We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big old room, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hood River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hood River Hotel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Big old room, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

Vintage hotel. A little worn but kept up well and very clean. Friendly staff. Nice view but no a/c. Not a big problem as it was cool but train and interstate noise was bothersome during the night. Definitely ask for a fan.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DGR1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    139
    52
    14
    11
See reviews for
42
171
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Olympia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

This is a vintage hotel on the main street in Hood River. It has all the charm you would expect from a building on the National Historic Register, yet also has modern amenities like a small jaquzzi room, conference rooms and ballroom. It is right downtown, unlike the other hotels in the area, so you just need to walk outside your door to take in great restaurants and unique shops. The small restaurant in the hotel is fantastic- and they give you a voucher for 10 dollars off of breakfast to entice you to eat there. A bonus are the ground floor suites that have kitchenettes and are dog friendly. My only con is that parking was not easy- they do not have a parking lot, so you need to park on the street, which is not easy on a busy weekend!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RNforPEDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2011

Paid a couple hundred bucks for a gigantic suite with a kitchen and a killer view. Very nice room. Bathroom was small, but not a problem for us because that's in the nature of historic places like this.

The hallways could use some refurbishing, but the place in general was great. The food in the dining room was good, and the night we were there they had an old-time country band in the lobby that was quite enjoyable. All in all, I'd come back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ITravelandEat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathyButterfield, Manager at Hood River Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2011
We're glad to hear you enjoyed your recent visit, and appreciated our pricing. We're heading into our peak season -- a tough time to find a room, or a deal. Even so, we do what we can to share the historic charm. For people with last-minute flexibility, we often drop room rates through Twitter specials. Follow us to @hoodriverhotel to get notice when we send Cheep Sleep alerts. All during 2011, we're offering any available room for $99 on Sunday nights -- our Centennial Sundays special, in observance of our 100th anniversary. And during the month of May, we're offering available rooms with a view of the Columbia River for $99 Sunday through Thursday. We look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon coast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2011

Had to rent this place because the hotel where my conference was held was already booked. Had along my hubby and Dog. Booked G1 pet room. The place was pretty clean. Downside? The bathroom was so dark I couldn't put my make up on in the morning, I had to move one of the chairs from the kitchen in there just to have somewhere to set items on. There is absolutley no where to put any toilet items in the bathroom, There was no fan in the bathroom (YUK) or window. There was only one small window in the living room that would open. The door to the unit is directly on the street where you have to pay for parking. Everytime you left and came back your spot was taken. The price was rediculous $154 +tax+pet fee+parking. ON A TUESDAY night!
Becareful of the hot water when taking a shower, it will get really hot suddenly. Had to listen to the elevator go up and down at all hours, the train going by. The blinds in the living room were all bent and screwed up. This place is really old and needs desperate updating. @$154 + a night, this is too much. Would NOT rent here again. The fitness center was in the basement. very strange and dank.

Room Tip: only if you're desperate
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jujupearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathyButterfield, Manager at Hood River Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2011
First, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. Although we believe the room in question is nicely appointed, you point up several things we can and will do to improve the guest experience. We love the idea of adding shelf space in the bathroom for extra personal care items. We also agree that a lighter choice of paint color would help brighten what is one of our rooms best situated for morning light. We apologize that you found the blinds bent. They become bent because guests choose to pull them apart rather than use the draw cord to raise and lower them. That said, it’s time for a replacement. We have only three rooms with direct exterior access, and they are the only rooms in which we accommodate pets. We believe that quick outdoor access is a positive, both for pets – who somehow fail to use indoor plumbing – and the owners who must walk them. As always, we encourage any guest who finds their room lacking to contact the front desk about other options – or, at minimum, a rate adjustment. Again, thank you for ideas that can help us improve, and please join us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pullman, Washington
Level Contributor
152 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2011

If you're looking for luxury this is not the place to stay but if you want to experience some history, then this IS the place to visit. This hotel dates back to the early 1900s (the building is 100 years old) and part of the decor is old photographic enlargements of the place at the turn into the 20th century. The current owners attempted to decorate it in such a way that gives one the feeling of going back in time--I think they did a great job. The rooms are a bit smaller but that's the way they were 100 years ago. Granted, it's not that far from the train yard and trains do go by a lot but one gets used to it. (also an historical experience--one that a young boy would LOVE). There aren't too many places in the city of Hood River where the trains aren't heard. The staff there are a friendly bunch who go out of their way to help. If you stay there I would recommend staying on the 2nd or 3rd floor for a better view of the river and a little less street noise (and train noise) since it is downtown and next to some restaurants that stay open late. They have a very impressive spa in the basement....very nice weight room, jacuzzi, sauna, and locker rooms. I'd like to go back with just my husband and rent an upper story room or even suite (they have a Sunday night special!), get there earlier, and have more of a chance to experience the atmosphere of the place.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PullmanCougar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2011

We choose to stay at Hood River Hotel every time we come to town. The staff at HRH has always been highly accommodating and we are eagerly looking forward to the next visit. The new booking system on their website makes things really simple, too.

Harold and Gayla Adkins

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gayla m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathyButterfield, Manager at Hood River Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2011
Thank you. We love our staff, too. Many of them have been with us for years. We think of our staff as family, and when people stay with us, we want them to feel like guests in our home. And thanks for noting the recent upgrades to our web site and booking system. Patricia Byrnes, our IT-Accountant, deserves all the credit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washougal, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2011

If you're looking for a nice little get-away in a great little town, this is the place to stay. Very affordable, clean, incredible breakfasts, friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hood River hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
2.0 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
2.1 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Hood River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
2.2 mi away
Westcliff Lodge
Westcliff Lodge
#5 of 8 in Hood River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hood River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hood River Hotel

Property: Hood River Hotel
Address: 102 Oak St, Hood River, OR 97031-2312
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hood River Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 41 renovated guest rooms and suites are beautifully appointed in classic European style with all the modern conveniences. With views of the Columbia River, downtown Hood River or of our Roof Top Garden each style of guest room conveys a different personality. Free WiFi, Fitness Area and Air Conditioning throughout the entire hotel. inside our friendly staff, inviting rooms and comfortable lobby with fireside seating will ensure a pleasant stay. Venture outside and be at the center of all that Hood River has to offer; walk to five wine tasting rooms, shop artisan jewelers, couture fashion or fire arts. Savor craft beer and dining delights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hood River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing