We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Westcliff Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Westcliff Lodge
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is what I would call a "mom and pop" motel at first glance. But, the location is spectacular, and the place has a nice feel about it. Be sure to get a river view room. Ours had a balcony overlooking the river. It was peaceful, quiet, serene, and had a rustic, outdoor charm about it. This is an older establishment and if you are used to 4 or 5 star quality inns, you might not like it. But, it was clean, roomy, and I felt safe and peaceful here. There is an interesting restaurant next door you might want to check out too.

Room Tip: Spend a few extra dollars and request a river view/balcony room.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SPKK06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thanks for your review! Yes, we have been family-owned from when my grandparents built the first rooms in 1954. We're building more rooms now and we'll keep updating things as well so each stay is better than the last. Glad you had a nice, relaxing time and thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (850)
There are newer reviews for Westcliff Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

627 - 633 of 850 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

The Trip Advisor online reviews lead me to this very wonderful family owned motel. Best value in Hood River. From the moment I stepped into the registration office I loved this place. I was greeted by the very friendly owner, Kathy & Zeke the dog who wants to meet everyone that comes in. Even the maid was super friendly. I had questions about a couple of restaurants I read about on Trip Advisor. She was very familiar w/them & said they were as good as the reviews & quickly provided a downtown map. Make sure you get a view room. Our room was quiet & clean & had a mini fridge. The view from our room & balcony overlooking the Gorge was beautiful! We were there for a family wedding & we had three rooms reserved. Everyone was very happy w/their room & view & the grounds were well kept. We had family members that stayed at the hotel next door - Columbia Gorge Hotel. They paid much more for their room that was very small & cramped & didn't have a balcony. I highly recommend this place to stay & will stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for room w/view. It looked liked the rooms up by the highway would be very noisy.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojo2trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Glad you had a great time for the wedding! And to hear that you had a great stay. We're going to be doing a bit more as well, so the next time you visit there will be more to enjoy. Yes, the rooms overlooking the river are the quietest. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We spent two nights at this highway-side motel. It's one of the least expensive accommodations in Hood River--and it's clean and has a fantastic view of the Columbia River. Our rooms did not have a view, but were close to the road, so the truck-traffic noise was irritating. (Bring earplugs!) My other main complaint is that housekeeping goes overboard with the Lysol. The room really wreaked of it. (However, the room was spick and span.) We had to leave the windows open for hours just to handle the smell.

The good stuff: the price is right, the staff was quite friendly and accommodating and the place is comfortable and modest without creepiness.

Room Tip: If you can swing a room with a view, it would probably be quieter...and a whole lot prettier.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thanks for your review! We're building a few more rooms further from the road, so they'll have a bit more quiet when they're done. The rooms overlooking the river are definitely quietest. I'll chat with the housekeeper as well about using too much cleaner to clean, thanks again for letting us know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Great price. Make sure you get a room with a view of the Columbia Gorge. I loved the wall to wall windows overlooking the Gorge with all the kite and wind surfers. The room was large and clean. A nice family place to stay. Easy access to the town of Hood Rliver, which our whole family loved. The only negative was the air conditioner was a little loud.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room with a view of the Columbia River.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tani R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Thanks for your review, glad you enjoyed all of HR! We'll check the AC unit to make sure the fan nut didn't loosen up a touch, so next time it's quieter as you like. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We love this place. You can get the same view next door at the Columbia Cliff Villas or the Columbia Gorge Hotel for somewhere in the range of $100 to $200 more (or more) per night. Your choice. The Vagabond does not pretend to be upscale, but it is comfortable, beautifully cared for, relaxed, has gorgeous grounds . . . a delightful find. Plus, you can bring your dog for a reasonable fee. We've never stayed out front where the rooms are lined up in what looks like a typical 1950s roadside motel, but when you get to the rear of the property you find something really unique. This time the only riverfront room available was a two-bedroom suite (there are only two of us!), so we booked it. What a view! What a delightful, peaceful place to stay. If you want to impress somebody (even yourself) or if you feel the need to be pretentious, go next door. If you want to relax, stay here. Bring a bottle of good wine and someone you love. Unfortunately, the Vagabond is no longer a secret, so you have to plan ahead.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djess55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thanks for your review! We'll continue to make improvements (currently on the way) so things are even more comfortable for everyone. Next door at the White Buffalo we have the best wine selection in the gorge, along with their great food! Makes for a very nice evening. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The Vagabond Lodge is located right along Freeway 84 at the entrance to Hood river town. The first impression when you come to the hotel office area is; “Wow, its noisy here”. The first row of rooms is in a building exposed directly to the freeway noise. Do not stay there.

Once you walk inside the hotel’s lush garden and beautiful trees, you will find a nicer building with better equipped rooms, AND the tranquility you are looking for. Stay there.

The room furniture is modest and clean. The rooms come with coffee makers and refrigerators. NO breakfast is offered. There are nearby restaurants, within few minutes’ drive, as well as fast food places and supermarkets to choose from.

Not having breakfast included in the room rate reduces the total value of this hotel. If this is not an issue for you, then this is a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from the freeway, in the garden area.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DovHatayar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thanks for your review! Yes, our front (original) building is closer to the road, and the rooms overlooking the river are quieter. We'll keep on minimizing any noise in all our rooms as well. New furniture is being built and stained as we speak, I'll put some pictures up when we get it and hope you like it. Sorry we don't offer a breakfast, we have so many great ones around us and in town so it's something we can't do right now. I will keep it in mind as we grow. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I started staying at the Vagabond in the 1990's when I was traveling and the last few years we visit in the summer with family and sometimes in the winter. We know the room and view we want with a balcony. I hate to even tell people what a great place this is as time goes by it's harder to get reservations. But for all of those cry babies who really don't know how to travel and who want to spend a few hundred a night - book a room at the Columbia Gorge Hotel or go to Portland and fight off the panhandlers. I hope you do. The view at the Vagabond is not matched anywhere on the Columbia, but you do have to know where to stay as they have buildings with rooms all over the beautiful facility to accommodate the full spectrum of travelers and their pocket book and lodging. Right now the wind is blowing and the sailboarders and kite surfers are out and it's beautiful place.

Room Tip: Are you on business or travel or vacation? They're are rooms for your budget.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allenjc41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thanks for your review, glad to know we keep doing a great job for you. Apologies if you have to reserve farther in advance, we're working on a new building right now that should help. We'll do a couple more things on the grounds as well so more people can enjoy the view as well. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hood River hotels
0.2 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
0.2 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#5 of 8 in Hood River
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
2.2 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
336 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westcliff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westcliff Lodge

Address: 4070 Westcliff Dr, Hood River, OR 97031-8711 (Formerly Vagabond Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range: $103 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Westcliff Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Columbia River Gorge at the Gateway to the Beautiful Hood River Valley, the Westcliff Lodge is the ideal place for you to stay while exploring the area. Set on over seven acres overlooking the mighty Columbia River, on our grounds you will find a botanical wonderland including 110 foot tall pine trees and native wild flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Westcliff Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Motel Hood River
Vagabond Hotel Hood River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing