We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location, Spacious Suite, Incredible View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I booked a last minute trip here and was blown away with the suite we received for the value. The entire suite (very large) was looking out over the river. The kitchen was designed and the furniture was clean and comfortable. Right next door to a great wine shop and the Columbia Gorge Hotel. Will definitely come back and stay longer.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmySpencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Thanks AmySpencer!
Our entire staff thrives on providing positive experiences like yours. Hope to see you again soon.
Happy Travels,
Steve Tessmer, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (516)
There are newer reviews for Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

414 - 420 of 516 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

I booked a last-minute weekend getaway to Hood River, and the Columbia Cliff Villas were one of the few places available. The price was very high, but I figured that was par for the course for a last-minute booking. I was pretty disappointed when I arrived to find a 12x12 closet for a room! I was placed in a "carriage house" room that obviously serves as an extra bedroom/bath for an adjacent condo. The unit was on the freeway side of the complex, with nary a view of the river and gorge.
The room was well-appointed, nice finishes, Keurig coffeemaker, beautiful bathroom with Aveda products--all high end. But it was very small and not in line with the CCVilla's advertising. Thankfully, the high-end windows insulated most of the highway noise.
Also, the walls are pretty thin, so I got to enjoy, shout for shout, obscenity for obscenity, a big fight by the couple next door--and later, the amourous make-up session).
I might return to CCV in the future, but I would book early, try for a better rate, and confirm in person which room I'd be assigned. On the positive side, the staff was outstanding and very helpful.

Room Tip: Avoid a room on the freeway side of the complex!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rldavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear rldavis,
Thanks for your positive comments about our clean and well-appointed rooms and outstanding staff. As you can see from most of our other reviews, we do strive for perfection and were very disappointed to hear about your disappointments. After investigating your comments, we discovered that your reservation (from an online travel agent) was booked for one of our smaller and less-expensive Euro King lock-out rooms – not a Carriage House. While OTAs sometimes offer attractive last-minute prices, unfortunately, it is not uncommon for us to find errors in OTA reservations and inaccuracies provided to our guests. Savvy travelers will always find the most complete and accurate information about our wide variety of rooms and suites, as well as best available prices and special packages, on our Columbia Cliff Villas website. My guess is that if you had booked directly, you could have avoided your disappointments. Unfortunately for us, many TA readers will see your 3 out 5 rating (which is way below our norm) and choose another hotel, rather than experience one of our many offerings that would meet all their expectations; I’m sure that was not your intention. We hope you will agree and book directly with us in the future and consider amending or deleting your posting accordingly.
Thank you,
Steve Tessmer, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My husband and I booked a courtyard room based on the floorplan on the webpage - private veranda with chairs over looking a courtyard, with the Columbia River beyond. The veranda was actually a hallway, with a room beyond ours so not private at all and certainly not suitable for sitting and looking at the view. Even if it had been private, the river was too far away to even see. There was no elevator (which was significant as we were on the 3rd floor), no lobby, no ice in the room, and no phone in the room. When we requested a receipt upon departure the girl said she didn't know how to do that, just use our credit card receipt. The bedding was nice, as well the bathroom, but over priced and misrepresented. This appears to be a condo project, not a hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank JenSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear JenSeattle,
As I had responded to your husband previously, Columbia Cliff Villas offers a wide variety of rooms and suites, several of which would have met or exceeded all your expectations. Unfortunately, we had limited availability for your travel dates - so you and your husband chose our Grand Courtyard room. Unlike most of our rooms - which ARE served by elevator - this room requires stair access, as stated on our website. Our lobby offers limited seating but we do have several spectacular outdoor seating areas overlooking the river, including the shared 10’ x 24’ veranda located just outside your room (see picture on our website). According to our records, our friendly staff cheerfully delivered your bags, offered a toll-free hard-wired phone and twice delivered extra ice to your room. As stated on our website and entry sign, we are indeed a luxury condominium/hotel and offer personal service 24/7. There are absolutely no misrepresentations on our website and TA readers will note that most of our visitors have attested to the exceptional service and value we provide.
Sincerely,
Steve Tessmer, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

My husband stayed there in a king sized suite and loved it. The view was fantastic and the service was exceptional. We had a very cozy room and very quiet. We will definitely return. It is in a great location to town where we did lots of shopping. Everyone was quite friendly and made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mldotr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear Mldotr,
We were so glad to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon. Watch our website for off-season specials.
Thanks,
Steve Tessmer, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Booked for 2 nights and got a 3rd night free--fantastic.
Staff very helpful and pleasant--nice atmosphere. We had a wonderful room with a view over the river. There was a small kitchen area , which we found very useful.
There are chairs in the grounds you can sit and watch the river flow past , with a glass of wine , in the sunshine--bliss. There were numerous birds and animals to watch--we really relaxed--it is in a beautiful situation.
The room appeared to be new--the bed was extremely comfy , and the towels where fluffy and new.
This hotel is very well placed for the motorway--but you have to drive into town for a choice of restaurants--there is only one near by.

Room Tip: Pay extra and have a room overlooking the river. They have lovely views and you do not get the noise...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxandrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear maxandrosie,
Thanks for your great review. Our entire staff is delighted that you enjoyed your 3-night stay. By the way, that offer is extended through winter and spring. You can find details on our website.
Happy travels,
Steve Tessmer, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had originally booked a river view room, but when we arrived, they offered us the adjoining Villa Suite instead for an additional fee, and we decided to go for it. It was easily the most elegant, spacious, decadent room… er, rooms… that we’ve ever stayed in. The suite has a living room, kitchen (completely outfitted), laundry room, dining room for 8 with a corner view of the river, master bedroom and bath, and an extra half-bath just for the heck of it. The patio, completely private, overlooks the river and has a glass balcony. There are three closets, four if you count the pantry in the kitchen. Heck, the master bath alone needs 5 light switches, and that’s not including the different light settings on the make-up mirror. Plus everything looks brand new and very high end. My only difficulty with the suite was in convincing my husband to leave it each morning to go hiking, because he would have been happy to sit out on the patio all day instead.

For the record, we also got a quick peek at the river view room and it was very elegant as well, just on a smaller scale. But if you ever get a chance to upgrade to a suite, take it!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank travelerfromsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear travelerfromsj,
Thank you for your wonderful review. There is no doubt that our large suites are over-the-top. Many of our guests miss out on these options when they book reservations with an online travel site that may not offer them. Savvy TA readers will find lots of information, pictures and floor plans of all our offerings on our website and our reservation staff is always available to answer questions and coordinate special arrangements. When we have one of these special suites available at check in time, we love to show them off and make them available, especially to multi-night guests who will have time to enjoy all of it. There is never any pressure to upgrade but we are all about creating memorable experiences and return customers. Sounds like you will be one of them and we look forward to your return.
So, the tip to TA travelers here is - don’t hesitate to ask about last-minute upgrade options that might be open when you check in.
Happy travels,
Steve Tessmer, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights and were impressed with everything overall. The room was huge and very nice, and the bathroom was simply stunning. The staff were fantastic and assisted us greatly when we had a problem with our rental car. Location wise - it was close to the town of Hood River.

Overall we were delighted with experience and would gladly return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenny_traveller76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear jenny_traveler76,
Thank your for posting your great review. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your suite and our dedicated staff. Our guests appreciate our convenient Hood River location, right on the edge of the cliff overlooking the Gorge but close to the our charming downtown area. We appreciate your patronage and hope you will return to see us next time you visit the US.
Happy travels,
Steve Tessmer, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hood River
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
0.1 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#5 of 8 in Hood River
770 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
335 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
197 reviews
17.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel

Address: 3880 Westcliff Dr, PO Box 887, Hood River, OR 97031-8710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range: $167 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wide variety of price points, from luxurious 1-3BR suites to charming Euro-style rooms, all furnished with robes, premium bedding and amenities. Most options offer breathtaking views of Columbia River Gorge from this cliff-edge settting 220' directly above world-famous windsuring sites. Stroll a short garden path to top of year-around waterfall to enjoy indoor & outdoor, fine and casual dining at adjacent restaurants or venture just one mile to take in the charm of downtown Hood River's boutique shopping, great restaurants, interesting wineries and brew pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Cliff Hood River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing