We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely locale, super clean”
Review of Westcliff Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Westcliff Lodge
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We spent Thursday/Friday night at this motel which we learned about on a TV Show. We stayed in a suite with full kitchen, 2 bathrooms, bed in the living room and a separate bedroom. It also had a gas fireplace and a large jacuzzi tub in one of the bathrooms. A neat feature was a third bathroom sink/mirror, etc. which was great for 4 adults. We did not have a river view, as some rooms do, but our cabin was located in a quiet, peaceful setting. It was impeccably clean, provided extra blankets and pillows, and everything we needed in the kitchen. We especially enjoyed the beautifully landscaped grounds and gardens with views of the gorge (apparently this is a venue for weddings, etc). All staff were friendly and helpful. One downside: the Jacuzzi jets had broken down the day before and required significant repair which was not possible going into a weekend. We get that Jacuzzis can be temperamental and they did give us a 20% discount on room rates. The second downside was having only 3 chairs for seating at the table, but the office quickly remedied this. This wonderful family-run motel is definitely worth a visit (we'll be back!!). Did we mention it was impeccably clean???

Room Tip: Next time we will try for a river-view room with balcony/patio just because of the beautiful view, b...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank belle995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Thanks for your review! Glad you had a great time visiting us and Hood River. I'll let housekeeping know about your nice compliments; they take great care of our little place. See you next time and thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (850)
There are newer reviews for Westcliff Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

575 - 581 of 850 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2014

We had the large view room on the second floor. It was a nice room with a great view and quiet. The Columbia Gorge hotel is in walking distance to it and a great place to eat breakfast and dinner.You do hear the other people in the rooms next door but not too bad and you will hear the train go by which isn't too loud.

Room Tip: Get a view of the river and upper deck
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doggonRedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Thanks for your review! Glad you enjoyed the view and the quiet out back; sitting on the balcony is a nice spot to relax. We'll have some more out back along the cliff for guests to enjoy: we now have 2 glamping tents guests can enjoy with a room! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Vagabond is dated and could use some maintenance, but pretty good for the price and convenient location. Young man in the office was very nice, very professional; also checked the room to see if it was ready and then allowed us to check-in two hours early. The room was clean and comfortable. No fan in the bathroom and steam from the shower set off the smoke detector. There was quite a bit of road noise from the Interstate so bring your earplugs if you're a light sleeper. Sheets were clean and mattress was firm. Overall, this was a good stay and the Vagabond was worth the sub-$100 price.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doctor_Hemlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Thanks for your review! Yes, you were in our original building, opened in 1954. We'll fix that detector, thanks for letting us know about it. We do have our other buildings set back on the cliff overlooking the river, set back away from the road, that are a bit quieter. Glad we could check you in early, and thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

From the exterior, looks can be deceiving but the Vagabond Lodge is a true gem if you are staying in the Hood River area. If you get the chance, get one of the suites that has a balcony overlooking the Columbia Gorge--you will not be disappointed.

I have stayed at this location on previous locations when traveling through Oregon. I always look forward to my stay at the Vagabond Lodge.

Room Tip: The suites are the best. Also, you can get a great breakfast at the restaurant that is just west of...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank metric57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Thanks for staying with us over the years! From those River View rooms we're starting to hear about more frequent eagle fly-byes. We'll keep improving the grounds so more guests can enjoy our spot as well. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

I loved my stay. Very kind receptionist. Came in that afternoon, was able to get extra towels for swimming and woke up to a nice breakfast in the back of the hotel. They work with us to make sure we were comfortable and well taken care of. Thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marhut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Thanks for your review! We'll always do our best to take car of our guests. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

This place is perched right above the Columbia River in Hood River.

I booked here after reading positive reviews on Trip Advisor and we were very happy with our choice.

We had a top floor corner unit looking out over the river. We had a huge sitting area with fireplace and TV, queen bed nearby, and a separate bedroom with another queen bed. A huge amount of space for what we paid. Free coffee, tea and hot chocolate are available.

Everything was clean and well-maintained.

If you're disabled, be advised there are no elevators on site.

There is a beautiful hotel and grounds right next door, including a stream and waterfall. Be sure to walk next door and check it out.

Room Tip: I'd definitely go for one facing the river. Higher floors will have a better view, of course.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MontanaMike65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Thanks much for your review! Our suites do indeed offer the most space; great for families. We also have a few Suites that have full kitchens as well. While it is true we don't have elevators, most of our rooms do not require stairs. And if they do we built the stairs with a more gentle slope and wide width. We also have 6 rooms in our new building with ADA access, so more guests can enjoy our little place. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

I stayed here a year and a half ago for just one night. I enjoyed it and this time had three nights to spend in the area so stayed here again. Used it as a comfortable place to come back to each day after exploring the Historic Columbia River Highway. I enjoy staying in older motels that have been simply renovated and are well kept. This one certainly fits that criteria. I stayed in the older section up front this time. These rooms don't have the river view and there is some highway noise, but that can be taken care of by running the fan or AC during the night for white noise. I like the feel of the older motel rooms. Everything is very clean and there are nice touches with wine glasses, corkscrew, bedding, towels, and bath amenities that are a cut above the average older motel. The grounds are very beautiful and peaceful, and the back area along the river has been upgraded significantly since my last stay. There is a nice grass area and overlook of the river with seats and a picnic table. Also a short trail that runs along the bluff to the west of the motel with some great views of the river. If you are going to spend more time at your room, one of the rooms with a balcony and river view would be really nice. This is a family run business and they work hard at making you feel welcome.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Thanks for your review! The building up front is our original building, opened by my grandparents in '54. We've slowly built over the years (our newest building opened in May), and will continue taking care and making improvements as we go. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hood River hotels
0.2 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
0.2 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#5 of 8 in Hood River
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
2.2 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
336 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westcliff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westcliff Lodge

Address: 4070 Westcliff Dr, Hood River, OR 97031-8711 (Formerly Vagabond Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range: $104 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Westcliff Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Columbia River Gorge at the Gateway to the Beautiful Hood River Valley, the Westcliff Lodge is the ideal place for you to stay while exploring the area. Set on over seven acres overlooking the mighty Columbia River, on our grounds you will find a botanical wonderland including 110 foot tall pine trees and native wild flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Westcliff Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Motel Hood River
Vagabond Hotel Hood River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing