We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnificent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Columbia River Gorge

Columbia River Gorge
Book In Advance
More Info
$159.00*
and up
Small Group Columbia Gorge Waterfalls and Wine Tour from Portland
Ranked #1 of 69 things to do in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Columbia River Gorge, a 75-mile canyon through the Cascades, is a broad, picturesque river with water-controlling dams.
Omaha
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

I would reccommend he waterfalls. If you are traveling east from Portland make sure you get onto scenic 30 to see the waterfalls.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    716
    86
    10
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Georgia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Awesome place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We went in May so there was not a lot going on yet but it is staggering site. We drove all the way around and made several stops in the 8 hours that we had. Tremendous. I will return but will be armed with more time to see everything. The waterfalls are incredible. We stayed in Portland and went out first thing in the morning. Just a fantastic place.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank joe b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welches, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fall apple tour.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Great fall views and wonderful apple farm stands. We love the Apple Country Store and McCurdy's Orchard!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patti H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
146 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A must see destination.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Columbia River Gorge is beautiful anytime of the year. It has scenic waterfalls -- which in winter, freeze up into huge icicles. In the spring, there are fields of wild flowers, and always, the Columbia River flowing past.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rickh57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, New Jersey
Level Contributor
207 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“A glorious part of the country, glad we visited”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

If you enjoy a bit of a drive then cruising the Columbia River and the Gorge is a wonderful drive. Easy access to some pretty great water falls, it was raining off and on while we were there sometimes pouring! So there was plenty of water careening and crashing down from all of the falls. We drove the Historic Highway, Hwy. 30 and that's a super drive, twisty in some areas but a lot of wildlife around when we were there in late Nov. over T-day weekend.
Be sure to visit the lookout points along the road, the views are great, lots of photo opportunities.
Also the wineries are fantastic and the wines of this portion of Oregon are a joy, totally enjoyed a little winery tasting.
All in all a lovely area to tour, very scenic, lots of nice people, good place for a holiday.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Garry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Columbia River Gorge also viewed

 

Been to Columbia River Gorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing