We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have to experience this amazing hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Columbia Gorge Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I planned my mom's 70th birthday weekend at The Columbia Gorge Hotel. I had 19 family members staying 2 nights here and everyone loved the Hotel.
The elevator was original and needed staff to run it. So I suggest taking the stairs, it is only two floors.
I can't say enough wonderful things about the front desk staff. They were so helpful and friendly every time we came in contact with them. It is such a different experience than staying at a chain hotel.
The rooms were a little small. But I am pretty sure besides some upgrades to the bathrooms they were the original 1920's layout. They were so charming and the beds were very comfortable. We slept like babies both nights. We had River view rooms, it came with a refrigerator, and bathrobes for two. Some of my family members booked the Double room hotel suites, which were two full hotel rooms that shared a bathroom in the middle. They loved them and wished more hotels had them.
Most of the women of the party had services done in the Spa. The massage therapist were fantastic, and the manicurist were so friendly and fun. The prices weren't outrageous either, pedicure was 45.00 and a massage was 90.00 for 60minutes.The spa was beautiful, clean and relaxing.
My mom's birthday dinner was in Simons Cliff house restaurant. We had booked one of the private rooms and the service was Spectacular!!! The food was flawless and the in-house Baker baked the birthday cake which was beautiful and delicious.
The live piano music in Valentino's was just what we needed to end the perfect weekend, bar staff was friendly and fun.
The only thing I would not recommend is the Farmers Brunch we had on Sunday morning. This was their 7 course breakfast, which was not worth $28.00 per person. The pastries and scones were fantastic. The food was good, but it was your regular breakfast.
My husband and I can't wait to visit the hotel again, where we have time to explore the grounds and Hood River.

Room Tip: Try the Spa services I do not recommend spending the money on the Farmers Sunday Brunch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mindie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (813)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

612 - 618 of 813 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

Excellent views of the Columbia River from the hotel and from several rooms. Rooms are small, but are well- decorated for the time period.

Restaurant is a little stuffy, but the fish dishes, as would be expected were very tasty. Good wine list at somewhat inflated prices, but workable. Corkage is reasonable in the state of Washington.

Recommend.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
Thank packcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

i had booked a fun 2 nights in a White Salmon Yurt. Turned out, not good, so hubby got quietly busy looking for alternative and found this ....spectacular, vintage, elegant, delightful, friendly hotel that blew my mind. i felt like i was on a honeymoon... after 13 years. It rained alot, we spent cozy times in bed, and the sun came out and treated us to strolls thru their amazing gardens.
Thank you sweetheart for saving our romantic trip by booking the Columbia Gorge Hotel.

Room Tip: there's a bad room...?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank caseysacajewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had a last minute change in our travel plans and found ourselves in Hood River without reservations on a Friday night. We were able to get a last-minute booking at a very good rate at this lovely property. Everything about our stay was superb....the staff were welcoming and helpful, we enjoyed a late supper in the lounge (accompanied by the charming Tony Kay on piano and vocals) and our rooms were spacious, well-appointed and quiet. The next morning we enjoyed an hour walking the beautiful grounds of the hotel. This place is a gem!

Room Tip: We did not have a room facing the river, but as we left we saw one that was being cleaned. It had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

On our recent trip to the Columbia Gorge, we "stepped back in time" and spent two nights in a third floor River View room and two nights in a third floor Garden View room. The hotel is comfortable with modern conveniences, but you can sense the grandeur of the old hotel. The river view room was clean, a nice size with a queen bed, two comfortable chairs and a desk. There was a closet with a refrigerator and a flat screen tv. The bathroom was large. We had a view of the river, but keep in mind this is a historic hotel and the windows aren't big. The windows needed to be washed and there were lots of cobwebs on the outside of the windows. The bed was comfortable and we slept well, even though trains pass frequently. The garden view room was clean and spacious with a unique canopy queen size bed, two rockers and a desk. Bathroom was a little smaller than the river view room, but still a nice size. This room overlooked the gardens but you could also see the hotel's garbage bins. You definitely get more highway noise with the garden view room. The rooms do not have coffee makers. Room service is available or coffee and biscotti are available in the lobby.

The front desk was friendly and knowledgeable about the area and the history of the hotel. We felt the wait staff (except Jennifer and Chelsea) could use a little more training and lacked attention to detail. We ate one dinner and every breakfast in the dining room. There wasn't one meal that we didn't have to send a glass, napkin, or piece of silverware back because it was dirty. The food at our dinner was good, but service was slow. There was a wedding that evening so that could have been the problem. The breakfast wait staff were attentive and food was good. Two evenings we visited the lounge. One evening the service was adequate, the second evening it was exceptional.

The grounds are lovely with nice gardens, walking paths and bridges to cross the creek that flows through the property. There are some resident ducks that are fun to watch. The hotel property even has its own waterfall. There are some swings and benches throughout the gardens where one or two can sit and enjoy the beauty. It would be nice if the hotel would add seating where more than two could gather and enjoy the gardens or the river. The garden areas could have used some attention and the last day we did see gardeners giving them that attention.

Keep in mind this is a historic hotel and there is one elevator and it must be operated by hotel staff. That's not always convenient, so we found ourselves using the stairs most of the time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandgravity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is a beautifully restored historic hotel on gorgeous well maintained grounds. Our room was small but very comfortable and well insulated from neighboring rooms. There was a wonderful breeze but leaving the window open meant we had to listen to the wedding reception celebration on the patio below our room until after mid-night. We went to the bar in the late afternoon for a drink and a couple appetizers. There was no one tending the bar when we arrived although there were several people sitting at the bar with drinks who said he'd be back. The bartender nonchalantly wandered in and out for no apparent business reason. It took 40 minutes to get two appetizers from the kitchen. Getting his attention for a bill seemed to put him out. The one person covering the front desk was also answering the phones and running the elevator. For a grand historic hotel the staffing was unprofessional or poorly trained and not supervised.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 257CJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. All of the staff were very nice. The hotel is beautifully restored and maintained. We had an excellent dinner in the restaurant, with a river view. We particularly liked the roasted red pepper soup. My husband had the halibut special, which was delicious. The service was wonderful.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank EugeneChristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hood River
0.1 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
348 reviews
17 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
13.2 mi away
The Lyle Hotel
The Lyle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lyle
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbia Gorge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Gorge Hotel

Address: 4000 Westcliff Dr, Hood River, OR 97031-9799
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range: $117 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Columbia Gorge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the on the majestic Cliffs of the Columbia River, the Columbia Gorge Hotel has 40 guest accommodations. Facilities include our award-winning Simon's Restaurant and the Valentino Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Columbia Gorge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing