We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Corporate Executive Team Building Meeting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Corporate Executive Team Building Meeting”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

For the second consecutive year Columbia Cliffs Villas has provided the perfect setting for our company leadership group strategy meeting. The Penthouse is a beautifully furnished, welcoming space for "around the table" meetings, and has ample room for easels, projector screens, etc. The view of the gorge is spectacular. All the guest rooms are spacious, comfortable and well appointed. I could not have asked for better service from Tracy and the staff at Columbia Cliffs Villas, and I look forward to working with them on our next event!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy0430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Kathy0430,
Thanks for holding another leadership strategy retreat at CCV and especially for taking time to post your flattering review. Tracy’s team consistently does an outstanding job of helping event planners bring all the pieces together to provide an inspiring venue for memorable meetings. From dining and catering to spouse tours, transportation, and team building activities, they have all the contacts to simplify the process and assure maximum productivity and enjoyment. You might also be interested to know that we have recently added to our furnishings inventory, which will allow even more flexibility for meeting set ups. Whether you need board room, classroom, dining or just comfortable soft seating around the fireplace, we are now equipped to do just about any configuration in any of our seven meeting suites. We look forward to your next event.
Sincerely,
Steve Tessmer, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    85
    40
    20
    1
See reviews for
91
280
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The Columbia Cliff Villas are a combination timeshare/hotel by the night rental feature. I am not sure they have the best business model, i.e. are they a timeshare or a hotel? But I guess they do whatever it takes to keep the cash flow going. For example, upon check-in, we had to pay for all 5 nights up front. Traditionally, you have given the first night's payment to guarantee the reservation, and then pay the rest upon departure. But not here. They wanted their money ALL upfront. Not sure what would happen upon an early departure. Rates for the Columbia front rooms are about $250.00/night. The bed we had was a very comfortable king facing a set of French doors that looked north to the Washington side of the Columbia River. The view is to die for given the continuous wind, beautiful mountains and the hundreds of kite and sail surfers out practicing their sport on the river. Boats occasionally pass by, so lots of activities are there to watch.

The room was air conditioned and large. A gas fireplace was also at the ready depending on the time of year. Good internet connection and all the bathroom amenities. The shower was a walk-in with two shower heads. The downside was the closet which was poorly designed. The door opened to the drawers, but all the hanging clothes had to be placed behind the front wall. The was no reason the door to the closet couldn't have been more centered. The service staff are very good about clean-up and not coming too early. Parking can be a problem, so you may have to walk a distance to get to your villa.

Adjacent to this property is the Columbia Gorge Hotel which is a historic landmarks, but we were told the rooms are small and of the old world. However, that is the closest and best place for breakfast.

Across the freeway is the town of Hood River which is very charming and beautiful shops as well as many eateries. Hood River also abounds with numerous wineries and wine tasting opportunities. Also, in Hood River is the Mount Hood Railroad that is a 5 hour excursion up the hill towards Mount Hood. I will write about this later, but am told it is a fun time.

So in summary the Columbia Cliff Villas are worth the money for the views, the room comfort (despite the closet and parking). Personally, I am more into the ocean sites, but for a river view, this was a nice change. Could be a great place for a honeymoon as well.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for the Columbia River front rooms as a number of villas don't face the Columbia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cliffwalters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear cliffwalters,
Thank you for staying with us, your positive comments and for your thorough review. To clarify, we are not a time-share but we do have a very unique lodging facility. As you can see from our website, we offer a wide variety of rooms and suites for nightly rental. Some of these rooms and suites are privately owned condominiums that can be adjoined for friends and families, or locked off for complete privacy. You stayed in one of these lock-out guest rooms, where the closet was configured to provide both drawers and hanging space, adequate for short stays. We hope you will return for a longer visit next time and maybe bring friends to share the larger adjoining suite, which includes a walk-in closet in the master and a fully equipped gourmet kitchen off the great room. I should also note that even though not all parking spaces are adjacent to every room, we do have adequate free parking closer than many hotels. The adjacent historic Columbia Gorge Hotel and Spa is within easy walking distance and also provides fine and casual, indoor and outdoor dining for lunch, dinner and happy hour, as well as great breakfasts, overlooking the waterfall and Columbia River Gorge.
Happy travels,
Steve Tessmer, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
117 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed in the Penthouse Suite. The view of the Columbia river is amazing when you walk into the room. It is well worth the money to stay here. It is very comfortable and luxurious room. The furnishings are very well done. We especially enjoyed sitting on the balcony with a drink and watching the scenery and the kite boarders on the river. It is a very convenient location with each access to restaurants in hood river and the outdoor activities along the Columbia river. The Columbia Gorge Hotel next door has a good breakfast also.

Room Tip: Get a good view of the River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear John L,
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. We look forward to your next visit.
Happy travels,
Steve Tessmer, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed at CCV for our honeymoon in one of the Carriage Houses. The friendly, helpful staff helped us securing the best rate and even booking some recreational activities for us. The one-room suite was stayed in was impeccably decorated and maintained- we did not want to leave! Very comfortable, and struck the right balance of cozy and spacious for the two of us. The river views are lovely and we enjoyed walking the grounds around the hotel with our morning coffee. Before arriving I had some concerns about the property being too far from downtown Hood River, but it was a very easy 5 minute drive away. I'd highly recommend staying at CCV.

Room Tip: The bedrooms of the Carriage House do face the highway however we hardly noticed the noise and slept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Kate M,
Congratulations on your recent marriage and thanks for sharing your honeymoon experience. We are honored to have played a part in the memorable event and hope to see you return for many happy anniversaries in the years to come.
Best wishes,
Steve Tessmer, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights while hiking in the Columbia Gorge. It was the perfect place for us. Modern amenities, including a full length mirror, (wife told me to include cotton balls, q-tips and make up remover wipes for all you ladies out there), Aveda products as well. We stayed in the Euro King and for us is was very comfortable and plenty of room for our luggage and my camera gear. Parking on site and the views were incredible. Right next door to the historic Columbia Gorge Hotel. Even your own waterfall. If you are a light sleeper, you may want to request a room not facing the highway.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rtsunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear rtsunset,
So glad to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your stay in our Euro King. These basic rooms were designed to provide an economical alternative for the many discerning outdoor enthusiasts who frequent the Gorge and just need a comfortable, well-appointed place to rest between activities. We hope to see you again soon and might suggest that you consider bringing friends or family to share the experience one of our larger multi-room suites. Each private bedroom has its own bath and separate entry but can also be adjoined so everyone can share the private balcony, breathtaking views, spacious living area and gourmet kitchen. I’m certain you will it well worth the extra cost, which can be minimal when shared with your traveling companions. You can find details, pictures and floor plans on our website. Thanks for your visiting and sharing your positive experience with TA.
Happy travels,
Steve Tessmer, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cool Place, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were happily greeted by a very warm and pleasant young woman who showed us to our room. Immediately upon entering our room we knew this was going to be a wonderfully romantic and comfy stay; and we were not disappointed. Our room had a partial—but very open—view of the stunning Columbia River. The room is a European King (or large studio) with a very comfortable King bed, two night stands and a leather foot locker at the end of the bed. Two lovely leather arm chairs and a table are located in a little nook by a window. The fully equipped studio-kitchen is more than adequate, with stove, small fridge and plenty of counter space. The bath is lovely, with luscious linens and Aveda complimentary toiletries. The room decor reflects the mood of an upscale forest villa, and is both inviting and unobtrusive. Outdoors there are two sitting areas near the rivers' edge where one can sip wine, visit with one another, and simply stare out over the luscious water and the coastline of southern Washington State. We enjoyed ourselves so much that we asked the management if we could stay another night. Luckily! the room was not booked for the next evening and we felt charmed. We highly recommend the Columbia Cliff Villas!

Room Tip: Choose a European King with view or partial view of the Columbia River!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank santacatalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear santacatalina,
We are delighted to hear that your short time with us was so perfect and look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you so much for sharing your experience. Just to clarify for TA readers and your future reference, you stayed in a Euro King "Suite". Our Euro King "Room" offers a less-expensive alternative for active travelers and shorter stays but those rooms are located on the back side of the building, without the views and some of the amenities you mentioned. Because we offer such a wide variety of rooms and suites, our property can be confusing to book online. Please refer to our website for most complete information, pictures and floor plans of each room type and call our helpful concierge & reservations team for details and to arrange activities, etc..
Happy travels,
Steve Tessmer, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
89 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night in August in a euro s queen room. The room was beautifully appointed, but so tiny! It was a shame as the bed was great, nice flat screen tv, beautiful bathroom with high end products, bathrobes, coffee machine, but you could barely walk around the room. I know this was a bedroom off of a larger unit, so if $ is not a concern, I would definitely splurge for a suite. We did have a nice little sitting area outside the room with views of the river. The hotel has no pool, restaurant, gym, etc. You should know that before reserving. It is just a cluster of rooms perched on the Cliffside overlooking the Columbia river. It is also remotely located along the interstate. We could just barely hear the highway in the middle building. You have to drive about 5-7 mins to get into downtown Hood River with restaurants, shops, etc. Not sure if I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Jnewshel,
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your candid comments about the Euro S room. As you noted, our Euro rooms were designed to capture the charm and style of many high-quality European boutique hotels. Smaller rooms with just one king or queen bed allow us to provide a less-expensive but nicely appointed alternative for many active Gorge visitors who spend most of their time enjoying the plethora of outdoor recreation, scenery and nightlife. Our 24-hour concierge & reservations desk always recommends our more spacious suites for guests on extended stays or requiring more space. It’s great to have alternatives!
I also wanted you and other TA readers to know that there is a short path through a beautiful garden and over the top of 208’ waterfall that connects us to Simon’s Cliff House restaurant in the historic hotel building, right next door. Breakfast, lunch, dinner and happy hour are served both indoor and outside on veranda that overlooks the waterfall and Columbia River. For guests who prefer to venture a bit further, there is a shortcut back into downtown that would have cut your travel time in half. Downtown is just 1.5 miles and offers many great restaurants, brew pubs, wine bars and shops. Many of our guests also enjoy free access to a new fully-equipped gym, just a few blocks from us. We hope you will return or visit our website to discover more of what Hood River and Columbia Cliff Villas has to offer.
Happy travels,
Steve Tessmer, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hood River
0.1 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Hood River
701 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
324 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
189 reviews
17.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel

Property: Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
Address: 3880 Westcliff Dr, PO Box 887, Hood River, OR 97031-8710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wide variety of price points, from luxurious 1-3BR suites to charming Euro-style rooms, all furnished with robes, premium bedding and amenities. Most options offer breathtaking views of Columbia River Gorge from this cliff-edge settting 220' directly above world-famous windsuring sites. Stroll a short garden path to top of year-around waterfall to enjoy indoor & outdoor, fine and casual dining at adjacent restaurants or venture just one mile to take in the charm of downtown Hood River's boutique shopping, great restaurants, interesting wineries and brew pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Cliff Hood River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing