We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Western Antique Aeroplane & Automobile Museum
Ranked #3 of 69 things to do in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The WAAAM Air & Auto Museum has one of the largest collections of still-flying antique aeroplanes and still-driving antique automobiles in the country. The items on display at this museum are not only full of history, they're full of LIFE! Enjoy over two acres of indoor exhibit space.
hood river, oregon
Level Contributor
116 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Surprised!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

I didn't really think that I was going to enjoy this museum as much as I did. I went with a group of people and was surprised how interesting it was. If you are into old cars or planes, you will be in heaven.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank wino74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie H, Manager at Western Antique Aeroplane & Automobile Museum, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thanks for the review. At WAAAM Air and Auto Museum we do our best to make sure that any museum-goer can find something to enjoy aside from the antique airplanes and automobiles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    37
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Castle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful view of historical planes and automobiles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband is an avid classic car and plane fan, so when we saw this museum was in Hood River, OR, we had to go while we were in the area. It's a can't miss attraction if you are in the area. The staff are very knowledgeable about the museum and all of its displays, and the gift shop is full of lots of neat souvenirs!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank accat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie H, Manager at Western Antique Aeroplane & Automobile Museum, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for reviewing. We work hard to stock our gift shop with the unique kind of things that the people who like the museum will enjoy. Come winter and birthdays, it is a must-stop shop for car and airplane lovers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We really enjoyed this museum. So many old cars and planes to look at. You really could get lost in here for hours. Who would've thought this kind of museum would show up in Hood River.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brewztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie H, Manager at Western Antique Aeroplane & Automobile Museum, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for reviewing. You'd be surprised at the number of people who come to visit WAAAM and get lost in the rich history of the objects in the museum. We always stress that visiting tour groups and large families do a head count when they leave because of the number of times people have been left behind because they missed departure because they were enjoying the museum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumner
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Different Era”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

I loved the teens touring cars and most of all 1936 Packard. The Waco Airplanes were extremely aerodynamic and stylish a tribute to a time long past which is why I love museums like this one. This is a don't miss if you have a couple of hours.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank marciamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie H, Manager at Western Antique Aeroplane & Automobile Museum, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for reviewing. We love to have our airplanes, cars, and objects intermingled in the museum so that people can get a dynamic picture of the era. We consider ourselves fortunate that we also have multiple kinds of a vehicle, like the WACO group, that spans over a period of time so people can really see the changes and advancements made in aviation or the automotive industry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“What an amazing collection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Both my husband and son are airplane enthusiasts, and like antique cars as well. They were thrilled with the number and condition of all the exhibits, and we spent a lovely morning wandering through this great museum!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Marvox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie H, Manager at Western Antique Aeroplane & Automobile Museum, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for reviewing. Aviation enthusiasts love coming to WAAAM because we have a large number of one-of-a-kind or the-only-one-left-flying airplanes from the golden age of aviation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Western Antique Aeroplane & Automobile Museum also viewed

 

Been to Western Antique Aeroplane & Automobile Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing