We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (966)
Filter reviews
966 results
Traveler rating
569
233
100
38
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
569
233
100
38
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews historic hotel piano player elevator operator garden view cliff house the river steelhead columbia gorge beautiful waterfall step back in time corner room grounds are lovely romantic getaway rooms are small the entire staff third floor amazing views
Filter
Updating list...
154 - 159 of 966 reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2018

Leaving the falls behind us we continued east along the Columbia River to Hood River where we planned to spend the next few days. We stopped first to see the historic Columbia Gorge Hotel and Spa with a commanding view of the Columbia River. This Mission style hotel built in the 1920s has changed hands several times but is on the U.S. National Register of Historic Places.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kelleygirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eddy v, General Manager at Columbia Gorge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to rate us and comment on your discovery of the hotel. We appreciate your patronage and your interest in our history. We still have a story to tell, so don't hesitate to ask our bellmen to bring up up to date at your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2018

The hotel is beautiful, the music in the piano bar was outstanding, and the food was excellent. The only thing I would have liked to see more of was historical information about the hotel. There was some, but there needed to be more! :) The gardens were amazing, even though it was winter. I bet they're spectacular when things are blooming!

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank swierman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eddy v, General Manager at Columbia Gorge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2018

Thank you for your favorable comments and taking the time to rate us. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to see you again when the gardens are blooming.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2018

I stayed here probably 10 years ago, in a room right over the lounge (noisy on that occasion), and didn't enjoy the experience so much. What a difference! Everything about this stay was terrific -- the staff, the room and the accommodations in general. The room was immaculate, the bed was incredibly plush, the bathroom very nicely appointed and finished. In old hotels noise can often be an issue, but our room was more quiet than I would have expected. Despite the fact we were on the "garden side," noise from the highway was never an issue--but we didn't open the window at night. Of course, the grounds are lovely, and the view of the Gorge (and its own waterfall!) is spectacular. Highly recommended!

Room tip: Garden view rooms are presumably less expensive, but proximity to the highway could make it noisy if you want to sleep with the window open.
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JohnBigboote503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eddy v, General Manager at Columbia Gorge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to rate us and comment. We are glad you liked your stay and appreciate your patronage. Looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2018

My wife and I have made the trip from Spokane to Portland many times and never stopped by to see this beautiful property. What an amazing setting overlooking the mighty Columbia River! Bald Eagles galore

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Irishman51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eddy v, General Manager at Columbia Gorge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to rate us and comment. We are glad you "discovered" our hotel and appreciate your patronage. Looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2018 via mobile

The Columbia Gorge Hotel is a treasure! We were passing through and thought it would be a neat place to stay. My husband loves historical hotels however I love modern comfort! This hotel had both! The grounds are beautiful and the 1920's architecture is breathtaking. The best part was the staff! I felt like I was staying with friends. We enjoyed breakfast with a view of the river. The breakfast was very good and reasonably priced. The wait staff was very attentive. We are already planning our next stay!

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Tricitiesgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eddy v, General Manager at Columbia Gorge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to rate us and comment. We appreciate your patronage and hope to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews