We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great wine but horrible business and customer service!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cathedral Ridge Winery

Cathedral Ridge Winery
Book In Advance
More Info
$129.00*
and up
Bike Tour of Hood River Wine Country
Ranked #13 of 69 things to do in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Voted Oregon Winery of the Year and located in Hood River, Oregon, Cathedral Ridge is a premier Oregon winery and vineyard experience that features Columbia Gorge hospitality and world-class wines by Michael Sebastiani. Visit us during your next trip to Oregon Wine Tasting, or sign up for our Wine Club to bring the Cathedral Ridge experience directly to your doorstep each month.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great wine but horrible business and customer service!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Cathedral Ridge has wonderful wine - so much so that we joined the wine club. The same day we joined, they charged our credit card even though they said they would only charge us once the wine has shipped. That was July 22. It is now August 24th and not only have we not received our wine but our calls go unanswered. We've called 6 times and only twice have I talked to an actual person. The first time we finally reached them (Aug 18th or so) she said it hasn't shipped because the weather was too hot. The 2nd time I reached an actual person she had no clue who we were or where our order was but said "Mary" will call you first thing tomorrow - well, that was about 4 days ago. I've left messages with the manager, with the shipping dept. and no luck. So today I make my final attempt via email meanwhile we now have to dispute over $200 worth of charges on our credit card for wine we never received. They really should hire someone with business skills to run their business and their customer service dept. Like I said, the wine is great but in this competive market there are a lot of great wines out there and other wineries who have much better ethical practices - I will spend my money with them instead.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ombody22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathedralRidgeWinery, Public Relations Manager at Cathedral Ridge Winery, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We were sorry to hear about the confusion and are thrilled that everything worked out in the end. We hope you enjoy the Syrah Reserve and look forward to seeing you again soon, -All the best, Cathedral Ridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    30
    10
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Wines”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We visited Cathedral Ridge Winery on a recent stay in Hood River and were really impressed with wines, impressed enough to buy several bottles and have them shipped to Montana. If you like good wine this is one a tasting room that should be high on your list, along with Marchesi.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RLMskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathedralRidgeWinery, Manager at Cathedral Ridge Winery, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hello RLMskier!
We are so happy that you enjoyed your visit at Cathedral Ridge Winery! Thank you for sharing!
Enjoy the wines:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great wine and a spectacular view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We enjoyed a very nice tasting and then shared a cheese & cracker plate with a glass of wine. The view of Mt. Adams from the grounds is spectacular and was the perfect setting for our lunch. We plan to visit again when we are in the area!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stimpson52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathedralRidgeWinery, Public Relations Manager at Cathedral Ridge Winery, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
@Stimpson52-Thank you for the comments we are so glad you enjoyed your visit! Call ahead and bring some friends with you next time you're in the area for a private group tasting. Let's show off all that wine knowledge you've earned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washougal, Washington
Level Contributor
204 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great location and wines”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Beautiful setting and yummy wines. Not cheap, but we definitely bought a few bottles. Loved their chardonnay. One of my favorite stops in Hood River.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank PhfamWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathedralRidgeWinery, Public Relations Manager at Cathedral Ridge Winery, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
@PhFamWA- We appreciate your comments and we are thrilled you enjoyed your visit. Let's chat about our Wine Club next time you visit so we can get you those great discounts that you deserve! Nothing like bringing the Columbia Gorge to your doorstep, right?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roosevelt, Arizona
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful winery - great wine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is a great place to visit to take pictures, taste some great wine, meet some very nice people. It was a clear day when we visited here and I wish I had taken pictures. It's a little out of the way, but worth the drive.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lyndal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathedral Ridge Winery also viewed

 

Been to Cathedral Ridge Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing