We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice hotel right on the Columbia River”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Westcliff Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Westcliff Lodge
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
rdwarriorcal
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A nice hotel right on the Columbia River”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

The Vagabond is approximately one mile out of Hood River, across the freeway and right on the Columbia River. We opted for a view room on the third level, facing the Columbia River and Washington State. In general our room was pretty nice. I'd call it a slightly lower-end 3*, but definitely not a 2*. Unfortunately, the internet did not work, and the front desk said that this was the third internet provider they have tried. Perhaps this is excusable. Here are two thing that would raise my *** rating:
- In-room coffee: no brewer or mugs for coffee or tea, even if you had brought your own (We did and used the microwave to heat the water.)
- A clock. We had to rely on our mobile phone and computer to know what time it was.

But the setting is beautiful, the buildings are well maintained, and the front desk staff is nice. I'd recommend this hotel for those staying in Hood River.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank rdwarriorcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Thanks for your review, we always like the feedback. Apologies the WiFi wasn't working, guests should be able to connect to a strong connection and be online without a problem. Having a connectivity problem due to any of our hardware (access points) is unaaceptable to us and we'll be fixing that. We do have coffee makers available at the office for free along with mugs, coffee, or cocoa; I'll put something together so that info is more available. We haven't had them in rooms because they had been "borrowed without asking" in the past. I will be getting clock / alarms to have in the rooms as well. Thanks for the suggestions! Glad you enjoyed your room and the grounds, give us a call or stop by anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    237
    60
    12
    8
See reviews for
175
288
47
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

A wonderful assortment of spacious rooms with options ranging from gorge views to cottages, vintage to modern. Excellent value complete with a helpful staff and pleasant grounds. The cottage was clean and the kichen was larger than expected with a terrific set of pans. After seeing the facilites, we chose a two night stay instead of one and weren't disappointed.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Thanks for your review! We'll keep on upgrading things so the next time you stay with us there will be something new we hope you like (glad you like the cooking pans). Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

We decided to splurge and stay here 2 nights and I think it was well worth it. We stayed in room 50(second floor but ground level so no climbing stairs) which had 1 bedroom with a queen bed and a large living area with another queen bed and a queen fold out couch. The beds were quite comfortable, although my teenage daughter had the fold out couch and she didn't like it, so we folded it back up and she slept on it that way. She said it was much better. The view was excellent of the Colombia River. The staff was extremely nice and very helpful in recommending places to eat. We loved the hot apple cider available in the rooms and the landscaping of the entire property was just beautiful with all the flowers in bloom. The only drawback was the wifi was still out, although it was working in the office, so if you really had to play games on facebook, you could go down there with your laptop. I would definitely go back for an extended stay. We chose this location specifically for the views of the river and the extra room despite some of the previous reviews we read. (There was no smell and no critters in the room). We budgeted about $100 a night for hotels on our trip, and this was definitely worth the extra $28 a night.

Room Tip: room 50 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bpavlicek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
Thanks for your kind words, all of the staff will be glad you enjoyed your stay. We'll be planting more wildflowers this fall, so next spring the grounds will be even better. I'll look into that sleeper sofa mattress your daughter didn't like to make it better (I'm guessing she would like increased softness?) The wifi hardware is now installed and everyone should be able to get online; if we need to tweak or rework anything we of course will. If you decide to come back for an extended stay please do call well ahead so we can make sure we can reserve whatever room you would like for the entire length of your stay! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

After many comfortable inns & business motels it was a nice change to get back to basics with something a little different & unique.

Looking out from the rear deck into the trees of a late afternoon, It was like we had finally made it into river country. The sounds of the wind through the trees were a great change from other hotels on our road trip.

Very friendly and resourceful staff at the desk who are happy to talk to you for quite some time if you're interested in exploring the area & looking for trails.,

Montonoma falls is well worth the climb to the top & beyond.

Would happily return here.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mattyd007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
Thanks much for your review, glad you enjoyed your stay. We do indeed strive to be a more unique, "non-box"place that all our guests can enjoy. We'll keep on working to make your visits more and more comfortable when you do make it back our direction. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2011

We enjoyed our stay here very much. The hotel is well used but the room was clean and the beds comfy. We missed a coffee maker in our room. We used the microwave and heated up some water in a glass. Noise from plumbing in the early hours was a bit disconcerting. We would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torrs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review, June 13, 2011
Thanks for reviewing! We do have coffee makers available (free) at the office, and we do have free fresh coffee available (and spiced cider, cocoa, and tea) available in the office until we put coffee makers in all of our rooms. Glad you had a nice stay and we'll keep on working to make sure each stay keeps getting better. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

Very clean and comfortable, but no extras here. That was just fine with us, since we had a room with a balcony overlooking the Columbia River Gorge. Foregoing the coffee-maker and internet access was a small price to pay for the incredible view. The staff was friendly and helpful. I rated the sleep quality only four stars; I didn't sleep all that well, but I can't be sure it wasn't due to overeating at an excellent meal in Hood River... Would definitely go back, and get a suite with fireplace next time!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caminocielo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review, June 6, 2011
Thanks for your feedback! We are fixing/upgrading our free wifi right now, so the next time you stay with us it shold be ready to go with a good strong signal. If you decide your discomfort sleeping was our bed and not the meal, please let us know! We also have free coffee makers we put in rooms if requested; I'll work on making sure that info is more available. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2011

This is a great location if you want to stay right on the river. Also directly next to the White Buffalo Wine Bar & Bistro so you can walk to your room after trying all the Oregon and Washington wines. Also next door to a fancy resort which costs 2xs the price for the same view. Short drive to some great trailheads for hiking the Columbia Gorge. We hiked Eagle Creek and Rewena Crest for two totally different environments. Also drove the "Fruit Loop" in Hood River. Note I couldn't get a strong enough internet signal unless I keep the front door open. - But was not there to use computer

Room Tip: ask for Large View Room on 2nd / 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WindyCityTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review, May 25, 2011
Thanks much! We do enjoy helping our guests experience all of the good stuff there is in and around Hood River, much of it not easily found! We are upgrading our wifi in the next coupld weeks, so you shouldn't have any problem getting a good wifi signal next time you stay. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hood River hotels
0.2 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
0.2 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Hood River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
2.2 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westcliff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westcliff Lodge

Property: Westcliff Lodge
Address: 4070 Westcliff Dr, Hood River, OR 97031-8711 (Formerly Vagabond Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Westcliff Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Columbia River Gorge at the Gateway to the Beautiful Hood River Valley, the Westcliff Lodge is the ideal place for you to stay while exploring the area. Set on over seven acres overlooking the mighty Columbia River, on our grounds you will find a botanical wonderland including 110 foot tall pine trees and native wild flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Westcliff Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Motel Hood River
Vagabond Hotel Hood River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing