We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel with fantastic river views”
Review of Westcliff Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Westcliff Lodge
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Motel with fantastic river views”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Old-fashioned but comfortable motel on the edge of Hood River. No food is included in the price, but the motel is inexpensive. Adequate bathrooms and WiFi in the rooms. The partial-view and full-view rooms have the most fantastic views over the river (which is dammed downstream, so at this point is as wide as a lake). Wind-surfers and para-surfers use the river every evening, and it's nice to sit outside at the picnic tables enjoying a meal or a beer while watching them.
Easy drive into the historic Hood River town centre. Mount Hood is nearby, and we recommend the Timberline Lodge for a meal (expensive but good) or a drink. There are several easy walks direct from the Lodge.
Drives along the Historic Columbia River Highway are recommended, and the motel is very conveniently situated for this (note that a couple of the bridges have small fees for crossing the river). The nearby Bonneville Dam is extremely interesting and does guided tours. There is also a fish hatchery there, and underwater viewing of the salmon and lampreys migrating upstream using the salmon ladders.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with partial-view or full-view of the river. The other rooms are too close to the Int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jldawson45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thanks for your review, we're going to do some more updating as time goes by to make things even more comfortable. We have never had in-house food service because there is a collection of restaurants next door, from basic to fine dining (something for whatever mood a person may be in). Plus with the variety of places to eat in town, we'll just focus on doing the hotel thing. If ever there's a question on where to eat, we'll help find the best restaurants around. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    265
    67
    16
    10
See reviews for
221
335
50
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stanwood, WA
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We needed a weekend getaway from a lot of medical issues we were dealing with and found this lodge thru a Groupon advertisement. It was within driving distance of our home so we thought we'd give it a try. What a gem! It is located right on the river in a quiet area of Hood River. It has that old world charm that Hood River is known for as well as all the new age immenities you would expect at a top line hotel. The large rooms were very spacious but our favorites were the suites. Well worth the few extra $$$'s for an 180 degree view of the river. All the rooms have been updated with new carpet, showers, furniture and bedding. Our room keeper, Pam, was very polite and so helpful when we asked for a little extra service for our stay. The check-in desk ladies were also some of the best we've encounted in many years of traveling. Helpful with ideas for local activities as well as compassionate about our situation. Sadly, we had to leave early in our stay but we made a pact that once all is well once again, this will be our first trip we take to finish what we started. Thank you for a wonderful little getaway! It was just the boost we needed!

Room Tip: The suites are awesome. The large rooms have a nice view but the suites have wall to wall windows an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyn2lo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thanks for your review! Glad we could be a restful reprieve (even briefly) from everything that goes on in life. Whenever you do decide to visit again, call our office and we'll do our best to reserve the same room, or another if you like! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The lodge was good, rooms were clean and had everything we needed. We booked far enough in advance to make sure we were in a room with a river view and small balcony, it made a huge difference. There was a nice cocktail table and tall chairs in our rooms so we could stay inside and still see the river or sit on the small balcony. The staff was very helpful, and the lodge is just a short drive into Hood River city center. We used cabs on the nights we had some wine and they were also reasonable and didn't take very long. Very good value for couples or families looking to explore what the area has to offer. Close drive to the fruit loop, and the waterfalls within the parks.

Room Tip: We stayed on the backside on the second floor of the lodge, so had a great view of the river and not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoraMango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thanks for your review! It's always advisable to plan ahead to reserve your choice of room. We're going to do some work to make those views even better too! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Groupon ... and who doesn't love Groupons? ... had a special deal at the Vagabond Lodge in Hood River. I had researched it on Trip Advisor ... and who doesn't love Trip Advisor? ... and it sounded great. It totally was! Doesn't look like much from the road, doesn't even look like much when you first drive in BUT it is a super friendly, super great place! Our room, which hung over the river and allowed us to watch all the wind surfers from our windows and deck, was super clean and super comfy. A little out of date (a paint job and new duvet cover and desk chair and it would be way more up to date!) but nevertheless it was great! They are totally into customer service and it shows! I had a request our first night for two wine glasses which were supplied, no problem, next morning when they cleaned our room there were two clean wine glasses. It is the little things that make a difference. If you are going to Hood River, forget paying the big bucks for the "cool places" and stay in the place that makes you feel appreciated!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the river front in one of the back buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geminigemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thanks for your review, glad you had a great time! From the road people only see the original building; everything in back is indeed hidden. Thanks for the feedback on the paint and desk chair, we repaint rooms each winter and are upgrading furniture as we can. We believe you should have all the basics of what you may need for your stay, like wine glasses for example! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Feather Lakes, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We want to say we certainly enjoyed our two night stay at the Vagabond. The front desk staff was so friendly and they were very helpful with local information. Our room was very large and we had a wonderful view from our balcony of the river. The price is certainly will worth the price of the room.

Room Tip: Room 62 was a large room with two queen beds and a balcony and view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thanks for your review! Glad we could help you enjoy Hood River with the local info; I've found that's the best kind of info when traveling. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAINES
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Spent 2 nights with our Great Pyrenees and 2 Aussies
Accommodations were clean, quiet,along with the best views to be seen!
All the dogs appreciated the spacious rooms, the great outdoors, and the friendliness of the staff.
We appreciated the comfort and relaxed with our dogs.
An added plus was the good food located right next door at the White Buffalo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reindog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thanks, glad all had a great time. We'll have a bit more outdoor space shortly, after we finish up our landscaping and plant more grass, so there will be more areas for everyone (including dogs) to enjoy the view or bird watch. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is my third summer spending time at the Vagabond Lodge and each
year they make improvements. The rooms are spacious and have large bathrooms. The rooms have been recently updated w/ new carpet and furniture. The staff is SO friendly and quite humorous...
I strongly recommend requesting a riverfront room. They are worth a few
extra bucks....enjoy the Columia River Gorge and the Kiteboarders.
This is a great find....

Room Tip: If you stay in the three story section on the riverfront, request a room on the top floor. It gives...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmduder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thanks for your review, glad you had a great time. We'll keep on making improvements and upgrading things, so there will be something new for you each year! Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hood River hotels
0.2 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
0.2 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#5 of 8 in Hood River
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
2.2 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
326 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westcliff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westcliff Lodge

Property: Westcliff Lodge
Address: 4070 Westcliff Dr, Hood River, OR 97031-8711 (Formerly Vagabond Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Westcliff Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Columbia River Gorge at the Gateway to the Beautiful Hood River Valley, the Westcliff Lodge is the ideal place for you to stay while exploring the area. Set on over seven acres overlooking the mighty Columbia River, on our grounds you will find a botanical wonderland including 110 foot tall pine trees and native wild flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Westcliff Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Motel Hood River
Vagabond Hotel Hood River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing