met new people. I'm sorry you did not find it interesting as well as the breathtaking scenery. Again thank you and take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mt. Hood Railroad also viewed

 

Been to Mt. Hood Railroad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing