We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No information about how to find Hood River's attractions”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
manzanita
1 review
“No information about how to find Hood River's attractions”
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Glossy magazine in the room listed some attractions but no information about locations. We were directed to a strip mall, and by the time we got downtown (delightful), everything was closed. Signs all over about wineries, and no map. If I were the Chamber of Commerce, I would forget them. And we had to drive to find anything, stumbled on a nice restaurant. Location bad for tourists. And expensive.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachlady14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    70
    36
    19
    12
See reviews for
58
76
10
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2010

Our goal was to visit the Columbia Gorge waterfalls, Mount Hood and outlet shopping during our stay here in Oregon and this hotel was in a good area for all of those activities.

When we booked our room, we had a choice of a regular room or a "mountain view" room...but for a little bit more money. We chose the mountain view room because we were celebrating our anniversary. When we got into the room, we noticed that the only view we had was a parking lot and some businesses behind that. No mountains to be seen. We looked around the hotel from the outside and was pretty sure that the rooms on the opposite side of ours would have been "mountain view" but the front desk clerk insisted that all the views were the same. We were disappointed that we paid for a more expensive room but did not get what we booked for. It wasn't exactly the more economical hotel either, but we went with the trip advisor critiques and figured this one would have been a good one.

The check-in staff did not seem engaged with their position, helping out people checking in...they basically just said.."too bad" and "no" to everything without even attempting to help the customer out. We asked the morning clerk if we could print out a map that we had but he said the business centre was down and he could not print anything for us...even though he has a computer and printer at his desk. I do not consider this good customer service at all...especially for such a large chain! I have never been to a hotel with such unfriendly staff.

I must say, the room itself is very spacious with a nice sitting area and a sink and counter space with refrigerator for anyone wanting to prepare a meal or two. The bed was comfortable but the pillows were dreadfully soft and very small! The internet connection was terrible...even when we went downstairs by the lobby, the connection seemed to cut in and out.

Breakfast is plentiful with a good variety.

Parking is limited. My husband received his first door bang here...not impressed at all. If you come back late to the hotel you're lucky to get a parking spot.

Overall, I was disappointed with my stay. The room itself was good but the hospitality leaves you feeling cold. For the price we paid, I'm sure there are other places in Hood River for cheaper I could have stayed at with the same or better service.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kryssie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hood River hotels

Portland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2010

We knew the location would be near a strip mall with picturesque downtown Hood River about two miles away, so the large parking lot and the Dairy Queen next door were an expected eyesore. No problem. We were excited to get out of Portland and enjoy a pool, a hot tub, and were even willing to pay the $200 for the night, which we thought was pretty costly. We found the bedroom to be clean and spacious and, as we expected, sort of faux-luxury. The bathroom was not clean when we arrived (mud in the bathtub and a crumpled towel on the toilet seat). We called the front desk and received an apology with the explanation that a maintenance issue had been resolved prior to our arrival but that the room should have been cleaned by now. Someone was sent to up to clean the bathroom so we left to check out the pool. It was murky and frankly, depressing, almost asylum-like. The hot tub was a good temperature but, after looking at the pool, suspect. Our bed was comfortable but the room, cold. We kept the window open to remedy the temperature but were wakened at midnight by screeching children arriving with their parents in the rear parking lot and what sounded like drag racing on nearby roads later on. For their part, the staff at the front desk was pleasant, and the cleaning staff very friendly and accommodating. It was not awful by any means, but it was also not worth $200, $80 maybe (with a clean pool), but not $200.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PDXfam3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2010

We were in Hood River for a wedding and this Comfort Suites was the only one available for $200 a night. I requested 2 queen beds in my reservation. When I got there, the lady at the front desk told me she could not give me two queen beds and she was going to call the GM to find out what the problem was. The GM was rude and said that she paid hundreds of thousands of dollars to Choice hotels for not benefits at all. As a customer this is not what I wanted to hear. She said she called the program Choice Disadvantage. It took her 45 minutes to check us in. She never apologized and continued to be rude. Other people were also having problems when they were checking in.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VanaFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Honestly we didn't sleep all night, the air conditioner didn't work even when they had it fixed, it was hot and so super loud. The GM has no social skills, was not helpful or apologetic. If it is the last place in town to stay I wouldn't go. ESPECIALLY for $200 a night which is what we paid... what a JOKE!!!! if we paid $69 it would have made more sense.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bendreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2010

Very nice hotel on a quiet end of town. Room, double queen, was spacious & comfortable. Front desk friendly & helpful. Would return if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alwaysamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2010

We stayed at this hotel when sightseeing along the Columbia River Gorge. Prior to arrival, we priced several hotels and believe this was the best value. The location was convenient, hotel well maintained, and the room was clean. If we return to the area, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HooHokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hood River
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
0.7 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
326 reviews
0.8 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#5 of 8 in Hood River
723 reviews
17.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Property: Comfort Suites
Address: 2625 Cascade Ave, Hood River, OR 97031-1078
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Hood River
Comfort Suites Hood River
Hood River Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing