We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fantastic view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
136 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fantastic view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

It's a beautiful and historic hotel overlooking the scenic Columbia Gorge. Staff seems nice and helpful. The almost 100 year old hotel resurrected some years ago, feels like you're in another world, another time with the antique furniture, interior decoration, and architecture. It definitely has a romantic feel to it.

High season rates are a bit high at around $260; compared to low-season at around $120.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetters888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    152
    65
    28
    21
See reviews for
74
383
23
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

I stayed for one night during a week long trek through Oregon. This is an old world place with a terrific location on the water. I was able to get the room right over the water fall so I heard the water falling all night which as delightful. The sound of traffic from the Interstate was unfortunately pretty loud. They had a very nice happy hour service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river so you are less likely to hear the Interstate traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Receptionists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

The Columbia Gorge Hotel lived up to its billing as a historic hotel with an exceptional view of the Columbia River. We enjoy staying in historic old hotels in spectacular settings and we were not disappointed. Our room was beautifully furnished and reasonably spacious. We had a fireplace and a view of river, although the windows were small. The room was not inexpensive and you will hear noise/conversation from time to time; however, any noise from other rooms or the hallways was minimal and not a noteworthy issue for us. Some reviews mentioned highway noise from the nearby freeway, but we really did not notice it. If you want an inexpensive room, sound-proof room - you'd be better off staying at one of the nearby hotel chain brands. However, it you enjoy a beautifully furnished hotel with a spectacular setting that wreaks of travel in bygone times - you will enjoy this one. The view of the river and the hotel gardens (complete with waterfall) are exceptional. The elevator is an old style one requiring an elevator operator. The dining room has an outstanding view of the river and the food was wonderful (although we only ate breakfast).

We'd stay here again and highly recommend the Columbia Gorge Hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

My husband and I recently spent 3 nights here. It is an historic hotel in a beautiful setting above a waterfall overlooking the river surrounded by nice gardens. The hotel has a lot of charm and what we thought of as charecter but I can see why some people would not like it. We particularly like older places but this hotel had kind of a "faded glory" feel to it at times. We talked to a couple with some mobility issues where having to wait for a staff member to take them upstairs was annoying to them. Another guest i talked to said they did not like the room decor and "plain" furniture. But, that being said,we had an enjoyable stay. We slept great,our mattress was comfortable,the shower was hot with great water pressure and we received friendly helpful service from every employee we encountered. We had a delicious breakfast there,and excellent salmon burgers in the lounge with friends.The early morning coffee and biscotti was appreciated too.We would stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaDiane5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Mississippi
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

The grounds were beautiful and well kept. We could hear the falls from our room. Beds comfortable. We ate breakfast in restaurant at corner table in early morning sunlight. The food was all wonderful and the presentation was beautiful. Look forward to returning.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anita m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northren Illinois
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

Stunning building and grounds overlooking the Columbia River. This was a Hollywood hang out in the 1920's and 30's. The grounds are a garden paradise. Plantings, a stream, waterfalls, wildlife and visual vignette. There is a lovely stone patio for the bar overlooking both river and grounds. The restaurant's food was good and our server knowledgeable. In some ways it reminded me of the resent Wes Anderson film "Grand Budapest Hotel" but no Monsieur Gustave.

All that being said me aware, smells a tad musty, no air conditioning, very limited elevator that the person at the desk must operate, and rooms are a bit like your grandmother's house. To me this contributed to the quirky, romance of the place but clearly you need to have the right mindset.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmjfresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

I took my elderly mother for her birthday. The staff were professional, courteous, and helpful. The room was easily accessible for her and very relaxing. The grounds were accessible to her also and we really enjoyed sitting on the swinging bench and watching the sun set.
We both really enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank road_tested2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hood River
0.1 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
17.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn
0.2 mi away
Westcliff Lodge
Westcliff Lodge
#3 of 8 in Hood River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa

Property: Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Address: 4000 Westcliff Drive, Hood River, OR 97031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its historic charm and reputation for excellence the Columbia Gorge Hotel is a perfect location for your next leisure visit in the beautiful Columbia River Gorge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing