We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$227
$219
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$215
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn(Hood River)(Great Value!)
$200
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $189/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Westcliff Lodge(Hood River)(Great Value!)
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$269
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oak Street Hotel(Hood River)
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hood River Hostel(Hood River)
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodge 902(Hood River)
$279
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (618)
Filter reviews
618 results
Traveler rating
416
125
53
23
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
416
125
53
23
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverpinnacle suitehistoric columbiathe penthousepartial viewfrench doorsaveda productskite boardersmaster bedroomlarge walk in showercourtyard roomgas fireplacewine tastingromantic getawaywonderful roomclose to townroad noise
Filter
Updating list...
538 - 543 of 618 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2012

This place is expensive. It has nice views, nice beds, really nice showers. This is not a hotel, it is more like a timeshare. As a result, the rooms feel very private. It didn't seem like there was much around that part of Mt. Hood beside the exclusive-looking Columbia Gorge Hotel next door. It was nice to sit on the balcony and watch over fifty windsurfers ply the waters right below us.

Room Tip: Obviously get a room facing the river.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flossdaily8111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Dear Flossdaily8111,
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post your positive comments.
I wanted to clarify for the benefit of TA readers, however, that we are NOT a timeshare. AND, while we do feature the most luxurious accommodations in the Columbia River Gorge, we also offer a wide variety of rooms and suites at rates that most guests find very competitive for our destination market.
As described in more detail on our website, Columbia Cliff Villas is a very unique condominium-hotel facility, made up of several exquisitely furnished, high-end, privately-owned, villas and carriage house units. Most are managed for nightly and extended stay rentals when owners are not in residence.
Our four new structures tie into the architecture and character of the adjacent, historic Columbia Gorge Hotel where our owners and guests frequently enjoy fine and casual, indoor and outdoor dining and spa services. Our own concierge and reservations staff is available 24/7 to provide a level of service found nowhere else in the area.
While all your comments were positive and much appreciated, I wanted to assure you and other TA members that we strive for nothing short of 100% satisfaction. Our entire staff hopes you will return soon. Whether you choose one of the lavish villas again, or a more-affordable Euro or River room, I’m sure you will agree that this level of quality is more what you would expect to find in a fine home than in a nice hotel - or even an up-scale timeshare.
Happy travels,
Steve Tessmer, Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Arrived at the hotel after a disappointing day traveling the Colombia River Gourge--totally fogged in and raining to boot!! We were not disappointed with the hotel. A new property, that are actually condos, divided, so that you don't have to rent the two bedrooms, but if you were traveling as a family or with another couple, you would have that option. We had a lovely room overlooking the river with a French balcony. Looking out over the river almost made up for missing the gourge views. The room was not large, but was comfortable. There was a gas fireplace, but because the temperture was very warm--make that hot--I was only able to turn it on for a little while--keeping the doors open, turn it off for a while and then repeat the sequence. Spacious bathroom with a great large shower--rain shower and regular shower heads. Lighting for make-up application could be better.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloridaVol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

Dear FloridaVol,
Many thanks for staying with us and sharing your positive experience. Our guests mostly enjoy the fireplaces during the cooler months. It can be challenging to balance the fireplace heat in the cozy River rooms this time of year - you did the right thing - just open the French doors and enjoy the view AND the fireplace - or turn on the AC, as necessary - it's worth the experience.
Even though you caught the Gorge on a cloudy day (rare for this time of year), I'm so glad that your accommodations were able to brighten your spirits. Due to our location, on the dry side of the Cascades, Hood River normally enjoys way more sunshine than most of the Pacific Northwest. If you or any TA travelers ever happen to be in the Northwest when one of those storms comes through, here are a couple travel tips:
1. Head East and get to the dry side; if it's still inclement, it rarely lasts more than a day on our end of the Gorge;
2. Discover Columbia Gorge wine country - dozens of award-winning wineries and friendly, knowledgeable vintners will show you a wider variety of wines than anywhere;
3. Visit the National Scenic Area interpretive centers, Western Antique Aeroplane & Automobile Museum (WAAAM), charming Downtown Hood River shops and catch a bite and a brew at one of our famous brew pubs or wonderful restaurants;
4. Make plans to spend another day - you still haven't hit the main attractions that are best when the sun comes out - waterfall hikes, golf, whitewater and wind sports and even year-around snow sports on nearby Mt. Hood.
Oh, and one more tip about our River rooms: Bathroom lights are on a dimmer to create ambiance in the double walk-in shower AND there is a lighted makeup mirror under the sink. Our reception staff will try to mention this to guests in the future.
Hope to see you again soon.
Happy travels,
Steve Tessmer, Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Having cycled 50 miles around
MT Hood to be greeted by the helpful mark was fantastic. The beautiful day demanded a river view and Mark was able to help out and give us the Villa Suite. The suite is absolutely stupendous and worth every dollar - the only thing to bear in mind it is a 10 dollar cab into Hood River to find a decent place to eat.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lote123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Dear Lote 123,
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our entire staff really appreciates your "absolutely stupendous" review.

Next time you visit, please check with our front desk for dining reservations and suggestions. We have three great dining options within easy walking distance. Just a short stroll through the gardens, you will find Simon's Cliff House restaurant, offering formal and casual (indoor and outdoor) dining with exceptional views for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Next door to Simon's, White Buffalo Wine Bistro is an excellent wine shop with great fare and there is even a family restaurant just a block away that has been a local's breakfast favorite for many years. Our concierge staff is always happy to make reservation and provide their local knowledge on all the best downtown restaurants, wineries and activities to assure that you find whatever might be seeking.
Hope to see you soon.
Thanks again.
Steve Tessmer, Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Attended a wine festival in Hood River and enjoyed this charming small town. Columbia Cliff Villas caught my eye as I drove into town.

The good: Brand new, very clean, nicely decorated, comfortable bed, upscale amenities.
The not so good: Small room, no elevator, freeway noise, no on site work out room and you need a shoe horn for parking and access.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2012

Dear Greg M,
Thank you for staying with us and attending the Wine & Pear Festival - it's a great annual event that brings in a pretty large crowd and helps our Rotary Club raise funds for many worthy causes. We appreciate your compliments about our room. However, as an owner/manager, it's my job to address anything that is less than perfect.

From your posting, it sounds like you found one of our last available "Euro" rooms as a walk-in guest on that sold-out weekend. Unfortunately, our only available room was near a temporary construction area where we were repairing some winter storm damage - that project has now been completed. My staff informed me that you were shown the room and accepted it with the (construction) discount she offered.

Busy weekends can also put pressure on our main parking lot. If our front desk staff neglected to inform you of our two convenient overflow parking lots, we apologize for any inconvenience. We always have plenty of free parking.

While we do offer several types of rooms and suites (including some "Euro" rooms) that ARE served by elevator, apparently those were occupied by the time you arrived. In fact, most of our rooms and suites are larger (some much larger) – they are not only served by elevator, but many of our best options are located on the river side of the building, overlooking the Gorge, where the primary sound is the 200' waterfall, right next door. You can find all the details, pictures and floor plans on our website.

I sincerely wish we had had more options to offer when you dropped in and would like to invite you back to experience one of them.

In today's world of internet information, many savvy travelers rely on TripAdvisor for making their decisions. As you can see from most of our reviews, our guest satisfaction level is normally much higher.

My deep concern is that your posting might mislead readers into thinking that we don't have elevators, we are under construction, and there is no parking. The result could mean a substantial financial blow to our small business, during our busiest time of year. And I'm sure that was not your intention. Given the positive comments you opened with and the above circumstances, I would greatly appreciate it if you would reconsider your overall evaluation until you have had a chance to return and experience more of what we have to offer.

Sincerely,
Steve Tessmer, Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

My husband surprised me with a room here for our anniversary! We stayed in 25b which is a small room attached to one of the larger suites. It was small, and facing the freeway but lovely nonetheless. My husband made this reservation last minute, so next time we come we will try for one of the river view rooms!

The beds are firm, the pillows soft, and we really enjoyed the Aveda toiletries and Kurig coffee machine!

You can also go next door to the historical hotel next door for meals and drinks. We enjoyed listening to a piano player in the bar area.

It's a little pricey, but it's a beautiful location and well worth it for a special occasion.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews