We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended”
Review of Hood River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hood River Hotel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 9, 2009

My boyfriend and I spent last Saturday night in Hood River, on a combination mini-business trip/romantic getaway. We enjoyed the hotel overall--rooms are spacious, very clean and nicely decorated (four poster bed) with big windows overlooking the river. We had a suite with kitchen that is larger than mine at home--we only used it to open the bottle of wine, but it looked perfectly adequate (though sparsely stocked--you couldn't have cooked a full mean with the equipment provided. No sharp knives, for example). The bathroom is also quite large. Our only two complaints are minor: 1) we arrived early in the pouring rain, and wondered about an early check in. We were told that our room wasn't ready but that they would call us when it was. No one called, we returned at the normal check in time, were successful, and *then* got the call that the room was ready. I wondered why no one got it together to clean our room quickly, since we were waiting. 2) The other issue might be noise--being a historic hotel, the soundproofing isn't great. This was only an issue for a couple of minutes total, but if there were a noisy crew upstairs, we might have been unhappy. Trains and traffic didn't bother us a bit, however. We woke up late, had a lovely breakfast in the dining room (try the blintzes!), and were on our way.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beglisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
There are newer reviews for Hood River Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 336 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2009

Headed into Hood River looking for a hotel and found this charmer. Nothing fancy here but it’s a charmer. Everyone wants to complain about the trains, but this whole town is on the railroad…so wouldn’t matter where you stayed in town. Also, the trains don’t blow there whistle like here in my town, because they don’t cross a road…so it’s not that bad! Staff was friendly even let me look at room before I decided whether I wanted to stay there. Hotel is right in the middle of the action(LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION,…short walk to Full Sail and other bars, restaurants around…Couldn’t figure out how to control heater, but it cooled off eventually and we cracked a window. Used the Jacuzzi and it was nice. A weird but charming historic hotel right in the middle of town and I would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tacomarick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

We enjoyed our 3 night stay at the Hood River Hotel. We had a huge suite that was like a small apartment. Yes, there are lots of trains, but you get used to them quite fast. The bathroom could use some new paint and the living room area needs more table lights, but overall we were very satisfied and will return.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AtlantaGirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2009

I appreciate the historic aspect of the hotel but the noise makes it hard to give a good review. We were in a river view room over the Pietros parking lot. We did not hear much noise from the parking lot (Saturday night) but the trains were frequent and loud, even setting off a car alarm during one passing. The toilet in our room made sounds of flushing a few times during the night, the bed squeaked every time one rolled over. The room was was attractively furnished and fairly clean with the exception of a few stains on the rug and the bedspread had a grease spot. I wish there was something that could be done about the trains but we all know that is not possible so I doubt I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

For a few dollars more you can get a big suite. Ours had a cute little kitchen, a fairly large living room with couch, easy chair, coffee table and little dining table. There was a separate area for the bed and a generous closet. The bathroom was plenty large and updated but with a lovely old fashioned white tile motif. We loved it. Plus, we had our own separate entrance -- very convenient for hauling stuff in and walking the dog.

It IS right in the center of things. I loved that. After we came back from hiking or whatever, we could just take a shower and, without planning, wander outside and withing a block or two find a new great restaurant, winery or shop to explore.

Also, we did have air conditioning and TV. And , as to the pizza place and train issues -- It was Friday night and we were as close as you could get to the very popular pizza place's parking lot and it just was not a problem. There was one train that went by about 10 AM.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MontanaHikingfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2009

Before I start my review I want to note that, at $119 per night, this hotel was a little bit more expensive then we normally spend. We (family of four with two teens) stayed here because it was the recommended hotel for a wedding. Also, I read all the previous reviews for this hotel and was not able to relate to their experience.

The Hood River Hotel is centrally located in the cute town of Hood River (wind surfing captial of the world). You can walk to the river parks, numerous galleries and restaurants. bookstores, coffee shops etc. While there is no private parking lot, on street parking was plentiful and convinient. There was no charge for the on-street parking since it was a holiday weekend.

This is a historic hotel (historic landmark) refurbished to original condition. The rooms are small, no refrigerator, no A/C. But there is an overhead fan and the windows open. Although is was the beginning of July and very hot (95 degrees), we were always comfortable in our room. the bathrooms are very adequate very clean and they provided fancy soaps, lotions and shampoos from their spa label.

The staff was unendingly friendly, giving out free bottled water to help with the heat. the restaurant was fine, although a little bit pricey ($10 voucher with room brings the restaurant prices to reasonable).

Our room faced the main street and we did not hear any noise from the pizza place or the train. My sister and brother both had rooms on the back of the building and they also did not experience any train or pizza place noise. I cannot imagine what the other reviewers were talking about.

In general we had a great experience. My preference is always to spend less on my hotel - but the price probably seems reasonable to most people. and the location was fantastic. We love being able to walk to everything.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wormula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2009

This is a nicely renovated old hotel in "downtown" Hood River. The rooms have high celings with single pane windows. The $89. special is a terrific deal. It comes with a $10. breakfast voucher with gets about everything on the dining room menu. It sure beats those breakfast bars in the chains with nothing but sweets and a crowd shouting over the TV that can't be turned off. Parking is all "on street" and there are meters. But you can buy a parking pass for $3 half day or $5 full day. The rooms are clean and most have 4 poster beds with an old style bath. The river view rooms have both a view of the Columbia and the Uniion Pacific tracks. It's a trip back to yesteryear. A great deal run by nice people.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Westcoaster36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hood River hotels
2.0 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#5 of 8 in Hood River
770 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
197 reviews
2.2 mi away
Westcliff Lodge
Westcliff Lodge
#4 of 8 in Hood River
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hood River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hood River Hotel

Address: 102 Oak St, Hood River, OR 97031-2312
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range: $129 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hood River Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 41 renovated guest rooms and suites are beautifully appointed in classic European style with all the modern conveniences. With views of the Columbia River, downtown Hood River or of our Roof Top Garden each style of guest room conveys a different personality. Free WiFi, Fitness Area and Air Conditioning throughout the entire hotel. inside our friendly staff, inviting rooms and comfortable lobby with fireside seating will ensure a pleasant stay. Venture outside and be at the center of all that Hood River has to offer; walk to five wine tasting rooms, shop artisan jewelers, couture fashion or fire arts. Savor craft beer and dining delights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hood River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing