We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a uniquely adapted historical site to an upscale windsurfing and skiing clientele and richly agricultural region”
Review of Hood River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hood River Hotel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
GreenLeadersSilver level
ashland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a uniquely adapted historical site to an upscale windsurfing and skiing clientele and richly agricultural region”
Reviewed August 18, 2010

I was staying at your hotel last week with Jackqueline Newbold's watercolor group and wanted to thank you for providing such great lodging, painting space and FOOD!! Your hotel has a lot of charm as well as history, the staff was always so helpful, rooms were clean, and the "non sandwich" box lunches were truly creative adventures - - healthy, tasty and original. The chef outdid himself, and the little note in the box on the last day was just the perfect touch! The dining room food and service was also outstanding; the breakfast wait help were so "on it" it was a pleasure to order more food than we needed!! And the space downstairs and the mezzanine above the dining room for our painting sessions significantly contributed to the quality of our workshop!

I will be recommending your hotel and Hood River to whoever will listen! Thank you for helping to make my first visit there such a great experience!

Millie Kim

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maileAshland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    141
    53
    14
    12
See reviews for
43
171
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Powderly, TX
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

We recently spent one night at the Hood River Hotel in one of the River View Rooms and while it is true you can see the river, it is over some buildings and the train tracks. We did enjoy our stay and the staff is very friendly and helpful with suggestions. Parking is on the street and the hotel sells parking permits for $3.00. We were given a $10 coupon for breakfast in their restaurant and it was very good with good choices. The elevator is an old fashioned kind with the gate that must be closed before the elevator moves. It is pretty small so if you have much luggage, it may take two trips. For people who like old historic places with lots of atmosphere, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFDollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacey, Washington
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2010

My husband and I have never felt more at home and comfortable and didn’t want to leave a place, than this place before. Only suggestion … foot mats in the tub were slippery.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millicake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

I stayed here with my mom for one night. The room (or suite, actually - number 319) is very big, has a wonderful kitchen, very spacius, nice bathroom. The view is of the street, which is a nice street, but it did get very noisy from the early morning hours, which made it not so good for our sleep quality. The price (144$ in our case) included a 10$ cupon (one for both of us) for breakfast downstairs, which was also very nice!
Great value, great room - the only problem is the noise.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2010

in the heart of town, close to the Hood River Railroad, this is a nice change from the chain hotels. The only downside is that the town is not visitor-friendly. We were lucky to be there on July 4 when we got free parking. The hotel doesn't have a parking lot--you have to park on the street--if you can find a place--and must pay. The hotel restaurant was fantastic, intimate, and very classy. The hotel is a historic building with creaky floors but alot of character. I was very impressed and would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anniewhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaniko, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2010

This small gem tucked into the downtown of Hood River is always where I and friends stay. Beautifully restored to its 1913 charm but has all of those modern touches that we all can not seem to live without. A nice casual restaurant with inside and outside dining areas, good food and a fun staff.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OregonCycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
111 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2010

In the center of downtown Hood River, the hotel is wonderful! With a view of the Columbia River, our room was comfortable and spotless. We had a tv, free wifi, and a great shower that actually had good pressure! From the hotel you can walk to several excellent restaurants and bars, wine tasting rooms (Naked Winery is one), breweries, and quaint shops. The hotel staff are enthusiastic about their town and extremely helpful. Try Norah's Table for dinner - small plates are excellent. The only drawback is the lack of parking for the hotel. You can purchase a half day pass for $3 or a full day for $5 on-street parking. We hit a special and got our room on a Friday night for $89, which included a $10 breakfast voucher at the in-house restaurant, Cornerstone Cuisine, which has excellent food. Summers would be much busier, as would peak windsurfing seasons.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NWWildTurtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hood River hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
2.0 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
2.1 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Hood River
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
189 reviews
2.2 mi away
Westcliff Lodge
Westcliff Lodge
#5 of 8 in Hood River
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hood River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hood River Hotel

Property: Hood River Hotel
Address: 102 Oak St, Hood River, OR 97031-2312
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hood River Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 41 renovated guest rooms and suites are beautifully appointed in classic European style with all the modern conveniences. With views of the Columbia River, downtown Hood River or of our Roof Top Garden each style of guest room conveys a different personality. Free WiFi, Fitness Area and Air Conditioning throughout the entire hotel. inside our friendly staff, inviting rooms and comfortable lobby with fireside seating will ensure a pleasant stay. Venture outside and be at the center of all that Hood River has to offer; walk to five wine tasting rooms, shop artisan jewelers, couture fashion or fire arts. Savor craft beer and dining delights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hood River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing