We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most beautiful, romantic hotel in Hood River” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
camas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Most beautiful, romantic hotel in Hood River”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

On the recommendation of Aspen Limo Tours, we stayed at Columbia Cliffs Villa Hotel after a day of wine tasting in the Columbia River Gorge. The Villas are more like a private retreat than a hotel. The elegance of the room is apparant in all the custom touches, the wrought iron gas fireplace, walk in shower and ultra high end linens and bed made the experience a favorite. Our room had a balcony opening to the Columbia River which we enjoyed immensely. Waking up to that view was incredible. You will not be disappointed in this property, a perfect romantic getaway for upcoming Valentines Day!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amyruge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear amyruge1,
Thank you for sharing your experience. Hope to see you again over the extended Valentines weekend. Speaking of extended...due to high demand over Valentines weekend, Columbia Cliff Villas will be featuring our Valentines Specials for the entire month of February. Please visit our website for details.
Happy Valentines!
Steve Tessmer, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    78
    37
    18
    0
See reviews for
75
249
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

There are some mixed reviews on the Villas and hopefully I can provide some clarity. I think if you are staying in a single room without a view, it might be a little disappointing and small, so I would be sure to discuss your accommodations when making the reservations if you are getting a single room. If you get one of the suites (comes with laundry, kitchen, FP) you will NOT be disappointed. Fireplaces in the living room and the spacious master which also has a big soaking tub. There is a huge kitchen table with beautiful furnishings and the best views in Hood River. This is a perfect place for a HM, or a family getaway. We went for New Years one year with the kids and went up to the mountain for night skiing. We goofed up our dates recently and Annette and Tracey were very helpful and accommodating when it was really our error. I would definitely recommend this spot for a romantic weekend, family weekend or a girls getaway.

Room Tip: We always get the River sweet closest to the Columbia Gorge and it is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear K B,
We greatly appreciate a return guest taking time to share your insights. Once you have experienced our breathtaking view accommodations, choosing from our wide variety of rooms and suites is much easier. I should point out that most of our guests who select our smaller, non-view "Euro" rooms still enjoy many of the same high-quality amenities and comfort. Euor rooms were designed to provide a competitively-priced alternative for the many outdoor enthusiasts who frequent the Gorge, just seeking a really comfortable bed at the end of their adventure or culinary outing. First time visitors are encouraged to call or visit our website for accurate descriptions, pictures and floor plans, as well as best available rates, for each of our offerings. Unfortunately, many online travel sites do not provide this information, which can be disappointing.
Thanks and hope to see you again soon.
Steve Tessmer, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

We organized a week-long family reunion over holiday. Could not have been more perfect. Setting on the gorge, surrounded by beauty, the design of this place is genius. Big, open living/dining/kitchen is ideal for gathering, allowing all to be together, comfortably, cooking, eating, dining, games and football on TV. Would also be excellent for retreat or conference. Easy access to town, excellent shopping and dining, and wineries.
Spacious, light-filled rooms - each with own bath- allow luxurious private space- all with incredible views. Fireplaces in every room make it elegant and cozy.
Service was impeccable- easy check in with clear instruction to make it feel like your home away from home.

Room Tip: Full views over the gorge are fantastic. Partial views are also excellent, offering views of the go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyfromMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenatchee, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Family trip for thanksgiving, large, comfortable rooms, great views and a great time. I would highly recommend staying here and enjoying this hotel and town. We loved every minute! This is a second family trip and it was so nice for all to be able to stay together and have the space and not feel crowed. It felt like going home at the end o

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Booked this room for my husband and I. Thank goodness it was only for one short night. The room was small, the word suite should not be used for it. Only one window that looked out over the outdoor hallway and parking lot. Other guest walking by could be heard very easily inside the room as well as the guest walking around above us. Not a restful night. The room was clean and nicely decorated.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is at least a 2 room that faces the river. Top floor might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DebbM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear DebbM2013,
Thanks for staying with us. Our standard Euro rooms were designed with just one bed to provide an economical, clean, comfortable and well appointed alternative for guests who prefer to spend their Gorge time enjoying all the outdoor adventures, restaurants, wineries, and brew pubs. Our website provides details, pictures and floor plans of several larger room options and amenities that you might find more suitable for your next visit. All our rooms and suites were built with extensive soundproofing that surpasses standards for most hotels. We hope to see you again soon.
Happy travels,
Steve Tessmer, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, texas
Level Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We could not have picked a better hotel for our stay in Hood River. We listened to the other reviews and booked a river room. It was well worth it. The views were beautiful and worth every penny, wonder full to wake up and see. The bathroom was great and the shower huge. The staff was friendly and the room clean. This was a great place for all of our outings in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmc2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Imc2003,
We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and greatly appreciate your posting. Hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Steve Tessmer, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
203 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

No question the view from the riverfront villas is spectacular. The room itself is small but nicely appointed with a comfortable king size bed, quality sheets, towels and robes. The large shower was wonderful. The deck overlooking the river was barley big enough for the two of us to stand - no chairs would fit. Yes, there's a train that runs almost underneath the hotel but you hardly notice it. The staff was delightful and willing to go out of their way to make our stay pleasant. But really, the riverfront rooms are way over-priced at over $250 a night. Wish I had found a Groupon.

Room Tip: Try to bargain for a lower rate but if you can't stay in the riverview rooms find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nuwildcat65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear nuwildcat65,
Thanks for all the compliments on your accommodations. I wish we could offer a room with like that for $150 but we do have several options in that price range throughout the winter and offer discounted Mt. Hood Meadows lift tickets and complimentary wine tastings to our guests. We also have several room options with large balconies and decks overlooking the river. TA readers should check the Accommodations page of our website for details, pictures and floor plans of our wide variety of rooms and suites.
Happy travels,
Steve Tessmer, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hood River
0.1 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Hood River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
17.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn
13.1 mi away
The Lyle Hotel
The Lyle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lyle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel

Property: Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
Address: 3880 Westcliff Drive, PO Box 887, Hood River, OR 97031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wide variety of price points, from luxurious 1-3BR suites to charming Euro-style rooms, all furnished with robes, premium bedding and amenities. Most options offer breathtaking views of Columbia River Gorge from this cliff-edge settting 220' directly above world-famous windsuring sites. Stroll a short garden path to top of year-around waterfall to enjoy indoor & outdoor, fine and casual dining at adjacent restaurants or venture just one mile to take in the charm of downtown Hood River's boutique shopping, great restaurants, interesting wineries and brew pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Cliff Hood River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing