We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A keeper!”
Review of Westcliff Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Westcliff Lodge
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I have been coming to the Vagabond for almost 15 years, and am a loyal repeat customer. I mirror what others have said about the great price and amazing views--nothing super fancy, but always clean and you are well placed for Columbia Gorge sightseeing adventures. The owners are adding more units, which will be ready this coming year. The office and cleaning staff are friendly and want your stay to be a comfortable one. We will keep on coming back to stay--Thanks Vagabond!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a full view--spectacular!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thanks for your review and for visiting us so regularly! We'll keep improving things so each stay is more and more enjoyable. I'll let the girls know their work is appreciated, thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (850)
There are newer reviews for Westcliff Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

613 - 619 of 850 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

We have stayed here three times and love the serenity. The grounds are well kept and many of the rooms have great views of the Columbia River. The rooms need a little updating but are comfortable. Easy access to Hood River and nearly everything else in the Gorge.

Room Tip: The suites have a great view and plenty of room.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thanks for your review! We agree, and are updating the rooms right now. The new solid wood, local, hand-built furniture is going to start coming in this week, and we'll do more updating through winter. Hope you approve of the updates next time you visit! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Fun family-owned property--like something from an earlier era. Loved the cozy, clean room and fantastic view. Swings and toys for kids were a hit with our little ones. Pleasant staff and attractive grounds (some revamping underway, but will be even nicer next year). We've driven by this place for years and never realized how nice it is! Be sure to pick a view room if one is available, preferably upstairs. (We stayed on the ground floor, so we didn't have to worry about our excited little kids driving the other guests crazy!) Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebjo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thanks for your review! Yep, my grandparents built the first building and opened in '54, and we'll keep making improvements to share with all our guests. We're going to build a small treehouse sometime as well, after we get the other things done, so the kids will have another thing in the courtyard! Glad you had a great stay, and thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is a great little motel located on the Columbia River with spectacular views. The room itself was cleaner than any I've stayed in, including the higher end chains. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We had a lovely room with a balcony with views of the Columbia River in a peaceful, quiet woodsy setting. Such a lovely setting and truly a hidden gem!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room - you'll love it!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peanutbrutal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Thank you for your review, glad you had a great stay! We'll share your kind words with the housekeepers; they do a great job. We'll keep making things even better with more improvements. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is a little mom and pop hotel that is kept immaculate. Everything was spic and span. Had a great room with a view of the Hood River. Very quiet and peaceful with a woodsy setting watching birds in the trees and windsurfers sailing by.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thanks for your review, glad you enjoyed your stay! Our housekeepers do take great care in cleaning each room, I'll let them know to keep up the great work. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I have been spoiled by work with some pretty nice, big city hotels, and have become a little picky. This has the feel of a mom and pop motel, which totally worked for me. The rooms were not particularly fancy, but were clean and well kept. We spent an extra few bucks to get a room with a balcony...totally worth it. We didn't arrive until 1am, and the folks who live on the property kindly accommodated our very late arrival. We arrived in darkness and woke up to the most beautiful view outside our room. I would totally stay here again. BONUS...they had a dog on the property!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeamoLuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you for your review! We'll always be pet friendly; they're members of the family too. Glad you had a nice time with us, we'll have some brand new nice stuff for you to check out next time you visit us. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We rented a full room view at the back of this hotel for one night. The view of the river was beautiful, the hotel was quiet, a homey little place. They are in the middle of updating the grounds, it did not interfere with our trip, looks like the improvements will make furture lodgers expierence even more enjoyable! Be sure to enjoy a dinner and glass of wine at the White Buffalo Wine and Bistro!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catalina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thanks for your review! Yes, we are getting close to done with the grounds in back, and we'll have our new building up and running next spring! We'll have new furniture in the rooms this fall as well, once it is done being hand-built. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hood River hotels
0.2 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
0.2 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#5 of 8 in Hood River
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
2.2 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
336 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westcliff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westcliff Lodge

Address: 4070 Westcliff Dr, Hood River, OR 97031-8711 (Formerly Vagabond Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range: $104 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Westcliff Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Columbia River Gorge at the Gateway to the Beautiful Hood River Valley, the Westcliff Lodge is the ideal place for you to stay while exploring the area. Set on over seven acres overlooking the mighty Columbia River, on our grounds you will find a botanical wonderland including 110 foot tall pine trees and native wild flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Westcliff Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Motel Hood River
Vagabond Hotel Hood River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing