We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel or Condo?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2012

First and foremost, the room was very nice save for the mini fridge just inside the door that looked as if it had been purchased at a garage sale. This was a third floor lock-out room that overlooked the "Grand Courtyard." Call it what you will. At the end of the day, It's still a parking lot. Having to schlep luggage up three flights of stairs is fine if you are young and fit, not so good if you are fat and cranky. Our sleep was interrupted late in the evening by guests in the adjoining room trying to figure out why the door was locked. No lobby overlooking the river, no ice or vending machines, no restaurant, no phone in the room. Not so much as a stale doughnut for breakfast. I left with the impression that this magnificent facility is nothing more than a group of very nice condos who's owners are trying to defray some of the expense by renting rooms and pretending to be a hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Fritts73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

To assure that we are doing everything we can to achieve our goal of complete customer satisfaction, our staff met to discuss the circumstances and some inaccuracies in this less-than-perfect posting. This guest made their reservation just a few days prior to arrival and requested a room with easy access. While Columbia Cliff Villas offers several such rooms, unfortunately, they were sold out for his preferred dates. When making his reservation, this guest was advised that the room he chose required two flights of stairs and he was placed on a wait-list for single-level rooms. Upon arrival, our staff explained that no other rooms had opened up and the guest elected to take the 3rd floor room he had reserved. Our front desk staff cheerfully delivered his luggage to the room and received a generous tip. The (new) mini-frig/freezer in the room apparently did not have enough ice and when the guest called for more ice, a bucket was promptly delivered by our staff. Columbia Cliff Villas was carefully designed to be a luxury condominium hotel that offers a wide variety of rooms and suites. The standard hotel room this guest chose is two floors up and has the option to be adjoined to a larger adjacent suite to better accommodate families and friends traveling together. When separated by exceptionally soundproofed lock-out doors, both sides of the doors are tagged with ‘Privacy Please’ signs. Apparently, this guest heard the adjacent guest check the double-sided privacy lock on the opposite side of the door but most guests comment that our rooms generally provide more privacy than most hotels with shared hallways. As guests can see from one of the many pictures on our website, this Grand Courtyard room does have a quartering view of the Columbia River Gorge from it’s 3rd floor perch - two stories above our courtyard parking area, while several other room types offer direct views of the Gorge and gardens. Fine and casual (indoor and outdoor) dining are located in the adjacent historic Simon’s Cliff House restaurant. Most of our guests comment that the breakfast, lunch and dinner fare, views and the beautiful short walk that winds through beautiful gardens, across stone bridges that cross a tumbling stream near the top of a breathtaking 208’ waterfall are way better than a large hotel lobby with the stale breakfast bar. We hope TA readers will visit our website for the most accurate information, pictures and video tours of the many options Columbia Cliff Villas has to offer.
Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (519)
There are newer reviews for Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

429 - 435 of 519 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

My wife put on a surprise birthday party for me at the Columbia Cliffs Hotel and we loved it. The three bedroom suite was great for a few couples to share. It had a very nice kitchen, a wonderful fireplace and a spectacular view. These suites can be a bit pricey for a family but if split between a few couples it is very reasonable. Our large suite had two amazing master bedroom suites with beautiful bathrooms. The location is nice, steps away from the Columbia Gorge Hotel with its beautiful grounds. One couple with our party, who booked one of the smaller rooms on the highway side of the complex, was a bit disappointed with the size of their room. They thought for the price it could have offered more. My recommendation is that if looking for a fantastic view of the Columbia River and want to stay in a nice suite with a usable kitchen you will not be disappointed. If you are looking for a less expensive single room for two adults and book the highway rooms you may be unhappy!

Room Tip: Go with the river front rooms, the views are amazing!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ditch-the-rain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Dear Mr. Ditch-the-rain,
I can tell by your nickname that you have discovered our sunny side of the Cascades and the charms of Hood River. (About 1/2 the precipitation of the I-5 Corridor - only 1 scenic hour from Portland.) We were honored to play a role in your memorable surprise birthday and sincerely appreciate your positive review.
As you posted, our multi-room villas work great for friends and family gatherings, as well as wine touring HQ and business retreats. Columbia Cliff Villas offers a wide variety of rooms and suites that can be isolated for complete privacy or adjoined to share the luxurious and spacious living areas you described. Our website provides details, floor plans, pictures and video of every option so guests can choose the accommodations that best fit their size, view, budget and amenity requirements. Even though our smaller Euro and Courtyard rooms are nicely furnished at great price points, many of our returning guests have discovered the greater value in spending a little more for the unforgettable River Rooms and luxury suites.
We hope to see you, your friends and family again soon. You don't need to wait for a birthday!

Happy travels,
Steve Tessmer, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

My family and friends took over a good part of the resort for 2 nights in August to celebrate my daughter's wedding. The rooms, suites, and apartments, all had spectacular views of the Columbia River replete with bald eagles and wind surfers. The rooms ranged from very nicely appointed to fantastic (our 3 room condo was over the top), with all conveniences you would want. Staff was friendly and helpful. All my friends and family were delighted to have stayed. The Cliffs made a successful event even more memorable.

Room Tip: Get a River View in the front building for unlimited vistas
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HRSTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

I've had better stays at a motel 6! I had to come to Hood River for business and booked a nice room and brought my husband for the trip. Our room was tiny, which is ok. I had called ahead and confirmed an iron and the website also said our room had an iron. Well, come morning no iron in the room. Asked the front desk and they said "that particular room is too small for an iron" and they didn't have one I could use. Went to my meeting looking like a slob, and they couldn't even offer a sorry. I also asked for a recipt on checkout and they said they couldn't give me one because I booked online. "just print your email confirmation" well, for work that doesn't show I actually stayed their to get reimbursed. I tried explaining and she did she "simply couldnt do it". Also, parking sucked. Unless you're lucky to be one of the first 4 cars to your building, you have to drive down below or around back to a gravel lot, kinda like a fire lane. And park. Then hike through the gravel back to your building. Which, if your wear heels, ruins them. So bring spare shoes. I'm not a hotel snob by any means. I've stayed in hotels ranging from $35 to Lake Louise at over $1,500 a night. And been happy with both. This place though? Sucked. Oh and hubby adds "the walls are so thin you can hear the people next door turn the pages in the newspaper"

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank redheadedninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Dear “Readheadedninja”,

Please allow me to address the issues you mentioned so TA readers might receive accurate information and be able to choose one of our rooms or suites that are sure to provide complete satisfaction and avoid the shortcomings you experienced.

Under normal circumstances, we usually have plenty of convenient, free, paved parking spaces (way more than 4) adjacent to all our buildings. Occasionally, owners or guests enjoy sharing the experience of our larger luxury villas by inviting guests of their own. If this occurs during a full house, we still have ample convenient, free, overflow parking in two adjacent lots with crushed rock surfaces. Upon request, we even offer free secure garages for guests traveling with exotic cars.

While I appreciate the humor in your husband’s comment, I would not want TA readers to be misled into thinking our rooms lack privacy. As several other TA reviews have posted, all of our rooms and suites were actually constructed with soundproofing measures far beyond normal hotel standards to assure quiet accommodations. However, some of the promotional rooms listed with Online Travel Agents (OTA) are lock-out rooms that can be connected to larger suites. Even though these suites are separated by extra thick, solid wood doors with full-perimeter soundproofing seals; like any hotel, it is not impossible to hear a door slam in a hallway.

OTAs typically negotiate rates to promote a hotel’s least expensive room option; and most of their websites have very limited space to provide full details about all their listings. The OTA then handles the online transaction directly with the guest and the hotel is ultimately paid a wholesale rate by the OTA. Unfortunately, the hotel was not part of the guest's transaction and has no record of how much the guest actually paid the OTA. Therefore, hotels are unable to print a receipt for the guest’s transaction with an OTA. We strongly encourage TA readers to visit our website and contact us directly for the most complete information, pictures and floor plans of our wide variety of rooms and suites, as well as details of our special offers.

In this case, the promotional room being offered by the OTA was a lock-out that normally attaches to a the larger suite - which (unfortunately) included the closet with the iron and ironing board. However, our staff is trained to promptly deliver an iron and ironing board to these rooms upon request. If we failed to do so, please accept my sincere apology. To assure that we provide complete guest satisfaction in the future, I have reviewed this procedure with our front desk and housekeeping staffs and have asked our manager to resource a wall storage system so we can keep irons and boards in these promotional rooms as well. I hope you will reconsider and visit us again to see more of what we have to offer and discover why most of our guests rave about the accommodations and service they consistently receive from our friendly staff.

Happy travels,
Steve Tessmer, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

New, clean well decorated, comfortable. The excellent staff goes out of their way to be helpful. Aveda soaps, marble and hardwood floors, say no more! Small rooms for a business overnighter and huge suites with princess tubs for a romantic getaway I am a huge fan of the villas!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zpops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Modern facilities with comfortable bed and nice big modern bathroom full of Aveda products. Very clean, very quiet and private. Loved the courtyard between the Villas and the Columbia Gorge Hotel. Staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. We have already planned our next trip to Hood River for the Harvest Fest and will be staying there again. Recommend highly.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Took a chance on the Columbia Cliff Villas when we arrived too late for a B & B. Got a lower room rate from front desk even though place was almost full. Pleasant room that was clean and nicely furnished. Only complaint was size of the shower. I'm not that large but I found it tight. Wished we could have stayed longer

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Dear Mr. K, Thank you for staying with us and taking time to post your (mostly) positive review. We also wish that you could have stayed longer and discovered more of what we have to offer. For future reference - and for the benefit of those who read your posting - Columbia Cliff Villas offers a wide variety of rooms and suites, most with spacious double walk-in showers. We love last-minute walk-ins but it's usually best to reserve ahead of time for best selection. You may notice from other reviews that our guests frequently rave about our accommodations, breathtaking views and services provided by our concierge staff. If you stay in a larger river view room on your next trip and take time to walk to one of the several great nearby restaurants, I'm sure you will see why so many guests prefer our cliff-edge location - over 200' above the Columbia River. You can find several pictures and more information about our accommodations everything the Gorge has to offer on our website. Happy travels! Steve Tessmer, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hood River
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
0.1 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#5 of 8 in Hood River
770 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
336 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
197 reviews
17.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel

Address: 3880 Westcliff Dr, PO Box 887, Hood River, OR 97031-8710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range: $167 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wide variety of price points, from luxurious 1-3BR suites to charming Euro-style rooms, all furnished with robes, premium bedding and amenities. Most options offer breathtaking views of Columbia River Gorge from this cliff-edge settting 220' directly above world-famous windsuring sites. Stroll a short garden path to top of year-around waterfall to enjoy indoor & outdoor, fine and casual dining at adjacent restaurants or venture just one mile to take in the charm of downtown Hood River's boutique shopping, great restaurants, interesting wineries and brew pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Cliff Hood River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing