We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (983)
Filter reviews
983 results
Traveler rating
585
234
100
38
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
585
234
100
38
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews historic hotel piano player elevator operator garden view cliff house the river steelhead columbia gorge beautiful waterfall step back in time corner room grounds are lovely romantic getaway rooms are small the entire staff gas fireplace third floor
Filter
Updating list...
175 - 180 of 983 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2018 via mobile

The Columbia Gorge Hotel is a treasure! We were passing through and thought it would be a neat place to stay. My husband loves historical hotels however I love modern comfort! This hotel had both! The grounds are beautiful and the 1920's architecture is breathtaking. The best part was the staff! I felt like I was staying with friends. We enjoyed breakfast with a view of the river. The breakfast was very good and reasonably priced. The wait staff was very attentive. We are already planning our next stay!

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Tricitiesgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eddy v, General Manager at Columbia Gorge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to rate us and comment. We appreciate your patronage and hope to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2018

Great People are working here and highly supportive before, during, and at the end! The romantic package setup in the room before we arrived, a special arrangement to deliver a "surprise" room service, the dinner, room upkeep, and the checkout--all worked like a charm. Thank you CGH!

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Volfsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eddy v, General Manager at Columbia Gorge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to rate us and comment. We are glad you liked your stay and appreciate your patronage. Looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2018

What a great hotel with HISTORY! Kristian the bartender is amazing and makes both great COCKTAILS (try her hot drink: MExican French Toast) and MOCKTAILS (the huckleberry was my fave). The hotel is very old, but located LITERALLY right next to Multnomah Falls. Great rooms, although the beds were a little on the softer side to my liking. Oh, and I forgot to mention the food at the Bar Valentino. Everything is great on the menu, you simply cannot go wrong. In the morning, you wake up to the Waterfall and the river, what else can you ask for?

Room tip: All rooms look to be good
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenwood85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eddy v, General Manager at Columbia Gorge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2018

Thank you Kenny, for your favorable comments and taking the time to rate us. We appreciate your patronage and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2018

We spent NY Eve at the Columbia Gorge Hotel. Our room was on the corner overlooking the garden and side views of the river. The room was spacious and comfortable. We enjoyed the Sunday brunch with the delicious baked goods and tender prime rib sandwiches. We will be back!

Room tip: NW Corner price of garden but also have side views of river.
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eddy v, General Manager at Columbia Gorge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to rate us and comment. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2018 via mobile

Nearly empty on a windy January weekday, this grand old lady is still a gem to behold. Perched on rock cliffs with lovely stone walls and well-tended grounds, this 1920s hotel is jaw-dropping. There's a 200' drop waterfall just feet from the building. Great views of the Columbia River, and close to Hood River. The friendly receptionist gave us a top-floor river view corner room with a fireplace, for the same rate.
Re dinner: staff was friendly and almost too attentive. Ambience is good, though the piped music (e.g."Ben," by Michael Jackson, was played in elevator music style-yuck) should be changed to something genuine. My boar chops were bland enough they would benefit from a spicy sauce such as romesco, and there was too much breading. Most Portland chefs would say the brussels and broccolini were way overcooked. My spouse liked her steelhead.
The setting is great. The dinner prices are pretty reasonable.
I'd give the hotel 4.5 stars, and the restaurant (for dinner) 2.5/5, though prices and service are good.
Really enjoyed this fine hotel!

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank KLE_Woodland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eddy v, General Manager at Columbia Gorge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2018

Thank you for your generous rating and your encouraging comments.
The level of "dente" of the sprouts and broccolini may have been my doing originating from Belgium - a soft bite is fine; half raw as the Portland chefs prefer it, no.However, this is a taste and a preference, I think.
We will be looking into the boar recipe; it should be interesting with good flavors - boar should never be bland, I agree.
The music unfortunately is an issue we are struggling with and are looking fr a more pleasant solution - a work in progress.
Thank you again for your patronage. Maybe we see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews