We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freshly Baked Breads”
Review of Knead Bakery - CLOSED

Knead Bakery
Description: We are open Tuesday to Sunday now during the summer months, 8 am-5:30 pm We offer light breakfast, morning pastries, sandwiches, salad, desserts, and of course Artisan Breads. Parking in the back for our customers. We can also cater your events.
Restaurant details
Description: We are open Tuesday to Sunday now during the summer months, 8 am-5:30 pm We offer light breakfast, morning pastries, sandwiches, salad, desserts, and of course Artisan Breads. Parking in the back for our customers. We can also cater your events.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Freshly Baked Breads”
Reviewed August 28, 2014

We walked around Hood River, and the aroma wafting out the door of Knead Bread lured us in. Beautiful artisan breads and yummy flatbreads.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank SLOCoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feliza G, Owner at Knead Bakery, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
I'm so glad that the aroma of freshly baked bread lured you in! I've had customers who suggested that I should vent the aroma of fresh bread out the window! Haha Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    11
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wee Bit Disappointing”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I LOVE bakeries and I have no problem with gluten (thank you God, the Universe...). My hometown has a couple of wonderful ones, and while my husband and I were hiking in Central Oregon, I missed my morning toast. So when I saw Knead's sign while driving into Hood River, there was no question that we'd stop and order a loaf before the next day's hike. I ordered the fig-walnut sourdough to pick up later that afternoon. It wasn't bad, there just weren't many figs and the walnuts never made it into the dough. I missed the nutty crunch and it ended up being bland. I had read some reviews on Yelp while looking for their hours and many people wrote that it was expensive. The loaf was about $5.50, which I think is reasonable for a medium-sized loaf of artisan bread, but without the nuts and just a few figs, I probably wouldn't recommend it. I also had a latte to compensate for bad hotel coffee: flavor was good but it was lukewarm.

They have a nice selection of pastries - the usual and some that are unique. They also have sandwiches that look like good options to take out for a day's adventures.

Bottom line - I would probably give it another try and see if other loaves weren't so skimpy.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank WorldloverSantaFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feliza G, Owner at Knead Bakery, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Hi thank you for visiting knead when you were in Hood River. The bread you purchased a few days ago was the FIG SOURDOUGH NO WALNUT IN THE BREAD. I have not made fig walnut sourdough this year yet. I am sorry that the loaf you had did not have as much fig as the others, but as with all the mix with fruits or nuts the contents are random since the whole batch are mixed together without being able to count how many figs are in each loaf.
I'll reconsider adding fig and walnut sourdough loaf in the future.
I do have a cranberry walnut sourdough loaf on Wednesdays if you happen to be in Hood River. Again thank you for trying knead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Find”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We were traveling through Hood River and wanted something for breakfast when we found this bakery. I am SO GLAD we stopped! This place was a wonderful treat. The staff was friendly and helpful. We ordered breakfast sandwiches (amazing!) and while they were being prepared we couldn't help but order pastries for the road. Everything tasted great and homemade.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PacificTraveler87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feliza G, Owner at Knead Bakery, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for coming to knead and trying our offerings. We look forward to serving you again when you come back through town. The summers are fun especially when all the fruits and vegetables are in abundance since we incorporate local flavors into our bread, pastries, breakfast and lunch offerings. Again thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey County, California
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent desserts”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

THE place to go in town for a sweet treat - I have never had anything I haven't liked. Counter staff is sometimes inconsistent but when you get someone who is willing to help you pick out something delicious or something for a special occasion (like Valentine's Day), they are wonderful.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Viajera59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feliza G, Owner at Knead Bakery, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for coming to knead and trying our offerings. We look forward to serving you again when you come back through town. The summers are fun especially when all the fruits and vegetables are in abundance since we incorporate local flavors into our bread, pastries, breakfast and lunch offerings. Again thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strongsville, oh
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Aroma”
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

A small bakery with a wonderful aroma. Knead provided sweet breads for a business meeting which were outstanding. I also stopped there for lunch and had a great sandwich.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank paul l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feliza G, Owner at Knead Bakery, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for commenting about knead. Yah it's great, it all smells good!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Knead Bakery also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing