We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool property, great town”
Review of Hood River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hood River Hotel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This old hotel has been nicely renovated and sits right in the middle of town. I strongly recommend staying here rather than the chain hotels which require driving to the many breweries within the town limits. THe hotel is clean, nicely equipped exercise room and friendly staff. The parking issue was not problematic for us as we found a meter just outside the hotel and for $3.00 was able to leave the car all night long.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathyButterfield, Manager at Hood River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thanks for your kind comments. It's great to hear you had a good time, and appreciate the convenience of our central location. Many of our guests share your appreciation for front-door access to downtown Hood River's many attractions. We now have four craft breweries within walking distance -- Big Horse, Full Sail, Double Mountain and Pfriem Family Brewers (it's a bit farther walk, down near the waterfront). We encourage our guests to walk -- it's a lot safer, especially after a pint or two. It's one reason we're booked solid the night of Sept. 29, when the Hood River Hops Fest settles in to downtown at 5th and Cascade -- five blocks from the hotel. We look forward to seeing you next time you're in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 343 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for our second anniversary and we loved it. Hood River was a neat little town and our stay at the Hood River Hotel made our trip complete. From the moment we walked in the front door we fell in love with this cute old hotel. It has so much charm and is in the perfect location. You can walk right out the front door and be in the heart of downtown. The staff was very friendly and helpfull in all regards and the room was very clean.

Yes, this hotel is 101 years old so you are not going to find all the ammenities that most spoiled American's find necessary. The room was smaller than most new hotels, the bathroom is small, there is no parking lot...etc. etc. Of course all this is true people! This hotel is 101 years old! If you read the little sign in the bathroom, it says when the hotel was built there were just community bathrooms on every floor and the current bathroom in your room used to be the closet. After traveling to Europe I personally am grateful that they converted the closets into bathrooms, having to walk down the hall everytime you need to go to the bathroom is no fun. Yes, there is no parking lot but we just bought the $5 parking pass and were able to park right outside the hotel for both nights of our stay. Considering most hotels we stay in in big cities charge $20-$30 a night, I thought this was pretty good.

My only suggestion for this hotel is that they replace the windows with new, more soundproof ones. With all the complaints on here about the train noise you would think this would be a top priority. The noise wasn't a problem with us, but we packed ear plugs. Don't worry if you forget yours, the front desk has a free ones if you ask.

Bottom line is if want a modern hotel with all the modern conveniences, stay at the Best Western. If you appreciate history and want a unique experience stay here.

Room Tip: A top floor room facing south might be quieter option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brewztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

From the old fashioned sliding metal grate elevator which fits 2 with luggage and the creaking old wood floors, it has an antique feel to it. However, our room with 2 double beds was Tight! The bathroom door couldn't open fully without hitting the bed. The floors weren't level, a bottle of water laid on its side at the window, rolled 3 feet downhill before stopping. An old armchair in the room, instead of leaving a quaint impression, left a dirty, old impression. The closet locked on the outside as if to keep things from coming out... rumors of haunting are printed on its brochure. THe mirror in the bathroom is hung so high that at 5'4" all i could see was my forehead. Food in the dining room was great, a treat even if you don't stay at the hotel. Parking is crazy. Don't park in the lot below and if you park streetside, don't do it in front of the hotel, parking vouchers won't apply there, try the side street instead.

Room Tip: If you don't need two doubles, go for the queen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Haswell4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathyButterfield, Manager at Hood River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for your recent visit, and sharing your thoughts about our hotel. We're glad you appreciated the character that comes with age. We're also proud that after 100 years, we're still here, still welcoming visitors to downtown Hood River. We offer our guests a range of room sizes (and prices), from courtyard rooms to full suites with kitchenettes and sitting areas. We would be happy to find you a bit more spacious room the next time you visit. It's always advisable when booking long distance to inquire of our reservations desk about the size of available rooms. As for parking, you're right. We have no parking facility -- our property was built before most people traveled by car -- but we do offer discounted parking passes for on-street parking. During the summer, when Hood River is Ground Zero for visitors from all parts of the world, it can be a bit of a challenge finding an available parking space close to the hotel. Once you're parked, however, you can leave your keys in your room, and walk just about anywhere downtown -- our "city center" is only six blocks long. You'll need a car to get here, but once you arrive, all you need is time to relax and enjoy all that downtown Hood River has to offer. We'll see you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I should start by saying that I was traveling on business and had requested another hotel but was booked here by mistake. I had a two night stay. The front desk was competent and efficient if not particularly friendly on our arrival. We all had queen rooms with a courtyard "view" on the third floor. Elevator is the old fashioned kind with a brass screen and jolts rather alarmingly going up or down. My room was clean, with a ceiling fan and a 19" television (during the Olympics, or I wouldn't have cared). The bathroom is tiny, as others have mentioned, with the sink outside the bathroom proper, which has a shower only, and that shower slants oddly so that you may wonder if you are having trouble standing up. In my case, there was a glass shelf directly above the room sink that prevented my using the sink easily to wash my face or brush my teeth. There is no in-room frig or coffeemaker, and ice must be retrieved from the first floor restaurant by the desk clerk. There is no in-room control for cooling, so you are at the mercy of someone else's perception of comfort. The first night was quiet, but the second night doors were slammed in the hall until midnight, and as is frequently the case with this type of hotel there is little soundproofing. The bed was not particularly comfortable or uncomfortable. If you are a poor sleeper such as I, then you already know to avoid "historic" hotels for the problems I have mentioned. If you enjoy this sort of venue, you will probably find the Hood River Hotel to your liking. It is situated well, with the train depot, river, and downtown right at your door.

Room Tip: Room 316 has the glass shelf above the sink that prevents access to the basin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sclark30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathyButterfield, Manager at Hood River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Thanks for your note, and your recent visit. There's no denying that, in remodeling and upgrading our property for 20th (and 21st ) century tastes, we had to find space where we could. Back in the day, when this hotel was built, guest walked down the hall to the restroom. In the room where you stayed -- one of our smaller units, hence most affordable -- the shower and toilet occupy what once was a closet. There was no room for a sink in that space, which is why it is situated in the room -- something quite common in classic European properties. For light sleepers, our front desk is always happy to provide ear plugs. Sorry you apparently found our 19-inch TV lacking for viewing the Olympics. We're in the process of upgrading all in-room TVs to flat panel, wall-mounted models. In the busy summer season, it's hard to find time when the room is empty long enough to complete that work. Yours, unfortunately for your viewing experience, is one of 8 (out of 41) rooms still to be upgraded with new TVs. We'll be all set for you on your next visit (although we can't promise the Olympics will be on).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

A lovely old hotel by US standards. We had a Courtyard room which had one queen bed. It was rather small, like a British B&B. And the bathroom was so tiny you couldn't swing a gerbil. But it was pleasant and a change from motels. The corridors are covered in old photos which grate after a while. We had breakfast in the hotel (they give you a 10 dollar voucher) but were a little let down. My wife's granola was wildly sweet and the compote was tiny. My oatmeal was good but the fruit accompanying was it was stewed peaches. You have to pay 5 dollars for street parking. It is however brilliantly situated in the centre of town and Hood River is a good place

Room Tip: Splurge and don't get a Courtyard Room like we did
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathyButterfield, Manager at Hood River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

We're glad you appeared to enjoy your recent stay with us. Nice to know that we rank highly, especially by "U.S. standards" (casual, comfortable, friendly). If we might be so bold as to suggest a grammatical change to your comment, we would substitute the word "and" for "but." Yes, we think much of ourselves, 24/7, which can strike even us as "too much," but which, in fact, is what we must to deliver casual, comfortable, clean and friendly service to our guests, especially those who travel half-way around the world to visit. We hope the Olympian impacts had abated by the time you returned to jolly old England. And, on your next visit, we suggest that you swing your gerbil in the center of the room (not the bathroom), which allows much more room to extend your arm and let the little guy whip around at the full length of its tail. For those guests, we rank 5 stars on GerbilAdvisor.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here 7/15/12 for two nights. We had a comfy river-view room and enjoyed breakfasts at the hotel and appreciated the friendly, helpful staff. Perfect! Traveiing to Mt. Hood and back was quite lovely. We especially enjoyed the one-lane forest road from Zig Zag north to Dee (Lolo Lake Road/Road 18) on the west side of Mt Hood. There are a few gravel patches but smooth. Warning: there is a short stretch with no shoulder and a steep drop - not recommended for drivers afraid of heights.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarvSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathyButterfield, Manager at Hood River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Thanks, Marv. Glad you found the Lolo Pass road. It's gorgeous, and a great access route to some marvelous trails up to timberline on Mt. Hood. Our staff also appreciates your kind words. Yours is the sort of experience everyone strives to deliver -- and it's good for the soul when guests such as you tell us we've got it right. Travel safely, and come see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

A group of us stayed here one night. Rooms were a good size clean with two queen size beds. There is a 10 dollar coupon that comes with the room for breakfast, food was good. The location was great but the stores and some resturants close early.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donna w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathyButterfield, Manager at Hood River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Thanks, Donna. Sorry you missed a chance to browse the many fine shops within walking distance of the Hood River Hotel. Our neighbors do a great job offering arts and crafts, carefully curated fashion and jewelry, and more esoteric fare -- like high-tech toys for our furry friends. Alas, they typically want to go home and spend time with their families after eight or nine hours on the job. Imagine that? :-) Most downtown restaurants stay open at least until 9, some a bit later with limited menus. For locals and visitors exhausted by a day on the river or mountain trails, bed time arrives early. The joys of our small town. Please pay us another visit -- it's our pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hood River hotels
2 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel
Columbia Gorge Hotel
#5 of 8 in Hood River
793 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
198 reviews
2.2 mi away
Westcliff Lodge
Westcliff Lodge
#4 of 8 in Hood River
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hood River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hood River Hotel

Address: 102 Oak St, Hood River, OR 97031-2312
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range: $92 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hood River Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 41 renovated guest rooms and suites are beautifully appointed in classic European style with all the modern conveniences. With views of the Columbia River, downtown Hood River or of our Roof Top Garden each style of guest room conveys a different personality. Free WiFi, Fitness Area and Air Conditioning throughout the entire hotel. inside our friendly staff, inviting rooms and comfortable lobby with fireside seating will ensure a pleasant stay. Venture outside and be at the center of all that Hood River has to offer; walk to five wine tasting rooms, shop artisan jewelers, couture fashion or fire arts. Savor craft beer and dining delights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hood River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing