We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“90 bucks for a room not fit for farm animals.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Riverview Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riverview Lodge
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“90 bucks for a room not fit for farm animals.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

Stayed this week on a long drive - got in late and got a room for $90 including tax. Room was not even close to clean and smelled awful. Place was a wreck too. Don't stay here. A/c heat unit smelled funny and didn't work good either...

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wootnakka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    13
    13
    3
    10
See reviews for
14
20
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2011

Beware, you may be a victim of shady business practices too. Or, you could experience horrible customer service as well.

My partner and I had booked a room with the hotel months in advance. A couple of days before making the trip, we called to confirm our stay. My partner was told that she did not have a reservation. Understandably, this caused us some alarm and stress....wondering if maybe we had gotten our reservation wrong. We called EVERY hotel in Hood River to see if perhaps we had made reservations elsewhere by mistake. No one had our reservation, so we were forced to find another hotel at the last minute.

Well, it turned out that Riverview Lodge DID have our reservation and our credit card number, and charged the card two days into our vacation. We immediately went to the hotel and calmly explained the situation (we even showed them that we had called two days prior-the record was on our phone). INSTANTLY, we were met with extreme denial and argument. There was absolutely no consideration of giving us our money back. Most shocking was simply how unhelpful and argumentative the female at the counter was.

I hate to say it, but either the owners of this hotel are either 1) mildly inept (not seeing our reservation initially) and extremely hostile, or 2) they've got a running scam to snatch up a little money from travelers who need confirmation for reservations.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank humanpowered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hood River hotels

Mount Vernon, Washington, USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2011

The operators are very rude, unwilling to make any effort to accomodate us. When multiple rooms were incorrectly charged to one credit card, we called to try to get the other rooms charged to the appropriate cards. The "manager" was VERY unhappy to be fielding such a request and essentially turned it into such a big ordeal that we just left it and exchanged the money amongst ourselves. We will not be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimochasco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorks
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2010

In a word, this place is grim. Got stiffed $106 for a night here, the room was just horrible, the sheets were like tissue paper, as were the towels.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthYorksBeerlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2010

Spent one night at this hotel in Hood River. I guess I should have known what I was in for, it was the only place in town that had a vacancy. Carpet in the room was so stained I think they may have stored car parts in our room. The tub was disgusting, and the caulking looked they the local elementary school had a field trip and the management let them put it in. The in room coffee machine was so disgusting had I used it I am sure I would have either gotten very sick, or if the mold in the water well was medicinal in nature never gotten sick again

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoponabike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2009

There's nothing fancy here. Just a clean, pleasant motel near the center of Hood River. The rooms are surprisingly large, with sitting area, microwave, small fridge. It's nicely affordable for a resort town. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again for a short stay (1-2 nights).

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zendurango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hood River hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
1.3 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Hood River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverview Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverview Lodge

Property: Riverview Lodge
Address: 1505 Oak St., Hood River, OR 97031
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Riverview Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Riverview Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing