We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (969)
Filter reviews
969 results
Traveler rating
572
233
100
38
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
572
233
100
38
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews historic hotel piano player elevator operator garden view cliff house the river steelhead columbia gorge beautiful waterfall step back in time corner room grounds are lovely romantic getaway rooms are small the entire staff third floor amazing views
Filter
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 969 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2018 via mobile

The first smile we met was Rick's, he set the tone for the rest of the stay, which was absolutely perfect. The room was sweetly simple, with a comfy old feel, perfect colors and textiles, and more than I expected. The staff were pleasantly Portland, and had that true Oregon touch. The accommodations were amazing, but the people are who made it! The old fashioned elevator rides were the best, the piano man was ace, and the Valentini martini made me a believer! Food was great, service even better, and dang I haven't slept that good in years. I was with my best friend and our bonus mom for a girls trip. We will be back!♡

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank erika r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara E, Marketing Manager at Columbia Gorge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words about our staff! They are wonderful people who truly love what they do, making our guests feel welcome in our home away from home. I will be sure to pass along your thoughts as they will make their day.

We sincerely look forward to your next visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

After a wonderful drive through the Columbia Gorge and a visit to the amazing Mary Hill Museum, we arrived at the Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa. What a beautiful property and setting! It was built in the 1920’s, but it has been maintained and updated without ruining the the ambiance of the original plan. The grounds were also well done.

The lady who checked us in was very pleasant and efficient. She also served as our elevator driver because the hotel has not changed to a self service elevator. Our ride to our room provided a great retro moment.

My wife and I are sensitive to mold and mildew, and we had some concerns about staying in an old property. The entire building, including our room, was fresh and we had no problems .

We enjoyed a fantastic dinner in the dining room with a table overlooking the river. Our server was the only one on duty, and he did an excellent job, despite a larger crowd than expected. Our dinners were delicious and beautifully presented. Breakfast the next morning was also outstanding.

The whole experience reminded me of the hotel in the James Bond movie set at Elephantine Island in Egypt.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank StevieB52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara E, Marketing Manager at Columbia Gorge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Thank you so much for your kind review of our hotel and staff. Indeed, for anyone looking for authenticity, our hotel elevator is just one of the special perks we have here and it's been a part of the charm of our historic hotel for guests since 1921. Not quite James Bond, but the TV show Grimm did film their 2017 Valentine episode here! We hope you'll visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2018

We keep coming back to this wonderfully historic hotel! From the concierge, to the front desk staff, to the room, to the view, to the food, to the spa, to the entertainment at night, we will continue our trips here! It is perfectly appointed and in a fantastic location to both the Oregon side and Washington side wineries! The amazing views and pretty grounds make for a wonderful afternoon or evening stroll. We have created so many memories here and have made some lifelong friends of the staff. It is our constant “go to” for a wonderful weekend get-away!!!

Room tip: Any with a river view!
Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank SETannenbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara E, Marketing Manager at Columbia Gorge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely comments and for being such loyal patrons! We hope to continue to make your visits with us enjoyable, and we're wishing you many more happy memories to come...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2018

Hadn't stayed here in 5+ years, definitely an improved experience. Very comfortable bed, bathroom quite large for an old hotel, some fixtures have been updated. Beautiful location and grounds, the feeling is of a place that hasn't changed much since it opened 90 years ago, which is both charming and out of date at the same time

Room tip: Room 326 really nice - a smaller King but on a corner, great light and air flow, partial view of river
Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank trattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara E, Marketing Manager at Columbia Gorge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2018

Thank you for your kind review and returning to visit here. We recently upgraded all the mattresses in the hotel, so we're glad to hear you were comfortable. We're in the process of updating many things, including the grounds, such that the charm and character stay, while giving everything a "fresher" feel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2018

We have rides late Saturday night. The people at the front counter were very courteous very helpful and delightful. The elevator was an incredible experience built in 1920 21 very old very fun period in the morning we had a most wonderful breakfast in the dining room with our waiters and waitresses being the very best and the food was excellent. We had company arrived to eat breakfast with us and they so enjoyed their breakfast time with us. The grounds were just beautiful and wish we could have stayed the week. I highly recommend this wonderful Hotel.

Room tip: Was very clean and very quite. Great breakfast...wonderful friendly people and so enjoyed our overnight stay.
Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank LesaRoadTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara E, Marketing Manager at Columbia Gorge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2018

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are very proud of our classic elevator that continues to serve us and our customers well. As the old adage says, "they don't build them like that anymore!" If you get an opportunity to visit us again, our grounds continue to bloom all summer long and the fall colors are simply stunning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews