We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky, but cool”
Review of Hood River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hood River Hotel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed at this Hotel for three days, and found that it was a real delight. The rooms were fairly small, nut that was expected for a place that is 102 years old! The room was comfortable, and again for a old Hotel quite quiet. The elevator is classic, with a gate to open, with an outer door, nice touch. Andrea was very helpful, and the staff was there for all our needs. Over all the Hotel is very nice, the resturant is a different story, which I will write review in the resturant section.

Room Tip: The upper floors have a view of the Columbia river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tom s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 343 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

Celebrating a special birthday, we chose this hotel for its downtown location convenient to everything, its pet-friendly ways, and its historic character. At check-in, the staff was gracious and helpful and welcoming. Our room was a river view, and we enjoyed it very much. As with many reviews, I'll say yes, there are trains. We were not bothered by them, and slept well.

Room Tip: Depending on what time you arrive, meters are free after a certain time in the evening, and until 8...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeamRealMcCoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Enjoyed our stay, very reasonable rates, clean and comfortable. The character of this place is wonderful, creaky floors, the old elevator and antiques in the rooms. Wish they had coffee in room, but the coffee in lobby was worth the walk.Nice staff!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Collette V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This hotel is charming in every way! It has down sides because of the age - yes the floors creak and the single pane windows let in the noise of the street and trains. BUT the rooms are nicely done, the ambiance is amazing, and the location is perfect. The other perk is the really good restaurant downstairs. Match this with great staff, who even managed to get me a glass of cold milk every night before bed, and it is really a great place to stay. The only reason it doesn't have 5 stars is the problem with noise, which would be fixed with newer windows.

Room Tip: We had an outside suite, which is right on the street and noisy. We asked for the inside courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Book Goddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We have stayed here several times before, but not for several years. We love this place with it's early 1900's charm.We had a city view room, but could also see the river and mountains. The bed was good, and we were very happy with the accomodating staff. Don't stay on the freeway when you can stay downtown in this charming hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wayflos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was our anniversary get away and we booked one the rooms advertised as being on the quiter side. At midnight we heard the person next door to us snoring and the floorboards creaking continuously as people were going in and out of their rooms. The radiator was also making a clanking noise. To top it off, the fire alarm went off at 1:30am. We went downstairs and were informed that one of the hotel employee's caused the alarm to go off by starting a fire in the lobby fireplace using "green wood" which generated a lot of smoke . Upon checkout the next morning, I was asked by the front desk how our stay was. I mentioned the fire alarm waking us up in the middle of the night. The front desk clerk said "sorry" and proceeded to process our check out. In my opinion, this is poor customer service . I appreciate that the fire alarm was working properly. However, the fact that this situation was caused by a hotel employee should have resulting in some kind of additional compensation . Even a small amount off our bill or a restaurant credit would have made us feel better . Needless to say with all noise of people heading back to their rooms at 1:30am we never really got back to sleep. Unfortunately I didn't notice until the next morning that our hotel room came with a set of earplugs . Not a good sign if a hotel needs to provide this in order to get a decent night's sleep . On a positive note, the rooms were nice and the breakfast was excellent but I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rwinters1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Manager at Hood River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Good morning Portland, Oregon. Thanks for taking time to send in a review about your stay. I'm glad you feel our Breakfast was excellent and your guestroom was nice. We share all comments (good and bad) with the employees and they appreciate hearing first hand from our guests. You were spot on in stating that starting a wood burning fire in the fireplace at 1:30 am for a hotel guest was a lapse in good judgment-that should not have occurred. Our management team has spoken to each staff member individually regarding the use of the lobby fireplace after 10:30 pm. I hope you will contact our management team so that we can arrange for you to revisit the Hood River Hotel in the future. Thanks again for taking time to send in your review, Cheers Patricia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stopped in Hood River without a hotel reservation during the long weekend in Feb,. We realized there were motels north of the freeway by the river but we wanted to stay downtown if possible. We had never been to Hood River before and as we drove through downtown we thought it looked like a neat place. We stoped at the Hood River hotel hoping they would have a room. They did.

You have to realize this is an old hotel (built about 1911). Although it has been significantly upgraded, it is still an old hotel. The lobby is beautiful with a huge wood-burning fireplace. The checkin process was efficient and friendly. The elevator to the room is very old fashioned. I had not seen one like that since we were in Lisbon several years ago. But it worked just fine.

The hotel is kind of "tilted" in that the hallways and room floors are on a bit of a slant. Our room was facing the street - it has comfortable beds, a huge window overlooking the street and a good bathroom. The best thing was that it was really, really quaint.

The hotel is a bit noisy and creaky but, in our opinion, that added to the charm.

It has an absolutely great location.

One downside is the lack of coffee maker in the room. No fridge and microwave but those are easier to do without.

As part of the stay you receive a credit for the following morning's breakfast at the restaurant downstairs. It covered about half of the cost of our breakfasts - both of which were outstanding.

One other downside is the lack of parking. You have to park on the side streets and and get a voucher (additional cost) from the hotel. This was not an issue when we were there as it was the Sunday of the long weekend and there was no limit to street parking.

If you don't mind an older style place, full of history and a bit quirky. This place is for you. We had been on the road for almost 3 weeks and this place was the most fun of any accomodation we had during our trip.

We will definately return.

Room Tip: Noise from Oak Street may be a problem for some, if so, ask for a room facing the courtyard. Appare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hood River hotels
2 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel
Columbia Gorge Hotel
#5 of 8 in Hood River
793 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
198 reviews
2.2 mi away
Westcliff Lodge
Westcliff Lodge
#4 of 8 in Hood River
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hood River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hood River Hotel

Address: 102 Oak St, Hood River, OR 97031-2312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range: $91 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hood River Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 41 renovated guest rooms and suites are beautifully appointed in classic European style with all the modern conveniences. With views of the Columbia River, downtown Hood River or of our Roof Top Garden each style of guest room conveys a different personality. Free WiFi, Fitness Area and Air Conditioning throughout the entire hotel. inside our friendly staff, inviting rooms and comfortable lobby with fireside seating will ensure a pleasant stay. Venture outside and be at the center of all that Hood River has to offer; walk to five wine tasting rooms, shop artisan jewelers, couture fashion or fire arts. Savor craft beer and dining delights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hood River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing