We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hood River Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hood River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hood River Hotel
Save
You added Hood River Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Excellent Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Spent a night here during a trip to Hood River. Hotel is great-staff were helpful. Rooms were clean and quiet. Bathrooms are small, but that's what you get in a historic hotel. Breakfast voucher got us two homemade smoothies - overall the place is a deal. This will be our go-to place for Hood River.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tkdoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    123
    47
    13
    10
See reviews for
34
156
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kennewick, Washington
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Stumbled upon this place while looking for a breakfast place. Situated in the lobby of the hotel, we were pleasantly surprised at how good the breakfast was. Small menu which provided something for everyone. It proves keeping it simple works well. We will definately go back.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank clslape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Curtis was great but Dawn failed to problem solve. Keep a close eye on what reservations they book for you so you don't get stuck with extra charges like we did... on our wedding.

My fiance and I had our wedding party stay in early June and we were told we'd get a room free on our wedding night (great selling point!). Turns out that's not true and they charged us full price. Also- we reserved a one-night stay for our DJ but the hotel staff incorrectly booked it for two nights and made us pay for the 2nd night even though nobody was there.

We spoke to Mgr- Dawn at checkout but she failed to resolve the issue. So much for good customer service even when you bring them tons of business. In the end we got stuck paying for two more nights than we should have. Very disappointed, wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Keep an eye on the reservations they book you for so you don't get stuck with extra charges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Outlaw05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Manager at Hood River Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Hello Portland, Thank you for taking the time to complete the review. We know life can get very busy planning a wedding so let’s step back and review the events.

On May 8th and June 3th, we emailed individual confirmation letters and a room block spreadsheet detailing the room type, guest name, arrival and departure dates. Plenty of time to update, revise and correct any reservation. At check-in an opportunity arose to revise these reservations. At check-out payment was made only on the nights and rooms you and your fiance reserved and guaranteed.

We try to be a transparent and clear with our reservation bookings. We wish you and your wife the best in the future. Please contact me if you would like to discuss the matter further.

Cheers,
Patricia
Manager
Hood River Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We had always wanted to try staying here since we do day trips to Hood River often and thought this classic corner hotel looked so attractive. When we bought tickets for a concert at Maryhill Winery, we thought it would be a great chance to stay and take advantage of their Any Suite For $100 On Sunday deal. We needed a little extra help from the staff as we had hiked early in the day and wanted to check in early to drop off our luggage, change and get going so we could have dinner before the concert. The staff was helpful and accommodating. We loved our room! The large window faced the side street, and was the original wooden, double-hung window which, though it was the size of a picture window, actually opened quite easily and properly. Anyone who has ever owned an old house should be able to appreciate how rare that is! It's a indication of the quality of the restoration that has been done here. The rooms of our suite were quite separate. The kitchen is completely enclosed, the large bath across the hall from the kitchen, then the room with the bed are all separated from one another as is typical for this age of building. The floors do creak, the whole hotel is somewhat funky, but if you enjoy staying in unique places, you will like this place! If you want standard, corporate hotel/motel fare, this place is not likely for you, traveler.☺

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PNWnative2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed in the Hood river hotel for the third time now and we were always happy with our stay. It is in the middle of the very nice town of Hood River. Walking distance to everywhere you want to go in the evening. The rooms are very comfortable, the staff is very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast is good and it is nice to sit outside in the morning, but also nice inside when it is cooler or too hot outside. I hope we will come back soon!

Room Tip: The courtyard room its small but very cozy and quiet. The riverside rooms are a little bigger than t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elefant09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here on a Saturday night on a beautiful June weekend. Checking in was very pleasant and the hotel staff was very nice. They encouraged us experience the old tyme elevator upstairs to our room, quirky fun! The moulding and trim in the hotel are beautiful, it's not Victorian fancy, but still nice to admire. The room was comfortable but it does have a lack of outlets, but then again, it's a historic hotel and not a modern hotel.

The location is right in the mix of things, bars, restaurants, coffee, and cyclists going out on rides.

Although I considered our stay pleasant, I can't say it was restful. The bar or bars next door got pretty rowdy and noisy. The manager told us that they actually called the cops because it was getting out of hand. It didn't quiet down until after 2:00am.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank javahound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scubagoth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

As some of the other reviewers commented, the hotel rooms are rather basic compared to many contemporary styled US hotels. However, the hotel is comfortable, well maintained, and reflects the effort that has been made to retain the historic nature while trying to provide the modern comforts that many travels have come to expect.

We stayed one night in a river view hotel on the 2nd floor. We did not notice any noise from the street or train that was bothersome for us (although we did use the A/C unit).

The staff was excellent - very friendly and helpful.

We will definitely look to stay here again the next time we are in Hood River.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scubagoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hood River
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hood River Inn
2.0 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 9 in Hood River
3.5 of 5 stars 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel
Columbia Gorge Hotel
#3 of 9 in Hood River
4.0 of 5 stars 454 reviews
2.2 mi away
Westcliff Lodge
Westcliff Lodge
#2 of 9 in Hood River
4.5 of 5 stars 503 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Columbia Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hood River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hood River Hotel

Property: Hood River Hotel
Address: 102 Oak St, Hood River, OR 97031-2312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 41 renovated guest rooms and suites are beautifully appointed in classic European style with all the modern conveniences. With views of the Columbia River, downtown Hood River or of our Roof Top Garden each style of guest room conveys a different personality. Free WiFi, Fitness Area and Air Conditioning throughout the entire hotel. inside our friendly staff, inviting rooms and comfortable lobby with fireside seating will ensure a pleasant stay. Venture outside and be at the center of all that Hood River has to offer; walk to five wine tasting rooms, shop artisan jewelers, couture fashion or fire arts. Savor craft beer and dining delights. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing