We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Antique Airplanes & Early Automobiles Nicely Displayed”

Western Antique Aeroplane & Automobile Museum
Ranked #2 of 72 things to do in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The WAAAM Air & Auto Museum has one of the largest collections of still-flying antique aeroplanes and still-driving antique automobiles in the country. The items on display at this museum are not only full of history, they're full of LIFE! Enjoy over two acres of indoor exhibit space.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

If you enjoy old airplanes and aviation history, as well as antique automobiles - this place is worth a visit. Two newly built hangars full of great displays. My favorites were an original electric car and an early Boeing that had crashed and been discovered and restored. The exhibits were nicely done and informative. Plus there were a lot of additional "period" items on display which made it interesting if one tired of autos and planes. I have heard the annual "fly-in" after Labor Day is amazing. Check out the website - there is lots to see. Especially impressed with the personal donations of many, many people of artifacts, money, and time - a real labor of love - and it showed!

Thank Redsky13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie H, Manager at Western Antique Aeroplane & Automobile Museum, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you for reviewing. On November 9, 2013 our Second Saturday event will be centered around our 1914 Detroit Electric. The Fly-In is our biggest event of the year - it is also our Birthday celebration too. Pilots from all over the country come with their planes to show off and talk about aviation. We had almost 300 planes attend last year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
There are newer reviews for Western Antique Aeroplane & Automobile Museum
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 245 of 299 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

Too many old cars ...rather than airplanes..but a great place to get excited about a glider ride or biplane tour of the orchard country

Thank georgewilliam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie H, Manager at Western Antique Aeroplane & Automobile Museum, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you for the review. We're working hard to balance out our numbers. Donations are the main source of our collection growth and people tend to have an old car instead of an old airplanes nowadays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We saw this on TA and decided to stop. It far exceeded expectations! My husband loves old cars and planes and I am not so enthusiastic, but this museum kept my interest from one amazing car, plane, motorcycle after another. The inventory is beyond any other collection I had seen, the staff clearly alive what they do and are available with back stories and points of interest. An exceptional museum store where we loaded up on unusual and fun gifts for friends and family. We will be back and have already told several friends they have to go.

2  Thank Soonkeum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie H, Manager at Western Antique Aeroplane & Automobile Museum, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thanks for the review. We do our best to make sure anyone from top automobile or airplane enthusiasts to people who are reluctantly along for the ride can enjoy the museum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This place is well worth going to. The collection and variety of planes and vehicles was very unexpected. Our whole family went and very much enjoyed the visit. The staff there we so friendly!!! If you are in the area definitely stop by.

1  Thank annklly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie H, Manager at Western Antique Aeroplane & Automobile Museum, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thanks for the review. We're proud of the span of our collection but are even more proud that just about everything displayed can still be flown or driven.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Antique Cars, Airplanes, Clothing, Guns, mororcycles and Military equipment. When you walk in you are greated with very freindly staff. It made us feel very welcomed. They have 2 giant hangers full of very cool things to look at. They have a childrens area w/fun things to sit in or on to take pictures if you would like. Although I wouldn't feel safe taking a young child to this for fear they may touch something when i'm not looking.

Thank daphne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie H, Manager at Western Antique Aeroplane & Automobile Museum, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thanks for the review and your good advice. We suggest coming to one of our Second Saturdays. We've got extra hands on deck that will help point out some of the things that can be touched. As an added bonus we usually offer rides in an old car or two - there's no harm in getting up close with those vehicles either.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Western Antique Aeroplane & Automobile Museum also viewed

 

Been to Western Antique Aeroplane & Automobile Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing