We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Westcliff Lodge
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn(Hood River)(Great Value!)
$157
$140
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River(Hood River)(Great Value!)
$152
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hood River Hotel(Hood River)(Great Value!)
$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Columbia Gorge Hotel(Hood River)(Great Value!)
$199
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Motel 6 The Dalles(The Dalles)
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites(Hood River)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (946)
Filter reviews
946 results
Traveler rating
525
311
79
19
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
525
311
79
19
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscolumbia riverpicnic tableswhite buffaloriver viewview roomnewer buildingwind surfersthe cliffqueen bedlarge roombit datedshort driveshower headfire pitclean roomswould stay againcoffee maker
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
923 - 928 of 946 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2006

Despite the fact that this motel is right next to I-84, you'd never know it if you have one of the rooms facing the river as we did. Our room was large, clean, and we loved having a balcony where we could sit and watch the activity on the river.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2006

Don't be scared off by the roadside sign! The room was actually quite large, clean, beds were very comfortable and the balcony overlooked the Columbia River Gorge with great views.
The Columbia Gorge Hotel next door has a 7 course brunch, expensive and quite good and there is also a Charburger Country for cheap, quick meals. Would definitely stay here again, liked the room better than my friend's at the Columbia Gorge Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mdgipsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2006

We loved the Vagabond Lodge!! Our room was quiet, clean, comfortable, and enormous. We were in the very back of the property, with a balcony looking out on the Columbia. We debated spending the few extra dollars for the view room, but we're SO glad we did! Sitting on the balcony after dark and watching the lights from the trains across the river...getting up to watch the windsurfers zipping by in the morning...that alone was worth the price! I can only think that there must be a big variation in the quality of the rooms in different parts of the hotel, judging by the wide differences of opinion here. But we'd go back in a heartbeat, and we'll ask for room 51 again!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank MsMaryMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Vagabond Lodge for one night at the end of our week long Oregon vacation. The room was spacious and clean, but the view of the Columbia River and the windsurfers was fantastic. Oddly enough, the room had no clock whatsoever! There was a mini-fridge and a nice balcony to enjoy the great breeze, though. At around $90 a night it's a bit pricy, but the view was worth it. There seemed to be inexpensive motel options in and around Hood River for the traveler on a budget and the Vagabond Lodge did advertise a $49/night room on their flashing sign out front. The place is convienently located as well, just right off of I-84, but being in the back of the hotel complex we heard no highway noise. The staff was knowledgeable and friendly and I would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Archaeosteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2006

We have returned here every July during cherry season for 8 yrs. We started out in the little bungalow rooms at the front of the property, and then graduated to the river view balcony rooms in the newer section. This year, we took some elderly family members who shared one of the apt-style suites. We didn't even know they existed! They are hidden back on the property behind the office. We love the down-home feel of this place - the older rooms, friendly staff, beautiful gardens. And we also enjoy walking thru the fancy gardens next door! We recommend this place over & over again - great value for a wonderful cozy place. Not the Ritz - but then, who needs that????

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HPYKMPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews