We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many positives, including location!!”
Review of Hood River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hood River Hotel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Will definitely stay here if we find ourselves in Hood River again! Feels like a bed and breakfast (decor-wise), friendly staff, rooms are a little older but completely clean, and wonderful view of the river! We traveled with an infant and they provided a pack n play free of charge. Breakfast was nothing earth shattering, but plenty good enough. It was hard to tell on the website, but the restaurant is essentially in the hotel lobby - no walking outside to get there. With the $10/day voucher, breakfast was about 5 bucks for two of us. Not bad!

Room Tip: We had a room near the stairwell, and it was noisy at night. Wouldn't recommend this particular...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sierrachick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
There are newer reviews for Hood River Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 336 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a great location, if you are staying in Hood River and intend to enjoy local establishments, you should stay here. The lobby is exactly what you would expect, it appears as it most likely was back in the last century.

The rooms are not luxurious, just know that going in, but this is a facility that is north of 100 yrs old so you cannot expect a Ritz or Westin. The bathrooms (most of them) are former closets they converted, and the sinks are actually in the room itself, not in the bathroom. The air units are stand-alones that are loud but not overwhelmingly so. The rooms are neat and the noise in the hotel is pretty low.

Breakfast there is great and the service is really good. The hotel is within a few blocks of everything, and there is a lot of good local food and beer here along with some good local shops. There are some hiking trails a couple of miles away (we walked to them) but the roads are pretty busy leading to them so keep an eye on the traffic.

The service at the hotel left nothing to be desired, and the front desk was really helpful. The parking here is limited to the street, so if you arent staying on the weekends, just know you will have to coordinate with the hotel to get the parking permits or park around the corner at another lot.

Overall, our stay was great and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manu4t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We will be back to stay again and again. Front office desk staff--- friendly, helpful and positive. Housekeeping--does a great job!~ Sunday brunch was very yummy and very reasonably priced.
Now, the room---cute, darling, sweet with a HUGE bathroom, full kitchen and on Sunday nights the rooms are specially priced, even when it was Memorial weekend.
IF you get to Hood River and want to stay downtown where most of the great pubs and restaurants are located, and fun shopping, I recommend this hotel.
Special kudos to Curtis at the front desk.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marymo362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Enjoyed our stay after a few winery stops with the central town location for strolling, dining, more wine and enjoying of the evening. Room on the 3rd floor had a sky light in the bathroom which was grand (the step up was an issue initially!) Breakfast in the AM was fine and again, location, location, location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed at the Hood River Hotel for one night last summer. I wasn't sure what to expect but we were pleasantly surprised. The location is perfect -- it's right next to shops and restaurants. The hotel is old and full of charm. We had a river view which was beautiful, although a little loud given its proximity to the train tracks. We weren't bothered by it as we were exhausted. We loved our short visit so much that we'll be back again this summer!

Room Tip: River view
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank astou81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

The hotel is a little shabby. Small rooms. Noisy street. Nice downtown location though and staff friendly and helpful. Loads of character though and a fun place to stay. Downtown hood river has lots of shops, bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rrhbend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Manager at Hood River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Hello Bend, Oregon. Yes, we are in the perfect location in downtown Hood River. Steps away from local brew houses, wine tasting rooms and small boutique shops. We have always embraced our history with our standard guest’s room dating back to 1911 filled with today’s modern amenities such as free WI Fi, and bathrooms w/shower or bath tub. In the following two weeks the scheduled 2014 updates will be completed in every guest rooms. Details include new linen, furniture, bedding, historic pictures and hand painted water color paintings of the Columbia Gorge by Bonnie White in each guest room. We are excited because in the next few months our lobby and restaurant areas will receive a similar makeover. We hope you will visit us again in the future.

Cheers
Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

It is an historic hotel......creaky floors and smaller rooms you will not find a lot of amenities of a newer place....that being said. This is a great hotel, right in the middle of town. parking can be a problem as there is no parking lot, so you need to find on street parking, sometimes easy, most of the time not so much and you may need to walk a few blocks with your luggage (it is best to know this up front). The city also has meters now, so street parking will cost. The Hotel does have parking passes, all day is $5, so a good deal if you can use it (it does not apply to the main street, only can be used on side streets.) I found this to be a problem and was unable to use the pass, but I showed the Hotel the metered ticket I had to purchase and they refunded me the cost of the pass. the Hotel does have an elevator, so at least you do not need to pack luggage upstairs. The Hotel does have a restaurant I only noticed that it was open for breakfast, which was very good. You do receive a $10 credit towards breakfast which will cover most of the cost.

If you appreciate old and historic this is the place to stay. if you want sleek and modern - go somewhere else!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dreamofengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hood River hotels
2.0 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#5 of 8 in Hood River
770 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
197 reviews
2.2 mi away
Westcliff Lodge
Westcliff Lodge
#4 of 8 in Hood River
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hood River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hood River Hotel

Address: 102 Oak St, Hood River, OR 97031-2312
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range: $129 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hood River Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 41 renovated guest rooms and suites are beautifully appointed in classic European style with all the modern conveniences. With views of the Columbia River, downtown Hood River or of our Roof Top Garden each style of guest room conveys a different personality. Free WiFi, Fitness Area and Air Conditioning throughout the entire hotel. inside our friendly staff, inviting rooms and comfortable lobby with fireside seating will ensure a pleasant stay. Venture outside and be at the center of all that Hood River has to offer; walk to five wine tasting rooms, shop artisan jewelers, couture fashion or fire arts. Savor craft beer and dining delights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hood River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing